我们不支持您使用的这种浏览器。TripAdvisor网站可能不能正常显示。我们支持以下浏览器:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum

排名第 1Terrell景点玩乐(共 13 个)
目前休息: 上午10:00 - 下午4:00
今日开放: 上午10:00 - 下午4:00
11
所有照片(共 11 张)
全屏
旅行者印象
  • 很棒82%
  • 较好18%
  • 一般0%
  • 较差0%
  • 很差0%
简介
目前休息
今日营业时间: 上午10:00 - 下午4:00
查看所有营业时间
联系方式
119 Silent Wings Blvd, Terrell Municipal Airport, Terrell, TX 75160-5422
网址
+1 972-551-1122
拨打电话
完善详情页
点评 (33)
筛选点评
16 条结果
旅行者评分
12
4
0
0
0
旅行者类型
时节
语言中文(简体)
12
4
0
0
0
查看来自旅行者的评论:
筛选条件中文
正在更新结果...
1 - 10 条点评,共 16 条
这些点评为英文的机器翻译。 显示机器翻译?
2017年4月6日的点评 通过移动设备发表

这是一个不错的小旅行。 我们在这里的路上我们在达拉斯。 这是一个有趣的故事来听这些试点计划。

体验日期:2017年4月
2017年1月17日的点评 通过移动设备发表

惊喜的是有一个私人导游只是个捐款。 我的爸爸是一个导航器的军队在二战时航空兵部队,所以我的兴趣激发了当我看到"博物馆"的牌子。更多

体验日期:2017年1月
rb0wling,No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum 的 President of the Board of Directors,回复了这篇点评2017年1月19日已回复
Google 翻译

更多

2016年12月11日的点评 通过移动设备发表

一个很棒的纪念品给访客的集合以帮助一个小有名气的历史片段, Terrell外面。 工作人员热情而知识渊博的志愿者。 博物馆已开始了一个翻新但是仍值得一看!

体验日期:2016年12月
2016年11月25日的点评 通过移动设备发表

我们很喜欢参观这家博物馆和学习这些飞行员的历史。 工作人员非常友好而且知识渊博!

体验日期:2016年11月
2016年11月14日的点评

这家博物馆位于Terrell, tx机场。 这将使英国历史的男人来到徳克萨斯州二战期间学习如何做到示范。 即使在美国进入战争1941就同意英国英国皇家空军飞行员的训练中应发送未来Terrell。 小平房是一个新创建的棉田。 通过多年的二战后到的类的类,是经过训练的,和毕业。 他们回到英国为抗击徳国人。 失去了很多。 有人受伤甚至在徳克萨斯州的培训。 20的埋葬了他们在奥克兰Terrell的湘菜酒楼,位于城市的西侧US 80上。 的部分有一堆坟墓的位置被认为是"永远英国的一部分。 "其中一个悲惨的灾难发生在培训的时候几个飞机到河对面的红色往北飞去俄克拉荷马州的崩溃和到沃希托山脉。 他们坐飞机太低和没有意识到在他们面前的是一座山。 我参观过的站点崩溃。 它位于普什马塔哈酒店,北边的鹿角,还不错。 博物馆本身就是比我想象中的,有很多有趣的展览,包括照片的所有类别的飞行员Terrell的训练。 它被称为"英国飞行学校1号"因为它是第一个在美国建立的。 其他几个人都建在其他国家的战争结束之前。 另一个有趣的事实是我学到了多少人的心Terrell打开他们的房子这些年轻的英国人。 这让我想起了美国的英国人如何欢迎到英格兰退役军人准备好去诺曼底的入侵。 美国和英国都无疑是真正的战争,和我们不应该忘记的。 我还发现了一个有趣的是飞行员要长途跋涉到那里的学校在Terrell。 坐船驶过,可能到纽约,然后坐火车横跨美国,在到达徳克萨斯和太平洋Terrell rr站的。 还有照片的退役军人的一些在车站上火车返回英国。 我们太习惯坐飞机到我们需要去的这些天我们忘了即使这些男士示范,他们仍然不得不回到英格兰坐火车过来,然后发货。 找不到博物馆,走高速路出口我34 - 20和北上约一英里。 高速公路成为港城大街34。 然后向右转往东走一小段路去机场路上和Terrell的机场。 找一个安静的林荫大道和鸡翅然后向右转。 这是一条小街上,一开始你可能会想这是不是和其实这条路通向博物馆。 这是。 这条路会向左拐过去的一些工业建筑。 博物馆本身就是一座小的左侧。 我注意到酒店的标志是不是有点难找,所以一定要睁大眼睛。 只有几个停车位在大楼前面。 博物馆开放时间是一个星期只上几天,在某些时段,所以在你去之前看看时间安排。 这是一个不错的地方可以学习一些关于和的巨大努力和牺牲那么多愿意带二战期间,以及如何在英国和美国共同对共同的敌人。

体验日期:2016年9月
2016年10月18日的点评

这家小,超级干净的博物馆是一个非常棒的! 沿着机场也很容易找到。 超级友好的讲解员。 短短的10分钟介绍电影介绍为什么和它是如何的。 这次旅行还可以订购或完成。 一定要出去后面看到飞机。 唯一的门票是靠捐款,所以已经很慷慨了。 很棒的人和一个很棒的地方。 非常值得一游。 谢谢!

体验日期:2016年10月
2016年8月28日的点评 通过移动设备发表

我们发现在我们的旅行中,住过的最好的博物馆都是一些很小的不寻常的地方。 这是其中的一个。 需要更明显的标记。 医院进博物馆有点粗糙。 博物馆很有趣。 短视频的开头。 不知道我们在二战中英国飞行员训练。 如果你是一个飞机爱好者或有兴趣在二战时这是一个重大发现。

体验日期:2016年8月
2016年8月22日的点评 通过移动设备发表

这个地方是一个如此惊人特雷尔资产。 我希望更多的人会来和借此机会了解这里提供的历史

体验日期:2016年8月
2016年8月13日的点评

我们的家人在这里度过了一段非常棒的博物馆和了解了很多关于英国培训的道路很崎岖, tx。 我们肯定还会再来的如果我们在这个地方。 这里并不是历史和他的儿子很喜欢这里!

体验日期:2016年8月
2016年7月3日的点评 通过移动设备发表

我们去了博物馆作为一种方法来避开高温和学习更多的关于战争的工作量。 有很多小的展品,书籍和制服看起来像日志。 它的主要功能是恢复他们的培训平面显示驾驶舱中的飞行员和学生之间的差异英国美国对应的教练。 建筑本身很小,但是布置得井井有条,志愿者也很丰富而且很热情。 还有一个人为一条服务使用,这里的人都非常有礼貌而且很愿意和我们两个人。 强烈推荐给那些有兴趣在世界的历史。

体验日期:2016年7月
查看更多点评
附近
附近的酒店查看附近 9 家酒店
Baymont by Wyndham Terrell
9 条点评
1.66 公里远
La Quinta Inn Terrell
251 条点评
1.69 公里远
Motel 6 Terrell
23 条点评
1.73 公里远
Days Inn by Wyndham Terrell
133 条点评
1.74 公里远
附近的餐厅查看附近 90 家餐厅
Terrell Steak & Grill
64 条点评
1.73 公里远
Cole Mountain Restaurant & Catering Co
53 条点评
2.08 公里远
Schlotzsky's
21 条点评
1.62 公里远
Buddy's Catfish House
21 条点评
1.73 公里远
附近的景点查看附近 13 个景点
Tanger Outlets
86 条点评
2.08 公里远
Terrell Ghost Walk
10 条点评
2.25 公里远
Terrell Performing Arts Center
8 条点评
4.77 公里远
问题与答案
您可以从 No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum 的工作人员及之前的访客获得快速解答。
请注意: 您的问题会公开发布在“问答”页面上。
提交
发布准则

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum
5
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Write a review
About
We are a military history museum located at the site of one of six British Flying Training Schools operated in the US during WW II. Come and see one of the only RAF Museums currently in the United States.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
55 reviews
Excellent
48
Very good
7
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Jana B
Mansfield, TX34 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
This Museum is truly a hidden gem at the Terrell Municipal Airport. Very few people know about the rich World War II history in Terrell. The town was home to the No. 1 British Flight Training School. The museum is very well laid out and full of information and artifacts of the period. Well worth the time to visit this Museum.
Written June 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

David Dixon
2 contributions
Sep 2019
My wife and I visited in September 2018, 75 years ago to the day, my father Master Pilot A Dixon won his RAF wings at this British flying training school.
We had a guided tour of all the exhibits and found them most interesting and informative. We had come for the air pageant but thunderstorms put paid to that and was cancelled. Please do visit and support this wonderful institution you will not be disappointed your children will love it too, enjoy. 🇬🇧🇺🇸
Written August 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

okiesooner09
Oklahoma365 contributions
Mar 2021
Because of the war raging over their island, British pilots couldn't learn to fly in their homeland. Several British flying schools were set up in the United States. One was established near to my home town but it doesn't have a museum. I was looking forward to seeing this one and I was not disappointed. Most of the museum is dedicated to No. 1 school but all of the schools were very similar and there is a display for each of the schools.

They start you off with a short, informative movie. They had lots of memorabilia and exhibits pertaining to the school and British pilots that came to train. I was impressed with the Link trainer they had on display. I've seen many Link trainers in museums and always wondered how they worked. This was the first one I’d seen that had all of the electronic stuff that went with it to make it work and record the pilot’s flight. They had a hanger behind the museum with an AT-6 they were restoring. There is also a scarce "Provost" British jet trainer plane next to the hanger.
Written April 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jeff D
Corpus Christi, TX20 contributions
May 2018 • Couples
This is a must stop for aviation fans. History of the British pilots who did their initial flight training in a safe place during WW2. Who knew! Right here in the heart of Texas at this little airfield in Terrell, TX. Great people...knowledgeable and informative...fabulous little break in our drive across the state. This is a must see!
Written May 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

TallTexWally
Texarkana, Texas680 contributions
Sep 2016 • Solo
This museum is located at the Terrell, TX Airport. It gives the history of the British men who came to Texas during World War II to learn how to be pilots. Even before the USA entered the war in 1941 it was agreed that Great Britain should send future RAF pilots to be trained in Terrell. A new airfield was created out of cotton fields. Through the years of WW II class after class arrived, were trained, and graduated. They went back to England to fight the Germans. Many lost their lives. There were casualties even during training in Texas. 20 of them are buried in Terrell's Oakland Memorial Cemetery, located on US 80 on the west side of town. The section where there graves are located is considered "forever a part of England." One of the tragic mishaps that happened during training was when several planes flew north across the Red River into Oklahoma and crashed into the Ouachita Mountains. They were flying too low and didn't realize a mountain was in front of them. I've visited the crash site. It's in Pushmataha County, north of Antlers, OK. The museum itself is larger than I expected, filled with interesting exhibits, including photos of all the classes of airmen who trained in Terrell. It's called the "No. 1 British Flying School" because it was the first one established in the USA. Several others were built in other states before the war ended. Another interesting fact I learned was how much the people of Terrell opened their hearts and homes to these young Englishmen. It reminded me of how the English people welcomed the US servicemen who arrived in England to get ready for the Normandy invasion. The US and Great Britain were truly allies during the war, and we shouldn't forget that. I also found it interesting that the pilots to be took a long journey to reach the school in Terrell. They sailed by ship, probably to New York, and then took the train across the USA, arriving at the Texas and Pacific RR station in Terrell. There are photos of some of the servicemen at the station ready to board the train to return to England. We are so used to flying to where we need to go these days that we forget that even though these men were pilots, they still had to get back to England by train, and then ship. To find the museum, take the Highway 34 exit from I - 20 and go north for about a mile. Highway 34 becomes Virginia Street. Make a right turn on Airport Road and head east a short distance to the Terrell Airport. Look for Silent Wings Boulevard and make a right turn. This is a small street, and at first you may wonder if this is actually the road leading to the museum. It is. The road will turn left past some industrial buildings. The museum itself is in a small building on the left. I noticed the signs for it were a bit obscure, so keep your eyes open. There are just a few parking spaces in front of the building. The museum is open on only a few days a week, at certain hours, so check the schedule before you go. This is a great place to stop and learn something about the tremendous effort and sacrifice that so many were willing to take during WW II, and how Great Britain and the USA worked together against the common enemy.
Written November 14, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Andrew P
Dallas, TX99 contributions
Oct 2016 • Couples
This small, super clean museum is a great stop! Along the airport and easy to find. Super friendly docents. Short 10 minute intro film explains the why and how it came to be. The tour can be accompanied or done singly. Be sure to go out back to see the plane. The admittance is by donation only, so be generous. Great folks and a great place. Well worth the visit. Thanks!
Written October 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jacqueline G
Dallas, TX7 contributions
Aug 2016
We have found in our travels, some of the nicest museums are the little out of the way places. This was one of those. Needs better signage. Road into museum was a little rough. Museum was interesting. Short video at beginning. Did not know that we trained British flyers during WWII. If you are an airplane buff or have interest in WWII this is a find.
Written August 28, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lou K
Aubrey, TX10 contributions
Jul 2016 • Couples
We went to the museum as a way to beat the heat and to learn a little more about the war effort. Had lots of little exhibits, like log books and uniforms to look at. Its main feature is the training plane they are restoring that shows the difference in cockpits between the British student pilots and the American counterpart instructors.
The building itself is small, but well arranged, the volunteers are knowledgeable and very welcoming. Also as a person who uses a service dog, the people were very respectful and nice to both of us. Highly recommended for anyone interested in world history.
Written July 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

trsandsas
Terrell, TX31 contributions
May 2012
I had the opportunity to take on of my very good friends for a visit! He was in WWll and has written several books about the war. He gave the BFTSM a signed copy of his book and they were very grateful!
Written September 7, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

David
Rockwall, TX26 contributions
Jun 2019
Before the US entered WWII, aspiring British pilots were trained in the US. The FIRST of these locations is in Terrell, Texas, and the historical museum to honor that time and their sacrifice is located near the Terrell Airport on BFTS Blvd. It IS a must see. I understand that it is the ONLY British museum on US Soil. You can see an old flight simulator, lots of old photos and uniforms, and a great bit of American and British history. Don't miss it !!
Written January 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 55
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum (Terrell) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum

No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum is open:
  • Wed - Sat 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


Restaurants near No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum: View all restaurants near No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum on Tripadvisor