We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
All photos (133)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“slave trade”(53 reviews)
“runaway slaves”(21 reviews)
About
Visitors can tour the tunnels used by runaway slaves who stopped at this plantation, one of the stations of the Underground Railroad.
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
As featured in One Day in Memphis
Contact
826 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38107-2302
Website
+1 901-527-3427
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Memphis
from $55.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
435
133
35
9
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
435
133
35
9
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground railroad slave trade runaway slaves sweet chariot small house trap door safe haven slaves hid safe house tour guide eye opening wealth of information black history learning experience american history history lesson african americans
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Greg was amazing with his tour. Wow the history learned today. I am so thankful for this tour, and the history regarding slavery and escaping slavery. . This tour is for the entire family. No pictures allowed inside. Tour is a must!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank keenangoals
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only did the Slave Haven tour. The tour guides were phenomenal. They were both informative and how the presented the tour, it really hits you. This is a must do tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank brittanym276
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a humbling experience. First please let me say that the tour guides that narrate this journey through the African American struggle that began so long ago were nothing short of remarkable. When the gentleman broke out into song and shared the messages captured...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kelly F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This small museum packs a powerful punch. The guides painted a vivid picture for us and took us on an emotional yet informative journey. I would highly recommend this to adults and children (probably aged 8 or 9 and up).

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank barbaraa22
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not sure what to expect, but the tour guides really described vividly and in great, clearly well-researched detail, the early history of the Atlantic Slave Trade, the Underground Railroad, and the role that the Burkle Estate played in it. It was a very...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank EvieJoy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a bit disorganized getting the tickets and waiting for the start of the tour. I gathered they were under staffed this particular day from comments made. The house is small, but the stories shared were worth the price of admission. I liked that...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank b0bbiannh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This small, worn home was the highlight of our tours in Memphis. (Civil Rights Museum and Sun Studios were great too.) Everyone who visits Memphis should make it the top of their must-see list! Our tour guide engaged us and the young students in our...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Katie G
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

We took our 9 year old granddaughter to Memphis for the weekend and this was our first place to go. ... It is so well worth it. It was so educational to us grandparents as well as our granddaughter... The ladies that gave the tour...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Ed M
AlanaT219, Manager at Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Ha, I remember hearing the siren coming from the hallway. Very happy you were pleased with our Museum. Thank you

Reviewed July 6, 2019

Enjoyed this Museum. During our 1 hour tour we learned a great deal about the Underground. They tell the story of how slaves survived and escaped to safe areas. You get a great overview.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank RealTalk56
AlanaT219, Manager at Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank you for keeping it real @real talk! We appreciate you!

Reviewed July 5, 2019

For anyone interested in the history of the Underground Railroad, this is a must see. The original house has been preserved, along with the trap door and the basement where those fleeing stayed, sometimes for several weeks before escaping. The tour guides provide lots of...More

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank PAR2000
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 145 nearby hotels
River Inn of Harbor Town
1,145 reviews
.71 miles away
Big Cypress Lodge
785 reviews
.80 miles away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1,654 reviews
.90 miles away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
1,644 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,709 nearby restaurants
Cozy Corner
419 reviews
.82 miles away
Terrace At The River Inn
444 reviews
.72 miles away
Paulette's
846 reviews
.80 miles away
Tug's
426 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 314 nearby attractions
Danny Thomas/ALSAC Pavillion
51 reviews
.85 miles away
St. Mary's Catholic Church
38 reviews
.94 miles away
Memphis Cook Convention Center
52 reviews
.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
stephaniebZ7532SQ
March 20, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from AlanaT219 | Property representative |
You pay admission at the door.
0
Votes
LuauQueen42104
January 24, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WingerJack | Reviewed this property |
We bought a two day pass for the Memphis Hop On Hop Off tour. None of the routes goes to this Museum. We recommend a visit to the Museum but do not recommend the Hop On Hop Off bus - very poor value
1
Vote
erclerk
July 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Drunken_Sherpa | Reviewed this property |
I believe it was $12 for adults. We were with a school trip. For the history it was worth it.
2
Votes