Loch Katrine
Loch Katrine
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Welcome to Loch Katrine - one of Scotland's special places. Just as special as the magnificent scenery is the famous steamship "Sir Walter Scott" which itself has been a landmark in The Trossachs for over a hundred years. Your visit is not complete without a cruise on this wonderful ship, or on "Lady of the Lake", the perfect way to experience the beauty of Loch Katrine. Perhaps you'll just want to relax with a coffee or a meal in the Brenachoile Cafe Bar, shop for a souvenir and take a stroll by the shore, or bring the family for a cycle trip?
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Loch Katrine and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
952 reviews
Excellent
637
Very good
258
Average
39
Poor
12
Terrible
6

whonickedmyhalo
Glasgow, UK59 contributions
Sep 2022 • Couples
We had an itison deal and was amazing value for money. We stayed in Loch Arklet as we wanted en suite facilities. From the minute we arrived we fell in love, loch katrine is beautiful. We visited the cafe, had soup and toastie which was a bit pricey but expected in touristy places, tasted lovely and everything was fresh. I’ve uploaded a cafe menu as some menus online weren’t correct, not sure if it changes seasonally but not many options. We had a lovely cruise before check in and staff were very friendly and helpful. The pod itself, stunning! I fell in love with it. So cosy and comfortable, everything we needed, was quite warm at night but had a great fan in pod. Spotlessly clean, our pod had tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as milk pots. In the bathroom was shampoo, hand soap and shower gel. Wasn’t expecting all of these things but what a lovely touch. Area was peaceful and relaxing especially at night, we sat outside both nights and it was so nice. Only downside as people have mentioned is the WiFi, it’s not great at all. I like putting pics up on social media of my adventures but it struggled. It doesn’t put me off staying again as it was amazing but definitely something that could be improved if it’s logistically possible.
Written September 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karol_paris
Paris, France215 contributions
May 2022
After hot drinks at the lochside café (highly recommended) while waiting for the rain to subside, we set out for walks along the loch, each at his/her own pace. Although it was a Saturday afternoon, the path was not overcrowded, there were times when I was alone with the loch and its splendid views for quite some distance.
There is a little gift shop where you pay for parking tickets according to the length of time you intend to stay. I imagine that this shop could get crowded on a summer day!

We did not take the steamer so I can't judge whether it was worth it, but it does offer another way of seeing the loch.
Written May 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ScotlandJasper1
Edinburgh, UK42 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
I planned this as a day out for sick elderly relative so had paid attention to cruise frequency on web site to limit duration. Understandably, cruises were rationalized due to low attendance on the day. But...the customer service was exceptional. Advised of lift inop in cafe but recommended alrernative option in gift shop. Toilets handy to disabled spaces. Suggested we might get an earlier trip if demand appropriate and delighted to say that was the outcome. On board, care and attention on 'The Lady of the Lake' made boarding safe but unobtrusive. Commentary was great. Good info but good gaps to take in the beauty of the area. Only downside was that we missed the longer cruise. It is lovely and 1 hour is just not enough . Thankyou.
Written June 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Loraine C
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom29 contributions
Oct 2020
Booked one of the motorhome hook up points for two nights (Friday to Sunday ). £18 a night for a parking spot with a tap and electric, no waste drop or chemical toilet emptying point. Apparently they load so much electricity that should do you, we ran out of electric on the Saturday night at 9pm. No contact number or anyone who could rectify it. Only given an emergency number. When asked about this on the Sunday morning was told that they load what they think should be enough for the two nights. I complained that we were not told this on booking to be told oh well maybe the manager will need to look at this. Went to the cafe for a cooked breakfast , one person serving only three Tables in ,ordered waited 3/4 of an hour for a warm breakfast not hot. Cafe was freezing cold everyone sitting with coats on rapped up Staff on the whole were very unhelpful and uninterested won’t be going back. Lots of other places in the area with happy, helpful staff.
Written October 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Loch Katrine. You are correct we do not have a waste/chemical drop on site. We do not offer these services on our site and are able to give directions to a site nearby who offer this. The emergency number you had was the number to the staff member who would have been able to help you at 9pm. The problem was indeed brought up with the manager who managed to rectify the problem. If you had visited the cafe in he morning then it may have been chilly as it is a large building and it takes a while to heat up fully. We have less staff at the moment due to the covid situation and so we are unable to staff our site fully at the moment. I apologise for your experience and hope you continue to enjoy the rest of beautiful Scotland.
Written November 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

francey75
Glasgow, UK158 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
We stayed in one of the Eco Lodges on the banks of Loch Katrine on Sat 25th Jan 2020. I booked the lodge online. We paid £45 for 1 night for two people. The lodge was not en-suite but was perfect for us. The toilet and shower block was right beside the lodge and was clean and ideal. The lodge itself had a sofa which converted into a double bed and a set of bunks which we used to store our waking gear. There is a kettle, toaster, microwave (with grill), fridge and a full set of cups/plates and cutlery. The lodge also has a tv and there is basic wi-fi. Check in is provided as 3pm however we arrived around 10am and were warmly greeted by staff in the Loch shop and given our key as the lodge was not booked from the night before. There are lodges which are en-suite and I think they are around £100 per night but to be honest the £45 lodge was great.

We also booked a sailing on the Loch. Great staff on board the Lady of the Lake. Discounted fare as we were staying in the Eco Lodges (£10 each for the sailing which was good value for an 1 hour sailing)

Ben A’an and Ben Venue starting point car parks are 5min away from the Loch Katrine lodges hence our visit.

Overall I would recommend a stay in the lodges, a sail on the Lady of the Lake and a visit to Loch Katrine
Written January 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you choose us again for another visit.
Written January 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

philipb310
East Kilbride, UK16 contributions
May 2022
Loch Katrine Eco Pods…We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Eco Pods and would like to say what a fantastic place it is.The loch and surrounding areas are totally stunning with jaw dropping landscapes all around,we took bikes with us and cycled every day along the North Shore Road to Stromnalacher Pier and Cafe (well worth the effort but quite a hilly run if you aren’t too fit)
Our pod was very cozy with underfloor heating and en-suite bathroom with shower and heated towel rails.
Everything was first class with our accommodation and even got a welcoming pack with some goodies and wine for starting off.

Only one thing that might trouble some people is that there is a rule which requires dog owners to keep their dog on a lead within the pod area….we did notice a guy who had two very large and quite boisterous dogs that were allowed to run about the area…..staff appeared to turn a blind eye until I think a new arrival complained about it and an hour later the guy seemed to take the huff and left …..Your dogs might be your pride and joy but not everyone is a doggie lover so please respect the rules as some children might be frightened by your pooch……Staff should be proactively advising the rules.

Fantastic holiday and weather was also great for our stay..

Took a cruise on the Loch which is also a must do……a lot less noisy than Loch Lomond with no jet skiing and pleasure craft so we will definitely be back again
Written May 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rebecca B
5 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
We have just spent two fabulous nights in the wonderful eco lodges at Loch Katrine. Whilst the drive up was rather wet and sky’s grey we arrived to a warm inviting welcome and made to feel instantly at home. The lodges are in the most picturesque setting and were well equipped with everything you needed for a relaxing break away. We stayed in the en-suite Loch Venachar cabin which is also one of the dog friendly accommodations to which our small Maltipoo Oscar was very glad of. The lodge was spacious with a sofa which could fold out to a double bed, a kitchenette with combo microwave, kettle and toaster, a comfortable double bed and a sparkling clean en-suite with large shower - and we can’t forget the underfloor heating which was very toasty in the morning. We booked as part of an itison deal which included a breakfast pack and we had completely forgotten about so it was a nice surprise! The lodges are only a 5 minute drive from Ben A’an which is a great climb with stunning views at the top.

Overall this was a wonderful stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to anyone and can’t wait for a chance to return.
Written March 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

gg2016101213
Edinburgh, UK3 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
Worst holiday ever experienced nit good for young kids 1hr wait for breakfast and only 8 people using it. No highchairs provided when bbq no not safe. Boat ride experience poor made kids wait to get on last. no buggie wheelchair facilities. Staff rude. Damp towels. No shower areas. No shelter in raining. Only 2 swings. Staff kept £50 deposit for cleaning absolutely shocking experience left early because sooo stuffy in lodge beds uncomfortable. would not recommend to all.not even 1 star
Written August 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. Where to begin with this one. First of all we do have shower facilities situated in our main car park which you can book through out the day and are cleaned after every individual has used it. The lodge that you left (on the day you were due to check out) was left in an unacceptable condition. Litter was strewn all over lodge with an over flowing bin, dirty nappies left, dishes left in sink and food left in the dirty fridge. Due to covid-19 we ask guests to bag all sheets and towels and left in lodge to protect our house keepers. Not only was this not done but the sheets were left on the duvets and pillows forcing our staff to strip them by hand and putting them at risk. There was also drawings left on the wall which you had denied as you explained you did not have pens/crayons with you. However, the drawings were made with a lipstick which was matched to the wall. I am not sure what you mean about the BBQ being unsafe but our BBQs are very safe and gas only to protect the area as it is a SSSI site. I will also add that you did not clean your BBQ and was left for our house keeper. The heavy picnic bench was dragged over the entrance to your lodge which required 2 staff members to remove, the reason for this we are still trying to figure out. You were given only 2 towels when you arrived and so our housekeeper brought you extra for the rest of your stay. These towels are professionally cleaned and dried by a separate company and we have had no other complaints of this.. Due to the extra amount of time and effort required to have the lodge ready for the next guests, the guests were un-able to check in at 4pm and had to be offered complimentary items to apologise. For these reasons and the added risk to our staffs health is why we kept your £50 house keeping deposit. We suggest having more consideration for the staff at the next place you visit.
Written August 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

loopylyn
Surrey510 contributions
Jan 2020
We decided to go on The Sir Walter Scott on New Years day for a 1 hour cruise, although it was raining, we all managed to all get inside out of the horrible weather. They had a fantastic Ceilidh Band of board, which got everyone singing and tapping their feet. We were offered a wee dram of whisky, although I could not have it as I was driving , my husband enjoyed it . The Captain got up and danced with a couple of the ladies, and we all sang Auld Lang Syne at the end. What a way to start the New Year. Our thanks go to the captain and the crew for giving us a cruise to remember. Happy New Year to you all and thank you.
Written January 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your New Year sail with us. The staff enjoyed it as much as our passengers. We hope to see you again in the future.
Written January 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Da-Reeds
Bo'ness, UK57 contributions
Mar 2022 • Couples
We decided to visit Loch Katrine and take advantage of their cruise with afternoon tea.
The cruise sets off from the Trossachs pier, wich is set in the most stunning area between Callander and Aberfoyle.
The cruise was accompanied with an onboard commentary offering historical information of the area on the banks of Loch Katrine. It lasted aprox one hour.
We had our afternoon tea once we disembarked the boat, in the cafe next to the pier.
One of the most important aspect to to the cruise was, it is doggy friendly.
Written March 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 841
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Loch Katrine (Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Loch Katrine

Loch Katrine is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Loch Katrine tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 5 Loch Katrine tours on Tripadvisor



Restaurants near Loch Katrine: View all restaurants near Loch Katrine on Tripadvisor