Food Tours of America
Food Tours of America
5
City ToursCultural ToursWalking ToursSightseeing ToursFood Tours
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Food Tours of America specializes in public tours, private VIP tours, social celebrations, and corporate events. Enjoy amazing food while soaking up Dallas history on our fully guided food tasting and cultural walking tours. Come hungry and eat your way through Dallas with generous sit-down restaurant tastings in artsy Deep Ellum, the historic JFK area, and trendy Uptown.
Dallas, Texas

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Food Tours of America
Travelers talk about
(131 reviews)
(25 reviews)
(12 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles752 reviews
Excellent
672
Very good
51
Average
15
Poor
6
Terrible
8

Rani
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Unsurprisingly, food in Deep Ellum is awesome. Miles was a terrific tour guide, not only sharing about the food at the restaurants we visited, but also the art and music scene (including the funky street murals) and other restaurants we passed. I recommend the Deep Ellum and Uptown tours alike insofar as they explore different cuisines in strikingly different but stimulating neighborhoods.
Written February 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Rani, I love that you've joined us on two of our tours! Thank you for the glowing review of artsy Deep Ellum! Miles will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed his tour. He is a performer at Dallas Comedy House in Deep Ellum and loves sharing the neighborhood and its charm on our tours. You'll be excited to hear that we have a new tour coming very soon. Our Taste of Texas JFK Tour will feature Tex-Mex, JFK inspired restaurant and mixology cocktail lounge, a surprise foodie twist on BBQ and a walking tour of the JFK Assassination area. This new tour includes the historic West End Warehouse District, Wild Bill's Western Store, the Old Red Courthouse, Dealey Plaza, the grassy knoll, sniper's perch window, JFK Memorial, and John Neely Bryan's Cabin. We will happily give you and your boyfriend a discount as return guests! Thanks again, Jodi
Written February 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alanroytbak
Fair Lawn, NJ1,552 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Couples
We really enjoyed this tour, I think this is great way to know the culture, food and the city. Our guide was pretty knowledgable and was able to answer most of our questions. Come very hungry!!! Don’t skip if you are in Dallas. Food portions are plenty.

Written March 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so glad you enjoyed your tour. We love making sure our guests leave full and happy. We enjoy meeting locals and visitors alike. A food tour is a great way to celebrate a birthday, a bachelor/bachelorette party, or just a Friday.
Written March 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annette B
29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
Skip breakfast for this tour. Lots of tasty and varied food. My favorite part was a walking tour down an alley lined with murals that told the musical history of the area. My husband and I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Justin was terrific.
Written November 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JanCordova11
Houston, TX33 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 • Couples
Food was very good - adventurous and varied. Some of the servings were too large, making it difficult to pace ourselves. The guides were wonderful and very helpful with a wheelchair- bound guest. The group was a little too large, probably due to rescheduling due to weather the day before.
Written December 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Eric S
63 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Couples
Uptown Eats! Trolley & Walking Tour with Food Tours of America - Dallas

Veronica, our tour guide really made this a memorable event for us. She was well versed in all the cuisines (Lebonese/Tai/Western), local history, and made us feel like we were part of her tribe. We will use Food Tours of America again in Sep in Las Vegas...thank you Veronica for sharing the brand. May e they will send you there as our guide so you can gain first hand knowledge of the cuisine in Vegas.

- F&E S.
Written July 6, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TRIP A
Dallas, TX1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2014 • Couples
My wife and I were visiting Dallas for the first time and had a great experience on the Food Tour in Chicago(not affiliated), so after seeing all the rave reviews on this site, were very excited for the Dallas version.

When I booked online, I noticed that the cost was rather expensive but based on the reviews and experience in Chicago thought it would be well worth it.

The most important feedback I will give is that this is not a real Dallas Food Tour. This could be a food tour anywhere in the United States. Why do I say this? Because the restaurants we went to were: Moroccan, Italian Pizza, Pulled Pork Sandwich, Spaghetti, and a Cake Ball.

Also, please be aware that this is a tour of a very modern part of Dallas. So if you think that by doing this tour you will experience traditional Dallas cuisine you will NOT. It will NOT be steak, barbeque, ribs, cornbread, tex-mex, etc. So, if it were up to me, I would have saved all the money I spent on these tickets and done 1 of these 2 things:

1 - Walked around the nice modern area stopping at a few different restaurants to sample the food or get appetizers
2 - Looked up more famous Dallas cuisine restaurants and went there to dine

Here's the complete and honest truth. If you are willing to pay a decent amount to go on a walk, ride a free trolley, eat a variation of different foods and mingle with different people then it is not a bad idea. Just don't go into this thinking its a true "Dallas" cuisine food tour.

OK - Here is why I titled this "Infalted and Misleading Ratings". There were a few things that really bothered me about this tour outside from what is noted above.
1st - The tour guide said and i quote "Please go onto trip advisor and give us a 5 star rating. IF YOU GIVE US ANYTHING LESS THAN A 5 IT WILL HURT OUR RATINGS".
2nd - THREE TIMES, the tour guide mentioned tipping her. She was very bubbly and energetic but I don't need to hear about how you work 2 jobs, I don't need to hear about how you do this because you love it yet want tips, and I thought mentioning that three times was rude. By comparison, the food tour I did in Chicago was much more authentic and not once was tipping mentioned or made awkward for the people who just paid $100+ to sample a few foods.

If you are still reading this review, here is the complete rundown of what happens on the tour:
Arrive and receive a nametag with a famous person who was born in Texas. (This is completely meaningless and is just a further waste of time).
Eat at Moroccan Restaurant: Hummus, Chicken, spread on Nam Like Bread.
Walk to Dive Bar Pub: Get a "flight" of beer(equal to about 3/4 glass) and a 1 pulled pork slider.(Small but 2nd best thing you will eat)
Take a free trolley about 5 blocks(probably the most interesting part of the trip but its a free trolley and they each have a information banner at the top of the trolley that explains the history of that specific trolley).
Go for a very long walk around a neighborhood.(Drawn out, boring, and can be hot if no breeze)
Go to a Pizza Restaurant. (Seriously, I didnt come to Dallas for Pizza... this is also where they try to fill you up more because they get 3 whole pies.)
Go to a Italian Fusion restaurant and get a full plate of appetizers:Spaghetti(subpar), Pesto(flavorless), olive salad, and a beef wrap(not terrible).
Then the Tour guide will come over with Cake Balls for a bakery(Best thing you will eat all day).
Written May 12, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
My name is Jodi and I'm the owner. I am not affiliated with the tour you attended in Chicago. Thank you so much for mentioning that food tours are a great way to get to know a city. I'm relieved you had a good food tour experience in Chicago especially since you did not seem to enjoy anything about your tour with us. I don't know what your expectations were for us regarding the neighborhood and the restaurants since the tour descriptions clearly describe all of the tastings and the cultural highlights on each of our tours. I will be sure review our website again to make sure that there isn't anything misleading about the nature of our tours. I also don't know the price of your Chicago experience but I believe our pricing is very consistent with the food tours in other major cities. I suppose that had you enjoyed the tour the price would have been very reasonable and that since you were disappointed with every aspect of the experience it would be of no value at all regardless of the price. This is why I hope you will allow me to issue a refund. I am more than happy to return the money you spent with us but of course I know that I have no way to give you your time back. I created this small business to make people happy so I am truly sorry you were so disappointed with our restaurants, food, Uptown neighborhood and tour guide. As I mention in our followup email after the tour we exist to create enjoyable experiences for our guests and if for any reason we did not meet your expectations, which we clearly did not, we appreciate the opportunity to make it right. I would be grateful if you would contact us directly so that I can issue a full refund, including your gratuity since you did not enjoy the area, the food, or your tour guide. I chose Uptown Dallas specifically because it is one of the trendier areas in Dallas, it is considered Dallas' most pedestrian friendly neighborhood, it is where I entertain my out of town friends and visitors, and because it is also Dallas' oldest surviving neighborhood and unique antique trolley system with the oldest running trolley car in the nation. There is a new tour we are offering beginning June 1st that combines the food tour of Uptown with the history of the JFK assassination area led by a Dallas historian. This tour may have been preferable for you in terms of history since it is the only walking tour of that area, although you still would not have enjoyed the food. It is unfortunate that you were not able to review the tasting highlights on the website prior to purchasing your tickets so that you may have chosen another activity for your visit to the area. Hopefully your feedback will help other guests review the descriptions closely so they can determine if they would enjoy what we have to offer. I agree that Tex-Mex will be a great addition and expect to have Tex-Mex back on the tours soon. For our first two years we had a Tex-Mex offering but sadly after 25 years in business they recently closed. I can appreciate that you would have preferred a menu of Tex-Mex, steak and barbecue, unfortunately our Uptown neighborhood does not have a locally owned steak, barbecue, cornbread, or ribs restaurants restaurants within walking distance so those options are not possible for us to include at this time. We do have a pulled pork barbecue sandwich smoked by the owner at a neighborhood pub built in 1909 but this is not a barbecue restaurant. As for Vanessa, your guide, I'm not really sure what to say. As you can see from our other reviews most of her guests really love her personality. I can tell you that she has been with me for over two years now and I sincerely believe that she cares deeply about her guests and our neighborhood and that she truly does her very best to ensure people enjoy their time with us. I apologize that she offended you and hope that if you felt pressured into providing a gratuity, especially for a tour you did not enjoy, that you will let me know so that I may refund your gratuity along with your ticket purchase. She reads every review so she will hear all of your feedback directly. Like you, I want potential guests to make an informed decision when choosing how to spend their time in Dallas. You can see there are some wonderful tours to choose from. The last thing I want is for anyone to waste their time and money on a tour that isn't what they want seeing an area they aren't interested in. It is absolutely true that in this industry review sites such as these are what allow small business such as ours to stay in business and that poor reviews do impact us deeply. None of our other reviews though are at all fabricated or inflated and we truly appreciate our guests taking the time to authentically review our tours. Sincerely, Jodi Philippson
Written May 13, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nakai h
Plano, TX6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2012 • Couples
My boyfriend bought tickets to the Food Tours of America as a surprise for me. I had heard about it and really wanted to do it. Both he and I love great food, wine and the Uptown area of Dallas so we were very excited to experience this. This was not at all what we imagined it would be!!! The tastings were just that...very small tastes of terrible food. I guess in that regard we should be thankful that they were only tastings! There were really no significant historical places. We just seemed to do a lot of walking through residential areas. We did ride the trolley car a short distance. We spent more time sitting in a very overcrowded trolley car than it would have taken us to walk. The restaurant choices were not the best especially with all the great places to eat in Uptown. We started at a Moroccan place and that wasn't too bad, but yogurt samples and french fries are not exactly the best samplings of food in the area. The Mexican food wasn't bad. We were excited that a margarita was included but it turned out to be a shot glass of frozen margarita that tasted like a premix bought at Sam's club and the food was mediocre and cold. We ended at Magnolia movie theatre for dessert that wasn't even provided by the theatre it was from Bread Winners.. Why didn't we eat it at Bread Winners? That was strange. The tour guide was over the top and annoying. Very theatrical in her presentation. What a long 3 hours wasted of our day! My suggestion....look up trip advisors top choices in restaurants in Uptown, choose one and spend your money there having a good and enjoyable dining experience then spend some time walking around Uptown on your own. Believe me, you will have a much better time and your money much better spent!
Written November 4, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. I am sorry that you and your boyfriend did not enjoy your tour with us and would be happy to provide a full refund. I will try to address the individual concerns that you mentioned below. Trolley - Our participants often comment that the historic trolley ride is a favorite part of the tour. As stated on our website unfortunately we cannot control if a trolley is crowded. Bread Winners Desserts - Since they have award winning desserts but are unable to accommodate us during brunch we serve their cakeballs as a final parting gift at the Magnolia theater. Margaritas - The margaritas are sample size as mentioned on our website. Also, they are freshly made and not from a mix. We chose this Tex-Mex restaurant since it has been in Uptown for over 25 years.
Written November 6, 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

masuree p
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2018 • Friends
The tour guide made an extra $60 plus dollars off of us because she said we had to purchase our alcohol thru her when that’s not the case! Be sure to say you’ll pay for your drinks on your own! She also said she would send us a link for the pictures and never did! What a rip off!!
Written February 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Masuree, My name is Jodi and I am the owner. I wanted to reach out to you personally as soon as I saw your review and have emailed you as well. I am so very sorry that you felt scammed and have refunded your alcohol purchase. Since you tour tickets were purchased through Viator I am not able to issue a refund for them as they do not give us authorization for refunds. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I hope that I am able to clear up what I believe is a misunderstanding so that you feel better about your experience with us. It seems that your main concern is regarding our alcohol pairings. We have been in business for six years now and when we first started we encouraged guests to open and close individual bar tabs. Unfortunately it slowed down the tours and sometimes made us late to some of our tastings. We found that we just don't have time for guests to review menus, order with a server or bartender, and open and close individual bar tabs, and actually have enough time to enjoy their cocktails in the 20-25 minutes we have allotted for each restaurant. So out of respect for our partner restaurants and in order to provide a better experience for our guests we worked with our restaurants to create alcohol pairings designed to complement each of the restaurant tastings. At our Moroccan Lebanese fusion tasting we offer their signature pineapple infused cardamom martini, at our Tex-Mex tasting a traditional margarita, at our gastropub a mixology Moscow Mule, and at our Japanese tasting we offer sake. Our drink prices are $10 per cocktail, similar to retail pricing. I sincerely promise that this offering was created as a convenience to improve the experience of our guests and help our tours run on time and with ease, not to rip off or scam anyone. Our frequently asked questions section on our website clearly explains this as well. In regard to your photos, our sent emails show that your photo link was sent February 12th, three days after your tour. We have sent it again for your convenience, but I wanted you to know that we did initially send the photo link as promised. Since you didn't mention the tour itself or the food, I truly hope that the rest of your experience was enjoyable and that the refund for your alcohol pairings helps make things right. If there is anything else I can do to rectify the experience for you, please contact me directly and I will do whatever I can to accommodate you. Our team is small and local to Dallas and your experience really does matter to us. Sincerely, Jodi Philippson
Written March 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PhoenixCoug
Richland, WA32 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014
My wife and I have been on several food tours in several different cities. It typically is our favorite way to experience a city, as it usually provides a pretty solid glimpse into its culture and history in such a short amount of time.

We went on the JFK/Uptown tour and unfortunately this tour was by far our least favorite of all the tours we've taken... and we were not alone as another couple on the tour had the same opinion we did.

First off, in my opinion, the tour is a terrible value.

Second, the tour guide was lacking in his knowledge of the facts surrounding the JFK assassination and seemed more intent on giving his conspiracy-laden opinion than providing interesting tidbits about Dealey Plaza. On top of that, very little history or interesting facts about Dallas were provided, instead he seemed more interested in explaining who donated what to have their name put on buildings/parks.

Third, asking for a tip, especially right off the bat... And especially doing so by telling customers how much they should tip... Is especially bad form.

Fourth, the tour doesn't really showcase Dallas. There must be better locations than Uptown, as that could have been anywhere USA when it comes to food and sights.

You don't have to take our word for it, but if I were you, I would pass.
Written October 3, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am so sorry to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations and would like to offer a full refund including any gratuities you paid your tour guide. If you would email us directly at foodtoursusa@gmail.com we will take care of this for you. I truly appreciate your feedback. When designing the Dine and Dealey JFK tour we wanted to provide an experience that does not directly duplicate the 6th Floor Museum which does an amazing job with the historical data. Our tour is focused more on the interesting conspiracy theories and also architecture of the area. It sounds as if you might have preferred more of a museum experience. As for our food tours, we chose Uptown because it is considered Dallas' most pedestrian friendly neighborhood and because it is where our small team takes our out of town visitors and guests. I am sorry you did not enjoy our neighborhood. If you have other areas to suggest for future tours we would love to hear your thoughts.
Written January 22, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rick M
Sulphur Springs, TX3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 • Couples
When I go on tours I depend on reviews to base my trip decisions on. So here are my pros/cons for you.
Pros:
The Rustic and Eureka had some amazing food.
Rode several trollies, which added to the experience.
I have been on other food tours and NEVER have received as much food as on this one.
We did not pre purchase the "Drinks" option, but when my wife ordered a margarita at one place, the guide picked up our tab.
As I sit here trying to think of something else positive, I cannot come up with anything, so I will move on to the Cons.
Cons:
Jason was our tour guide, when he first tells you that it has been a while since he has done a tour the RED flags popped up immediately. Good reason for it. Being from out of town I was looking forward to hear what the guide would tell us about the local history. Unfortunately when the tour guide is googling it and reading it from his cell phone along the way, it is just not the same. He should have been more prepared.
The tour started at 10:30 and ended at 4:00. It was way too long. If there had been more history and more food descriptions for that amount of time then that would have been okay.
I will end this review saying even though the guide was disappointing as far as history, restaurant and food knowledge, most of the food was great and I would still reccomend this tour.
Written November 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 743

Food Tours of America - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Dallas HotelsDallas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dallas
All things to do in Dallas
Day Trips in Dallas
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars