Beaumaris Gaol
Beaumaris Gaol
4.5
Historic SitesArchitectural Buildings
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • natsz2016
    Bristol, United Kingdom180 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great visit
    We really enjoyed our visit. It’s a really interesting place to visit, lots of information and visual history. The staff are friendly and welcoming and happy to provide you with information and details about the prison. We would recommend a visit if you’re in the area. Allow plenty of time to ensure you can read all of the information provided about the inmates, jobs, punishments etc
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 29, 2023
  • Kayleigh
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates73 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Trip back in time
    We visited 12/7/2023 & enjoyed a trip back in time & discovered the history of Beaumaris Gaol. The staff were so helpful and informative & also gave my children 7 & 9 an activity sheet to complete whilst we made our way from cell to cell. We felt the trip was priced fairly and took approx 1- 1.5hrs
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 12, 2023
  • Laura R
    London, United Kingdom83 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Interesting Gaol
    Great gaol, well laid out with lots of interesting information to read. The people working there were very friendly and welcoming. Our family (including boys aged 16, 13, 8) all really enjoyed it. Definitely worth a visit.
    Visited August 2023
    Written August 14, 2023
  • Louise
    19 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fascinating Gaol
    This is our third time visiting the gaol over the years and this year was the best visit yet. My children were given a quiz to do whilst going round in return for a wordsearch on completion, which they really enjoyed doing! We met a lovely guide who had finished his shift but told us some information about scotch bonnet hats and why they were used, which was very interesting and something none of us had heard about before. The staff were friendly and informative. We turned up late so only had 1 hour to get round. We could have easily spent much longer. We will definitely return in the future. My children age 12 and 10 both loved it and as they're a little older this year were more interested in the history of it. The man that works there was locking up as we were heading out but very kindly offered to show us the outside grounds and taught us what things were used for and where the 2 people executed were buried, it was very interesting. Thank you to the staff. The lady in the reception was very friendly too and nice little shop for souvenirs. This place is definitely worth a visit it's fascinating.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 16, 2023
  • Katie D
    55 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A must see!
    Great visit! Welcomed into the museum and plenty to explore. Lots of information boards so lots to learn about but a little reading heavy. Some steep staircases to navigate but lots of information and very immersive to walk around. You can buy a joint ticket which includes the beaumaris courthouse which I would recommend!
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 22, 2023
  • S.V.🎊
    Wales, United Kingdom1,918 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Grim and gruesome gaol
    What an intriguing place to visit with much to see and learn. How harsh and dismal were conditions of prisoners during the Victorian Era when laws were strict and punishments brutal. These were the days of public floggings and hangings, torture cells and hard labour. Here, you can step back in time and get insight into this grim and gruesome period. The museum is very well run. Staff are well informed and there are detailed information boards. There is much to see and to think about.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 25, 2023
  • Mandas_7
    Manchester, United Kingdom24 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Informative museum
    Just had a great afternoon exploring with my teenage daughter who loves history. It was really interesting and the volunteer staff had lots of fascinating tales about some of the old in mates. Roger “The Governor “ was very informative. It is probably better for slightly older children that can read the information provided. There are some steep steps and uneven floors. There is a small gift shop with some pocket money friendly items.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 31, 2023
  • 827michaelc827
    Bridlington, United Kingdom47 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Well worth the visit
    What a place to visit so much to see and extremely interesting, My wife and I decided on a joint ticket for the Gaol & Court we where not disappointed with either. Spending a good time walking around the Gaol reading about its prisoners and the treatment they got, Looking into the cells and learning about the history of the place was fantastic to say the least. Then we walked a few hundred yards to the Court House, Once again although small we where Not disappointed in what we saw. Extremely interesting place to visit with plenty to see and read, plus the chance to sit and visualise what it must have been like back in its day. All in all well worth the visit if your down Anglesey way and have a day to spare, you won't be disappointed.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 16, 2023
  • E.
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    An excellent team of staff helped bring the Gaol and it’s residents to life
    Went towards the end of the day (28/09) and took our time wandering around the Gaol. A miserable place indeed, but brilliantly brought to life by Roger (the governor). The gaol itself is well preserved and there are plenty of information boards around, but its best asset is definitely the staff. Roger talked us round most of the gaol, and it was great to see someone who cared so much about the place and the lives lived within. Enthusiastic and very well informed, he clearly has taken a lot of time researching the history of the place. The ladies on the front desk (very sorry didn’t catch their names) were also very welcoming and helpful. Overall, we spent about an hour in the Gaol and I would say the price of entry was fair and good value for the experience.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 28, 2023
  • Digby98
    Warrington, United Kingdom501 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fascinating
    Fascinating history to the place and really enjoyed walking round and seeing the information boards around the gaol. Left to wander freely but warmly greeted by the friendly people on reception. Well worth a visit if in the area.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written October 6, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles734 reviews
Excellent
481
Very good
201
Average
38
Poor
9
Terrible
6

AlysonMike
Tredegar, UK28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Couples
A really friendly welcome and excellent resume by Roger. All staff are in period costumes adding to the chill of entering a gaol.
I was surprised by the amount of the original building still there and a stark reminder fee of what it was like to be a Victorian prisoner.
There is just the right amount of balanced interpretation so you get a feel for each cell rather than read and rush on to the next one.
Well done to Beaumaris Town Council and all the staff on preserving this slice of history and presenting it so well to visitors.
Written September 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

400Delilah
Manchester, United Kingdom13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
There was no tour guide or information available to help us get the most from our visit which consisted solely of wandering around reading info on the walls and wooden peg boards. It was better than the court house though but £9 for a dual ticket for both with no input from staff or guides in either (probably due to covid) is a rip off if visitors pre covid got better value for their money. It was interesting but a bit like window shopping !!
Written August 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am so sorry that your visit to the gaol was a disappointment for you but you are quite correct in your assumption that the lack of tour guides is a direct function of the restrictions placed on us by Covid19 rules. We have tried to compensate for their absence by developing a safe one-way system throughout the building and, where possible having gaol staff positioned at strategic points to answer questions from visitors at a safe distance. Sadly, we do not have enough volunteer guides to ensure that they are available all the time and therefore gaps inevitably occur. I do believe, however, that the price of entry is still fair in comparison with other local attractions but, as I am sure you will appreciate, the running costs of such an old, listed building are immense and the income from visitors' entry fees are an essential source of funds without which the gaol could not be maintained for the enjoyment, and edification, of visitors to Beaumaris. It would, I believe, be a sad day if the gaol had to close due to lack of funds to maintain it. I would invite you to come back to visit us post-Covid when I and the other guides will be there to take you round the gaol, provide you with a fascinating picture of life in prison and to bring the stories of the poor unfortunates who were incarcerated there back to vivid life. Kind regards, Roger Vincent (aka: The Governor
Written October 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melin Llynon
Anglesey, UK10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Couples
What an amazing part of Anglesey history! Brilliant place.

I am fascinated by original ironwork and to see all the locks on the cells and the treadmill etc was fabulous!

Some truly interesting stories on the information boards. Loved it. All very Covid-safe, too.

We got a glimpse of “The Governor” whilst we queued, but never saw him once we were inside. Such a shame because I have heard wonderful things and some human interaction would have really brought the place alive.

Nevertheless, it’s a must-see!
Written September 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am so sorry that you we weren't able to meet up during your visit but the Covid issue has meant that the tours I used to give as The Governor can no longer be carried out. To try and compensate for this I try to be in the open area by the treadwheel and whipping room to try to make contact with visitors and tell them about these items and about the two executions. One count I did on a busy day a week ago showed that, between 10:00 and 17:00 I had repeated this over fifteen times. I am sure you can appreciate that, during a full day, I have to have a break for lunch and a couple of coffees to prevent me losing my voice :-) Sadly, therefore, I can only assume that I was having a break when you reached this part of the gaol and was therefore not around. I really apologise for this but I am sure you will understand that I can't be there all day without a break. As a volunteer, I have been attending the gaol on two or three days a week since we opened in July but, due to the rise in Covid issues in the area over the last couple of weeks I have decided to discontinue until things improve. I promise to be back as soon as I can but, until then my apologies for your disappointment during your visit. Kind regards, Roger Vincent (AKA The Governor)
Written October 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

drewedmin999
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK1,397 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Family
A good value 30 minute wander through an interesting building with lots of history. It’s well planned out and very informative.

We bought a combination ticket for about £9 with the courthouse which we visited first in order to follow the journey from conviction to punishment and really enjoyed our experience.

People have talked about it being scary or morbid but it’s none of these things, it’s just a real building steeped in history.
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KVJ166
Southampton, UK1,163 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
Very interesting for history buffs and was grateful for somewhere to shelter from the incessant rain, but nonetheless I couldn’t help feeling slightly ripped off.

I appreciate that C19 has turned the world upside down and could sense the frustration amongst the staff that we spoke to with the restrictions that have been implemented for everyone’s safety, but agree with previous comments about the price of entrance given the fact that there are no tours and some of the gaol is now out of bounds.

We too were done within 30 minutes and I agree that perhaps to get the full benefit of the site it would be best left until rules regarding social distancing have been relaxed further.
Written August 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi KVJ166, I am so sorry that your visit to the gaol was a disappointment for you and completely understand. Your observation over the frustration of the staff at not being able to provide our full service is quite correct as we normally would provide conducted tours (at no extra cost) which bring the life of the gaol and its inhabitants to life. I do believe, however, that the price of entry is still fair in comparison with other local attractions but, as I am sure you will appreciate, the running costs of such an old, listed building are immense and the income from visitors' entry fees are an essential source of funds without which the gaol could not be maintained for the enjoyment, and edification, of visitors to Beaumaris. It would, I believe, be a sad day if the gaol had to close due to lack of funds to maintain it. I would invite you to come back to visit us post-Covid when I and the other guides will be there to take you round the gaol, provide you with a fascinating picture of life in prison and to bring the stories of the poor unfortunates who were incarcerated there back to vivid life. Kind regards, Roger Vincent (aka: The Governor)
Written October 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lisamartin1981
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Family
We visited during the February half term with our two boys who are 12 and 10. We all couldn't recommend it enough, we have visited many Historical sites, including other gaols and the attention to detail here was fantastic. Roger was excellent, dressed in character as the warder and had such passion for the History and ensuring it was accurate. At £20 for a family ticket, the value was also excellent, if you are looking for something to do in Beaumaris, we could not recommend it enough. We wish we had time to do the courthouse and we will return to do this.
Written February 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sequin
UK103 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
I feel a little unfair writing a poor review as the fact that tours are not allowed is beyond the control of the gaol. However, £18.50 for a family ticket and the gaol cashing in on masks by charging £1 each for them when they are worth far less left a bad taste in our mouths. The signs in each room did not answer all our questions and some rooms were not labelled. The governor's 5 minute talk was very interesting but we were there less than an hour and learnt very little apart from that. Wait till the tours reconvene if you want to visit.
Written August 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am so sorry that your visit to the gaol was a disappointment for you but you are quite correct in your assumption that the lack of tour guides is a direct function of the restrictions placed on us by Covid19 rules. We have tried to compensate for their absence by developing a safe one-way system throughout the building and, where possible having gaol staff positioned at strategic points to answer questions from visitors at a safe distance. Sadly, we do not have enough volunteer guides to ensure that they are available all the time and therefore gaps inevitably occur. Your comment on the cost of masks on sale at the gaol, however, I would challenge as the price of £1.00 e4ach is less that their cost in other places. It is expected that, as Covid regulations concerning face coverings inside buildings is well known, that visitors would normally be expected to bring their own face coverings along with them. I do believe, however, that the price of entry is still fair in comparison with other local attractions but, as I am sure you will appreciate, the running costs of such an old, listed building are immense and the income from visitors' entry fees are an essential source of funds without which the gaol could not be maintained for the enjoyment, and edification, of visitors to Beaumaris. It would, I believe, be a sad day if the gaol had to close due to lack of funds to maintain it. I would invite you to come back to visit us post-Covid when I and the other guides will be there to take you round the gaol, provide you with a fascinating picture of life in prison and to bring the stories of the poor unfortunates who were incarcerated there back to vivid life. Kind regards, Roger Vincent (aka: The Governor
Written October 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sazzy1983
Rugby, UK172 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
Have not been here for many years and it’s such a shame the headphones can’t be used due to Covid but very much an enjoyable visit. All Covid measures put in place, hand sanitiser, one way system, only so many in each room. Masks to be worn.
Written August 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen H
Eastbourne, UK13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
We visited the Gaol yesterday, greeted by four welcoming characters! Warned about the possibility of meeting someone from the past, we continued our exploration of the Gaol. It is steeped in history, intrigue and fascinating stories of life as a ‘resident’, back in the 1800s.
We were well informed by ‘the governor‘ and enjoyed the simple, informative posters about the harsh realities of the life they faced.
Don’t miss this gem of an experience, it’s well worth it.
Written May 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mark D
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
If you enjoy historical sites this place is a hidden gem. I recommend taking the time to listen to the tour guide Roger as his description of the history of this site is both comical an informative. An closing the cell door in the punishment cell an turning off the light is not for the faint hearted. Originally built to house prisoners being deported to Australia it was a very tough place for the convicts an very well maintained. An well worth the £6.50 entrance fee. 10 out of 10 as far as we are concerned can definitely recommend this as a place to visit. Also young children have interaction with a map to tick of points on the route to keep entertained while at same time learning some history, albeit some of it dark history.
Written August 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 726
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Beaumaris Gaol - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Beaumaris
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars