Oxygene Ski School La Plagne

Oxygene Ski School La Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne: Hours, Address, Oxygene Ski School La Plagne Reviews: 5/5

Oxygene Ski School La Plagne

Oxygene Ski School La Plagne
5
Ski & Snowboard Areas
Read more
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
We are Oxygene, a family-friendly, English-speaking ski & snowboard school and ski hire business in the French Alps. We are a friendly one-stop-shop for all of your family’s ski needs located in Belle Plagne and Plagne Centre.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
612 reviews
Excellent
544
Very good
43
Average
9
Poor
5
Terrible
11

Newpyk
3 contributions
Family
We have used Oxygen a few times over the years and can not fault them. And this year did not disappoint.
We actually booked our holiday in La Plagne in order to use oxygen over other ski companies, travelling from Aime 2000 to give the children the best experience and it was well worth it.
Our youngest had ski school I. The morning and accommodated her into a different group than the one we had booked as her level of skiing had significantly dropped after a 3 year break in skiing. By the end of the week she was almost back up to her previous level.
We then topped up with private lessons in the afternoons - Christal for our 8 year old daughter, Axel and Boris for our 10 year old son and Daniel for our 12 year old daughter. They all have very different skiing styles and oxygen matched the children up with the perfect instructor for their needs.
Daniel was absolutely brilliant for our eldest. She was lacking in confidence and after the first lesson Daniel had given Tilly her sparkle and love of the mountain. We would highly recommend all the instructors and definitely use them next time. Daniel also sent lots of photos and videos which was absolutely fantastic as it was so great to see Tilly’s progress.
The instructors really helped to make our holiday by giving the kids such confidence enabling us to all enjoy skiing as a pack by the end of the week. Thank you so much Ixygen. We will be back!
Written April 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sean Cornell
2 contributions
Family
Oxygene Ski School La Plagne.
These guys made our holiday. We made the initial booking for three kids for Ski School and lunch for 6 days, not booking lunch on the last day as we all wanted to be together. They checked this was not a mistake. As we'd booked the kids lessons through the school, we got their skiis too and our. Oxygene came and did a chalet fitting on the day we arrived for all of us. Normally you pay for this but as we'd spent to much they did it for free. The free minibus shuttle service from your chalet to ski school is a deal breaker. Although we walked to the lifts a couple of mornings and got the normal ski bus back a couple of times we used the shuttle service daily. Romain who did this is a legend. he phones you the night before to confirm what time he will be with you in the morning. The ski school did put the kids who had already skied for a week in with some who were newbies on the first morning, but easily shifted the kids to a more advanced group and also allowed the three kids 6,9 and 11 to all be in the same group. After lunching with the ski school for two days (kids coming back to us at 2.45pm( we decided to take the kids out of lunch and the ski school refunded us without questioning. On our last evening the guys came and picked up the skiis from the chalet, no faffing with shoes etc. The whole thing is run so slick it's unreal. Book the chalet fitting as it saves so much time. We had to get a ski adjusted at the end of our first day (sunday) and the queue to get fitted for skiis was an hour which was not so good. The instructors Dario is best described as cross between a grandad and a pirate and the kids loved him. We are going to be rebooking a holiday again and really only want to book where Oxygene are as they made our holiday. Thanks to Romain for his driving, Emerson for the chalet fitting, and to Victoria amd Tess for all the booking and admin. And to Dario for his hilarity.
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you again next season. All the best, Alison & the Oxygene team
Written March 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hugh D
1 contribution
Friends
We booked a full day lesson with an instructor to get Sarah, a complete beginner, skiing reasonably in the week. Daniel took Sarah for a half day and we then met them skiing down the hill later that morning. My son Nick then joined them for the afternoon and by the end of the day both were confidently parallel skiing. Their instructor Daniel warned me that he was making a monster of Sarah... we then skied for 2 days without instruction and covered a large proportion of the resort. We liked Daniel's style so much we hired him again for another 3 hours and he honed all of our skills, I learned a huge amount from him and for the first time felt confident skiing at speed and steep stuff. Daniel took us off piste and down harder runs including a soft mogully black. I was exhausted but felt so much more confident.

I have never seen anyone pick up skiing so quickly as Sarah did. Daniel's instruction was imaginative and fascinating. He adapted quickly, spotted the errors and put them right very clearly A true professional and maker of Monsters. Non skier to black run in 6 days with 1 1/2 days instruction.

Best holiday in years.
Hugh
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Hugh, Wow! What a week! We are all super happy you had such a good time. I have passed on your kind words to Daniel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Andy and the rest of the Oxygene team
Written February 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mkassa
1 contribution
By far one of the most enjoyable experiences I've ever had. As someone from a country with no snow let alone skiing, I was terrified for my first time skiing. I thought it was going to be a full day of making small steps and falling repeatedly. I'm very glad I got to take a course with Oxygene Ecole de Ski, and I highly recommend it to others.
I had an excellent instructor and I will forever be indebted to him for guiding me through my first steps of skiing and making my time at La Plagne so memorable. I initially booked a 2 hours private course. I enjoyed it so much and was greatly impressed by the progress I made that I immediately booked another session for the following day. I enjoy that one even more that I booked yet another session. Within the three days, I went from barely being able to stand on the skis to comfortably skiing on several blue routes all by myself.
If you ever find yourself at La Plagne and are considering taking ski lessons, I highly recommend Oxygene Ecole de Ski. ASK FOR DANIEL. He is a fantastic, friendly, patient, and highly skilled instructor. He was very skilled at assessing the difficulties I was having at each step and providing me the exact instructions that would help me overcome them. He helped me build the confidence I needed to get through each challenge; and even when I lacked the courage, I was always certain that I was in good hands. He was very accommodating all throughout the lessons; he was very encouraging and cognizant of every single improvement I was making (lots of positive reinforcement). He answered all of my questions and helped me learn so much about skiing. It is absolutely invaluable to have the confidence and instructions of a skilled professional like Daniel when first learning to ski. I was continuously amazed by the progress I was making. My experience at La Plagne wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable if I had to learn how to ski on my own or at the expense of my friends. This was by all means a great investment. I am very happy with my experience with Oxygene. I can't wait to be back and take on more challenges.
Written January 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Mkassa, Thank you so much! What a wonderful review. I have passed on your kind words to Daniel. He is thrilled you had a good time as are we all at Oxygene. See you again soon Andy and the rest of the Oxygene team
Written January 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul E
Bury St. Edmunds, UK10 contributions
Children arrived at one 1000 lesson at 0958 (phone tracker) but lesson had left. Ski school told us we were late and continue to dispute this. Quotation of 40 Euros (agreed to pay) given for damaged hire clothing. Once back in UK this was then changed to 98 Euros. Make sure you check all hire equipment prior to leaving the shop and report any defects. On changeover days it is manic and you are issued with equipment very quickly with not enough time to check if anything is wrong. I asked for a receipt when I handed the equipment back and they refused, sending me a copy of the original invoice only. I have always booked with FSR in the past and this was my first time with Oxygene Ski. Unfortunately I will not be booking with them again. I am raising my complaint through my credit card provider as full contract services were not provided.
Written January 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Paul We are sorry that your experience led you to leaving this review. Having spoken to the instructors involved and yourself I would like to make the following points clear: We sent you a pre-arrival email advising you to arrive early to the ski school meeting point. According to our instructors your family were late every day. As an apology for the Thursday morning lesson your children missed we offered to discount your lessons next year to make up for the cost of the missed lesson. When you hired ski clothing we offered you the option to take out insurance at a small cost. You did not do this. When you returned your children's salopettes, we spotted that one pair was ripped. For this, you agreed to pay the 40€ repair bill. When we took a closer look at the clothing you returned we found your other child's salopettes had been so badly stained they could not continue to be rented out. We asked you to cover the cost of the salopettes which you refused. Further to correspondence with yourself we then accepted that we should have discovered the second issue earlier and by way of apology, waived not only the cost of the salopettes that had been stained but also the ripped ones. We have listened to your comments relating to your children's lessons and their ski clothing hire and have responded accordingly. We are unsure what else we can do in this situation.
Written January 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Yette2020
1 contribution
Family
If you visit any resort that has an oxygene ski school then I would definitely recommend them. We have put our daughter in their very capable hands for 4 years in a row,twice in meribel and the last 2 years in la plage. She really enjoys her time with them and has great fun and her progress has been great. This year my wife had a snowboard improver session which she really enjoyed and learnt a lot being guided around the resort as well as great coaching. Maybe more importantly,this year they proved how seriously they take their customer's and staff"s safety,a friend and myself inquired into an afternoons guided off piste session but told it was a no go due to the heavy snow and avalanche risk which turned out to be absolutely the right call as several people were caught in avalanche's having being taken out by other schools\guides! Nothing but great experiences over several trips,great school, highly recommended.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Yette, Thank you for review. We take safety very seriously. Thank you very much for mentioning it. We look forward to seeing you again Andy and the rest of the Oxygene team
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike R
6 contributions
Friends
Have just returned from a trip to La Plagne. We booked a weeks (6days) morning lesson with oxygene in resort. We were intermediate level 2. On day 1 we had a assessment with two instructors and were divided into two groups of similar ability. For the first 4 days we had Jerome (J) and we learnt at a nice comfortable pace and was advancing on to the higher blues nicely. Due to an unavoidable family problem we had to have our instructor changed. The team in the office at Oxygene we’re very helpful on rebooking our lesson for us at a convenient time for us. We were swapped to Daniel. Several of our group had dropped out at this time and only 3 were left. The weather was very heavy snow and poor visibility but Daniel made us aware of our surroundings and made to feel very relaxed in what could of been very stressful situation. I felt I learnt allot very quickly from Daniel on how to deal with the weather and the slopes in the weather we were having. Felt very confident and advanced quickly with the tools Daniel gave us. When we arrived for our last days lesson we were informed we would have Daniel again. I was very pleased as I felt his teaching method clicked with me and I was s able to understand what was expected, it did help further that this time there were only two of us today. We went to the top of the resort and we were able to learn steep pistes, off piste and moguls and uneven pistes I felt I learnt more in one lesson than I did all week. This was probably helped by only being two of us that this was almost a personal lesson something when I return to the resort I will definitely try and book a lesson or two with Daniel himself. Made my holiday and made me want to just keep skiing, a shame it was my last day. Thank you oxygene and bigger thank you to Daniel
Written February 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Z5807FYmiker, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I have shared this with Daniel. We are so pleased you had a successful week with us. We look forward to seeing you again Andy and the rest of the Oxygene team
Written March 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

WilderTraveller80
4 contributions
Family
We have been returning to La Plagne for a number of years to use Oxygène for ski school. My sons (now aged 12 and 9) leaned to ski with Oxygène in 2016 and even with a three year Covid enforced gap they have continued to progress beautifully in morning ski school, this year in 2 ski with Tomas.
My husband is a confident and experienced skier and had a great two hour lesson with Daniel who was very attentive to technique, very easy to get on with and highly recommended.
I started skiing in my mid 20s and am nervous at the best of times. This year I sprained my ankle less than two weeks before we arrived in Plagne Centre, so didn’t think I would ski at all. Daniel recommended I try boots for wider calved skiers and thanks to his recommendation I managed to ski from Tuesday, and had three lessons with Manuela, who I had intended to have lessons with before my injury after some fantastic lessons in 2019. Manuela is a skiing miracle worker. I think she might be magic! From nervously creeping down the nursery slope and feeling like I was back to square one on Tuesday, by Thursday she had me skiing almost parallel and most importantly, with confidence down various blue runs. I’ve had plenty of ski teachers and Manuela is hands down the best - I’ll be back for more next year! Thank you Oxygène- you rock!
Written April 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Yvonne_Toole
1 contribution
Family
I booked lessons for my daughter with Oxygene outside my main ski package with Crystal Ski. My flights were delayed by over 36 hours and our trip was cancelled. Crystal refunded the full cost of my trip but Oxygene blatantly refused to refund the ski lessons. They provided no service, probably had no additional costs yet kept the full amount. This is not a good and honest company to deal with.

My daughter and I were very upset that our trip was delayed and cancelled. We had a horrid time waiting at Manchester airport for 36 hours - many UK passengers were stranded during this time due to fog at Chambery. Losing this money - Euro264 just added insult to injury. Shame on you Oxygene for not doing the right thing.
Written January 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Yvonne, We are extremely sorry that your ski trip was delayed and then cancelled all together. This is obviously a terrible thing to happen and we deeply regret that you could not attend the lessons. When you booked your lessons, you agreed to our terms and conditions which state that we are unable to provide a refund due to last minute flight delays and cancelled holidays. Following the conversation you have had with a member of our staff already, we have sent you a receipt confirming you did not attend your lessons which you can use to reclaim back the full cost of your ski lessons on your travel insurance. We are sympathetic to your situation but this is exactly what your travel insurance is for so you will not be left out of pocket. Kind regards Andy and the rest of the Oxygene team
Written January 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Esteban P
World2 contributions
I took time to write this review because I wanted it to be as perfect as the experience our childrens had during our stay.
But at the end of the day I don't have the words to describe the faces of my childs each time they came back from there lessons, or on the evening when the related their day and even today when the keep asking me when we will go back to ski with Daniel and Manuela!
They were on private lessons during the entire week with Daniel and Manuela and I don't think we'll ever find greater teachers for the kids. They are the best we could ever hoped and we can't wait to meet them again and see our childrens improve daily at an amazing speed.
So the only thing I could say is a HUGE thank you to Daniel and Manuela, and also all the Oxygen staff which welcomed us and gave us advices anytime we needed to!
Awesome week!
Written February 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi estebanp790, Many thanks for this lovely review, it helps us a lot ! When the children progress and have a big smile at the end of the day, it means that our mission is well accomplished :) I will pass the word to Manu and Daniel for sure ! See you soon in La Plagne ! Arthur and the whole oxygène team
Written February 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 442
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oxygene Ski School La Plagne

Oxygene Ski School La Plagne is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM


Restaurants near Oxygene Ski School La Plagne: View all restaurants near Oxygene Ski School La Plagne on Tripadvisor