Basils Farm
Wineries & Vineyards
Read more
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Basils Farm is situated on the majestic Swan Bay overlooking the historical town of Queenscliff. Featuring spectacular views, farm fresh cuisine and sophisticated wines set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens, lush green lawns and vineyards. Wander through the stunning vegetable gardens that supply fresh produce to Basils Cafe or sit by the firepit with a glass of wine over winter. Live Music Sunday Sessions are held every Sunday from September to April, 12.30pm-3.30pm. Kids dining at Basils Farm can visit the llamas or play in the sandpit. Activity packs which include llama feed are available for purchase through the cafe. Dog friendly, please advise when booking. Christmas closure dates Saturday 24th Dec 2022-Tuesday 3rd January 2023
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
222 reviews
Excellent
93
Very good
78
Average
29
Poor
8
Terrible
14

southerngal
Melbourne, Australia9 contributions
A lovely, picturesque, and laid-back dining experience, not too far from anywhere under the gum and fruit trees with a stunning Swan Bay sea view across to Queenscliff.

Apart from the inside café and pavilion I recommend the alfresco veranda and garden tables, as all dining areas overlook the vegie garden and who doesn't love a vegie garden !.

I ordered the rosemary infused Lamb Rump with garden vegetables and it didn't disappoint. Every mouthful of lamb was tender and rosemary packed and more special my vegies were grown right in front of me - what a great connection!

Make sure you go for a stroll after your meal and take in everything that Basils Farm is.
Written April 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi southerngal2020, Thanks for your wonderful review of Basils Farm. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. The gardens are a labour of love and as you mention who doesn't love a veggie garden! - they are a favourite place for our guests to explore. Our Chefs are passionate about using our fresh produce in their dishes, so our menu changes regularly to reflect the seasons. Hope to see you back at Basils again soon. Cheers!
Written May 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ccstewart26
Geelong, Australia51 contributions
Family
I went here with my husband and 2x young children.
The waiters/ waitresses were lovely and welcoming.
We booked a table outside however it was really cold and they happily moved us inside.
The man out the front greeting people was on point with the covid screening. We had to check in and show covid vaccination evidence on entry. Very rarely see this occur but this restaurant really cares about the health of their staff, customers and the law which is great to see because it’s also a wedding venue.
The kids enjoyed feeding the llamas.
However my reason for rating this average was the food. I wasn’t impressed. There was only 2x small prawns on the Asian Surf n Turf. The Share Platter for Two was ordinary. The cold meats sat on some wilted lettuce. It also came with lots of bread but there was nothing to dip or spread. The slow cooked ribs - this came with only 1x rib and was heavily salted. The rib also had a lot of fat on it.
Yet the desserts were amazing. They tasted great!
This is a place you really have to visit yourself and make your own mind up.
The food and drinks are expensive but you’re probably paying for the location.
Written April 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, ccstewart26 Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your trip to Basils Farm. Wonderful to hear you were welcomed warmly to Basils Farm and yes, the safety of our visitors and safe is of the utmost importance, we thank you for your understanding that this is a process we have to follow by law. We are sorry to hear that you thought that some of the food was average, this is not the standard that we aim for and our General Manager will be addressing this with the kitchen team. (Please note the Asian Surf & Turf is an entree so is smaller in size). The desserts are popular, thanks for the positive feedback! We appreciate your comments as they help us to make improvements.
Written April 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben D
Melbourne, Australia32 contributions
Best winery experience we've had. Ever.
Most wineries seem to be "pay for an expensive meal, look at the vines but don't touch, pay for wine tasting, get out."

Basil's was the opposite. You can wander around the vegetable garden. Walk amongst the grape vines. Take the kids to the alpacas and sheep. There's even a sandpit for the kids to play in.

We got there on time, and the staff moved us to the best table in the place, despite others already being there.

Food was great and we ate our fill.
Written March 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ben, Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Basils Farm. The garden is a highlight for many and as you mention the kids also love the sandpit and llamas. We try to offer something for everyone at Basils! Our relaxed, coastal settling invites guests to explore the grounds, enjoy the views and dine on local and our own home grown produce. Hope to see you back at Basils!
Written April 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DozDoes
1 contribution
The kid-friendly farm they advertise is just two llamas behind a rusty barb wire fence that almost shredded my child's arm.

The gourmet priced food was not enjoyable at all. We ordered a range of foods and no-one enjoyed their meals. Can't believe the audacity of their prices, priced very high end for food that tastes like home cooked leftovers.

The sandpit for kids was a great idea, but it was one of the few areas of the cafe with no shade whatsoever, not good for kids to be in full sun like that.

The staff were friendly enough and the cafe was a nice place, but the food and animal farm were huge dissapointments
Written March 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Dozdoes, we are quite taken aback by your comments. We do not promote our Café as an animal farm, but we are 100% child friendly and over the years have had many children visit Basils Farm enjoying open grassed spaces to play, a sandpit and llamas to meet. We however are primarily a Café and offer a dining experience with beautiful views over Swan Bay. You mention shade for the sandpit, we are not a child’s play centre but have provided a place for children to play if they desire. We do offer free sunscreen which is available in a large basket at the outdoor host station. We recommend a hat be worn if it is a sunny day. Most outdoor dining tables have large market umbrellas. Feeding the llamas is an optional extra that children can choose to do when they are dining in the Cafe. Llama food is sold as part of a self-guided feeding, so the onus is on parents to supervise. The rusty barb wire you mention is in an area where you have to go over a closed gate. Regarding our food, our dishes are prepared freshly in house using our own grown produce and that of local suppliers. We believe we offer quality food at prices comparable to other local establishments.
Written March 31, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lyn
Ocean Grove, Australia4 contributions
Friends
We’ve now visited Basils Farm three times and thoroughly enjoyed each experience.
When we sat down with the menus yesterday we all decided we would be happy to try any of the dishes listed. The seafood bisque is a favourite, flavoursome with beautifully fresh seafood. We were more than happy with all our choices - fish, lamb and duck. It’s the interesting touches, tamarind flavoured carrot purée, that we love. Presentation, flavour & freshness are a given.
One of our visits was during the week and another during a busy Sunday service. Service has always been spot on … friendly and professional.
We look forward to dining again, and plan to return when the weather is kinder so we can dine alfresco.
Written July 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jude
Torquay, Australia598 contributions
Couples
We dined outdoors at Basil’s Farm on an Autumn day, even though there was the occasional light shower we were well protected by the large umbrellas. While the menu is not large, it offers something for everyone. In a group of six, main meal reviews were mixed, but everyone agreed the desserts were pretty good. Lovely views, good service, reasonable prices, farm/vineyard setting. Indoor and outdoor dining options. Definitely worth a visit.
Written March 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Chris K
Ocean Grove, Australia204 contributions
Friends
Been here before a couple of years ago, liked it then and like it more now!!
There is a choice of inside or outside dining. There is a beautiful view of Swan Bay and Port Phillip Bay and a lovely setting including an extensive, very well cared for Vegetable Garden.
We were greeted by a helpful and friendly waitress and the served by a very helpful, attentative, friendly and smiling waitress. She made our dinner extra good.
The food was really good too.
I had the curry which was sensational .
The others had Seafood Pappardelle and Quinoa Cake and the three of them said the dishes were delicious.
A very pleasant restaurant experience and well worth going there.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mel L
Greater Bendigo, Australia59 contributions
Family
Wow, hard to put into words our experience at Basil’s Farm. We had the best time. We are a family of four, two young children. I had hoped to visit Basil’s years ago and followed them on Insta, I finally got there and it did not disappoint. Our food was amazing! I had completely gone off salmon during pregnancy, but the salmon here made me fall in love with salmon all over again. Everyone’s meals were delicious, service was great, sandpit and feeding the animals was a huge hit. Great experience!
Written March 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shazza98
Heathcote, Australia95 contributions
Visited with friends who live down that way. Lunch was delicious, seafood pasta with a very nice glass of wine. Staff were very friendly and the service was quick. Sat around long after the meal was finished and we weren't made to feel like we had overstayed. Views are superb.
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

janet h
Ocean Grove, Australia4 contributions
Friends
Well I have had so many people tell me this is a dan place to visit, so, friends were visiting from Mlb with dog so I booked Basils farm. My meal was baked Fennel, entree and Lamb rump for mains I think the lamb and vega were left over from days ago and reheated, it looked terrible and tasted just as bad. I won't be going back soon and definitely won't be taking visitors to the Bellarine. I had to call the wait staff over for water and wine and menu, I know staff are hard to get but they did not seem to be trained very well nor was there a Manager making sure that guests were properly catered for. My husband ordered a Chadoney he got it the second time around just after someone
from another table said to staff that one of their orders was short. Very friendly staff great place for dogs but service and food not too good
Written April 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear S7845KNjaneth, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your food at Basils Farm. We wish you had of said something to our staff at the time as they would have been able to rectify this. Our food is cooked fresh and we do not reheat left overs. In terms of service, whilst you visited us during a very busy time, this is not our usual practice and you should have been given a menu when seated or shortly after. As you mention our staff are very friendly and accommodating, but during extremely busy times there can be delays. We apologise for this and hope that you will come back to Basils in the future.
Written April 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 222
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Basils Farm (Queenscliff) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Basils Farm

Basils Farm is open:
  • Mon - Mon 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Thu - Fri 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat - Sun 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Restaurants near Basils Farm: View all restaurants near Basils Farm on Tripadvisor