We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basils Farm

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
All photos (142)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“cellar door”(15 reviews)
“wine tasting”(13 reviews)
“veggie garden”(8 reviews)
About
Basils Farm is an artisan Winery on the shores of Swan Bay, (Bellarine Peninsula) specialising in traditionally made wild fermented wines. Varieties include: Sparkling, Sauvignon Blanc, Rose, Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Shiraz. Wine...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
43-53 Nye Rd, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Website
+61 3 5258 4280
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Queenscliff
from $238.27
More Info
from $405.76
More Info
from $83.39
More Info
from $55.36
More Info
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
75
69
24
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
75
69
24
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door wine tasting veggie garden lamb pinot noir lovely lunch fresh produce limited menu perfect view sun was shining birthday brunch lovely wine seasonal food shade umbrellas share plates great setting special lunch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

I’ve always loved Basil’s farm, wonderful location, fantastic food and lovely staff! This is one of the reasons I was quite excited to find out Basil’s was a wedding venue. To my disappointment Kim the manager did not deliver customer service instead made it very...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ZoeM1624
Kim D, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Zoe I am sorry you felt disappointed by our service. Your requested wedding dates were already booked. I did offer alternatives to your countless email requests, to which were not suitable to you. Wanting an afternoon ceremony during our peak period is very hard...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for the animal feeding for the kids, had lunch and spent some quality time. Great views from the new pavilion. Food was excellent and the fresh produce from the garden made a great difference. The staff (Michael and co), were extremely accommodative of all...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 357jayj
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

It is the middle of winter but that doesn’t mean the inside of this restaurant should be cold! I shivered though my entire lunch with two exterior doors open to the elements in the main part of the cafe even though there was a heater...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank JudeD862
Kim D, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Hi JudeD862 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I will take this up with our Cafe Manager, as our tables are normally cleared and set immediatley. We only wish that you told us you were cold - as we would have happily...More

Reviewed July 12, 2019

I went with my wife daughter, her husband and grandchildren for lunch on a Saturday. My daughter booked, which was critical as it was booked out. Our table was waiting and the waitress was most attentive. We had a variety of meals, but I cannot...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Z4148CPdavidl
Kim D, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Hi Z4148CPdavidl Thanks for visiting Basils! Glad you enjoyed most of your meals. The pork dish feedback has been given to the Chef team to and has been rectified. Yes, most weekends are booked out, so booking is essential! Hope to see you soon Cheers...More

Reviewed July 6, 2019

Had to wait for almost 30 minutes when dead quiet. Coffee all arrived at different times and cold. Very weak and inconsistent. Awful in every aspect. So disappointing.More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank belinda h
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

We are very surprised by this review! We have no record of you coming to visit Basils over the weekend, nor were there any issues with coffees and wait times. We would appreciate further clarification on your review. You can email us at info@basilsfarm.com.au or...More

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

This is a truly delightful spot for a small or group brunch or lunch in the sunshine. Great to look out over Swan Bay. Good food and they make a nice wine. I recommend.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank cragus13
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Cragus13 Thanks for your review! We are glad you had a great day with us Cheers Kim

Reviewed April 28, 2019

I really wanted to love Basil's Farm. The setting showcases the beauty of the Bellarine, the lovingly tended kitchen garden promises fresh everything and the menu suggests food fit for the delicious local wines. Hmmmm! We tried 4 different dishes in the noisy cafe. A...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SometimesSusan105
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi SometimesSusan105 Thank you or taking the time to review Basils. We have recently changed our Chef team and menu, so hopefully you can come back soon to try our well tested options! Cheers Kim

Reviewed April 23, 2019

This is a lovely venue with a great outlook. Unfortunately it needs some decent management. The staff are pleasant but fail to bring parts of the meal or drinks. We got 2 other tables bills before getting the correct one on the third attempt! Great...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Helen L
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Helen Glad you enjoyed the outlook - it is quite spectacular! We are sorry to hear of your experience regarding service. We continually train our staff to provide great customer service. Cheers Kim

Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Booked in for lunch the day before was looking forward to enjoying the experience with our young family Got seated and not on waiter came to take our order or offer us drinks sat around for 30 minutes so we got up and left best...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Anthony C
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Anthony Sorry to hear about your experience at Basils. We do have senior staff at our hosting station that are more than happy to assist in these rare occasions! Hope you come back and try again soon Cheers Kim

Reviewed April 7, 2019

We decided to have a special treat & choose the lamb for 2 course at $66. The dish arrived with the lamb so rare & lukewarm.... & the potatoes lukewarm & greasy. We were hungry so started to eat it but the meat was fatty,...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RalphSpain
kimdJ5109AI, General Manager at Basils Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi RalphSpain Thank you for your feedback. We have taken all feedback onboard and recently released a new menu Hopefully you will come back and try us again Cheers Kim

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Vue Grand Hotel
372 reviews
2.38 miles away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
527 reviews
2.44 miles away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
140 reviews
3.73 miles away
Riverside Ocean Grove
70 reviews
7.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 56 nearby restaurants
Rolling Pin Pies and Cakes
185 reviews
2.36 miles away
Garden Cafe
134 reviews
2.41 miles away
Queenscliff Brewhouse
228 reviews
2.36 miles away
Athelstane House Restaurant
137 reviews
2.39 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 43 nearby attractions
The Blues Train
630 reviews
2.25 miles away
Queenscliff Harbour
194 reviews
2.41 miles away
The Bellarine Railway
98 reviews
2.24 miles away
Queenscliffe Visitor Information Centre
59 reviews
2.41 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ashley B
September 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Basils_Farm | Property representative |
Hi Ashley, Sorry for the delay in seeing this message come through. The answers above are correct. You can also book online via obee. From December 3 you can also enjoy ‘Breakfast at Basils’. • Egg + Bacon Rolls every... More
0
Votes