We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 79 High St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 3 5427 2510
Website
Today
2:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 2:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.44*
and up
Champion Racehorse Tour with Beer and Wine Tasting
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 79 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Another great meal -new menu - lovely location

We are return diners. My husband loves the beer and I love the food, we both love the brewery setting, friendly service and fresh ingredients. A family meal for 5, all were well... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Angiepea
,
Melbourne, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Woodend

Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Bendigo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

No rib eye left No scotch left Actually no steak left Had to have the duck C grade food Bland Tasteless ordinary In desperate need of a Reno Dirty as anything Walls chairs tables ceiling You name it How hard can it be How much crappy American inspired dude food can one bare And not a single bloody main stream... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corey P
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Corey, I'm sorry we had run out of steak when you visited. We had an extremely busy weekend but I'm sure we would have had many other options still available. I have personally tried the duck and its delicious. Its a simple pan roasted duck breast served with seasonal vegies and a maple syrup/orange sauce. The natural flavours are... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of 7 travelling a considerable distance for the experience. DO NOT BOTHER! Our inquiry for an evening reservation was met with a very hasty, "Just walk in, we don't take reservations?" Ahhh - we are not willing to drive an hour one way, to maybe get a tabIe?? Any more talk on the subject was met with sighs... More 

Helpful?
Thank _kerrie3710
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Kerrie, Thanks for providing that feedback. I'm really sorry you found the staff member rude. I'm not sure if the staff member misunderstood you. We definitely do take reservations in our dining rooms but we leave our bar/lounge/courtyard areas as unreserved space. We offer the same menu in all areas of the hotel. Perhaps the staff member did not... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A casual lunch meeting with an "Out of towner" and 12 y.o. son. We ordered two Cajun Chicken Salads And fish and chips with a salad no dressing. Salads were soggy The dish and chips were small and the no dressing salad came with what seemed like extra vinegar. Didn't bother complaining. Just left the meals mostly uneaten and beat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parp2013
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are return diners. My husband loves the beer and I love the food, we both love the brewery setting, friendly service and fresh ingredients. A family meal for 5, all were well catered for including children and two vegetarians. We chose from their new menu which was easier to navigate but contained some old favourites and some new options... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angiepea
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Angie, Thanks for visiting and posting the review. That's great that you enjoyed the experience! Hope you visit again soon! Cheers More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
501 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am so glad I had my friend to drive me as I really enjoyed the tasting paddle. The food is not too bad either. The food is basically pub classics but they do them well. Make sure you get a Paddle

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Luke, Thanks for visiting. Great you tried the tasting paddle! Hope you visit again soon! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Myself and family (5 people in total) went to the Holgate for some food and drinks....however with only a small handful of others there and only 1 at the bar requiring service.....my partner watched as staff tallied cash, put away glasses and chatted before finally asking to be served. My brother had a similar experience on his round....in his own... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Suezq1983
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

As with other reviewers we went expecting great beer, service and nice food. They have the beer....if you can get someone to serve you that is. It was like an invisible cloak, others were served...but not us Some staff busied themselves making their own hot drinks.. After too long we literally had to ask to be served Won't be back

Helpful?
1 Thank foodforthought1965
melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2016

Beer was ok, food was ok. But only ok. A bit overpriced. Service was a shambles. I waiting at the bar for a good 5 minutes, while people who came to the bar after me, were served before me or staff ignored me while they counted money in the till right in front of where I was standing. This was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard522
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thanks for visiting & advising us of your experience. I will talk to staff to determine why it took 5mins to serve you & to make sure customers are not missed. More 

Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016

Stayed at the brewery with my wife on a weekend package which included a very generous tasting paddle each, 3 course dinner for two Saturday night, brewery tour & buffet breakfast Sunday. We loved it. Service was friendly and efficient & beers very good. While there was a bit of noise from the bar Friday night it was accommodation at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chonga65
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for spending the weekend with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you get a chance to visit us and the Macedon Ranges again soon! Cheers More 

Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Great food and venue! My friends and I loved the set up, they have really utilised the old hotel rooms for a range of different seating! We grabbed a tasting paddle and sat in the sun to enjoy. A few people grabbed food and said it was great quality.

Helpful?
Thank Ayshilin V
KeatingsWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting & for the review! The beer garden with views of Mt Macedon is a great spot to enjoy an ale or two! Hope you visit again soon. Cheers More 

Travelers who viewed Holgate Brewhouse also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 
Macedon, Macedon Ranges
Lancefield, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Holgate Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holgate Brewhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?