We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toad Hall Country Vintage

43 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Toad Hall Country Vintage

43 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
43Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 24
  • 11
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Norman Lewis wrote a review Oct 2019
Great Torrington, United Kingdom428 contributions228 helpful votes
This is basically a cold warehouse on the outskirts of town with limited parking. We sought it out as a small detour on a journey home but weren't very impressed. The downstairs area is dominated by painted furniture and chi-chi artisan stuff which is neither antique nor vintage. The much-praised coffee shop is no more. Upstairs is basically clothes which are not well laid out and there is a lot of empty space. We weren't necessarily expecting quality antiques but "country vintage" suggests more than this disappointing offering.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kelly a wrote a review Aug 2018
Umberleigh, United Kingdom73 contributions40 helpful votes
l visit here quite frequently and the stock is always changing! I love the quirky feel of the place, so many different stalls, lots to see! I've bought quite a few individual interesting items and will be returning many times to come! Always plenty of free parking outside, toilets if needed, shame the cafe area closed, but then town is only down the road with about 15 places to get a coffee, so doesn't put me off, I come to browse and buy any way lol.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sally74408 wrote a review May 2018
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
Since moving to the area recently we can't stop visiting! We have bought several things each time and are so glad we found it in order to furnish our new home. The staff have been so helpful and friendly, both in the shop and when I have called asking for measurements of a piece of furniture. I am rather surprised to see the two previous reviews. This wasn't my experience what so ever, and have visited the other places mentioned and Toad Hall is far superior, especially the quality of the items and the beautiful, bright layout. The prices are all very reasonable and we shall certainly stay regular customers. Very pleased we found Toad Hall!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2018
Helpful
Share
mollytabitha2016 wrote a review May 2018
Bournemouth, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
I quite like the various Molly Den's so thought this would be right up my street but actually I just found it small and quite tatty. Didn't find anything I wanted to buy which is very rare for me as I usually love all things vintage and quirky. The overwhelming sensation was cold though ... so Very Very Cold!! Now, that is very rare for me to say anywhere is cold as I am of that certain age where I am permanently hot. That's how cold it was! We just couldn't bear to stay long. (this visit was a few weeks ago) Sure it was warmer outside. When we arrived popped into the toilets and unfortunately found out rather late that there was no toilet roll. Not sure I like the sound of the owner by reading other people's reviews either. He seems very defensive of any comment he doesn't like or agree with. These are potential customers opinions and would be wise to give a bit more consideration to points raised - constructive feedback could improve business. Don't just reply to be defensive either - how about thanking some of the people who have left you lovely feedback.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from wimborneE, Owner at Toad Hall Country Vintage
Responded May 9, 2018
Hi Molly, Thanks for the feedback, perhaps your taste is more suited to mollys den. It doesn't match the general feedback we get though if im honest, but yes it can get cold in the winter months, we have extremely low rates for pitches, and installing a heating system throughout would mean that in order to operate as a business, the pitch fees would be to high for people to afford, so we encourage people to dress warm. If you visit the other places you enjoy so much on the same day, you will find the temperature exactly the same as in Toad Hall, but im sure you know that anyway as you frequent them so often. Regarding the toilet roll, there is a clear sign on the wall, in full view, stating that if the toilet roll isn't full, just to ask a amber of staff. We have left spares out previously, but for some reason they were being stolen. Can you give us feedback on how to prevent this, and we will gladly implement it. Ads for not liking the sound of me, well sorry, I am defensive of unfair reviews based on taste and toilet paper. It is a family run business, that we all work extremely hard at, are honest, and go the extra mile for a our traders and our customer base who appreciate what we try to offer. Its easy for people not to see all the graft we do behind the scenes, and just criticise on other more trivial items, so while your feedback is appreciated I wouldn't call it constructive as to be honest, unless it comes from someone who understands the day to day running of this type of business, then its just an opinion, of which you are of course entitled to. I know I'm not everyones cup of tea, but you cant please all the people all the time. And for our customers and traders who get and appreciate Toad Hall, myself and my staff are grateful as always. Best Regards
Read more
brianhalesuk wrote a review Apr 2018
Ferndown, United Kingdom50 contributions21 helpful votes
Unfriendly STAFF no hello , or good morning . VERY cold no heating . The staff need to take a look at Longham to see how it should be done and how to make people welcome . My first and ONLY visit
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from wimborneE, Owner at Toad Hall Country Vintage
Responded May 2, 2018
Hi brian, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Toad Hall, I must say thats the first I've heard of my staff being unfriendly, its normally quite the opposite that I hear. It may well have been that the staff were busy dealing with sales or helping customers with purchases, which is what they are there for after all. Its also pretty clear that you have some sort of affiliation with longham, and its a bit underhand to do this in a "review" I believe you visited on what was a cold day, and it is an industrial unit, not shopping centre, and we have never tried to disguise that. Its a shame that people who seem to take offence about not being made to feel "welcome" feel the need to leave a one star review for a business based on something so trivial, when in fact the parts of the business that are important, we do so well at. To head your review "AVOID" because of no hello, doesn't seem like a grounded review in my opinion. Best Regards.
Read more
Previous
1234569
Frequently Asked Questions about Toad Hall Country Vintage