We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woolacombe Surf Centre

Woolacombe, United Kingdom
More
About Woolacombe Surf Centre
Woolacombe Surf Centre is Woolacombe's highest rated & qualified surf school / water sports provider! Professionally run & based in the heart of Woolacombe, North Devon. WSC is accredited as a ‘Centre of Excellence’ by Surfing England, the highest attainable level. All our coaches are fully qualified instructors & beach lifeguards with many years coaching experience with a true passion for surfing and watersports. We operate our surf lessons on the beautiful Woolacombe Beach, awarded the best beach in the UK 2015 & 2016. With 3 miles of golden sand facing the Atlantic we have a great learning environment for surfing. Our kayaking and coasteering trips are hosted on the breathtaking coastline of North Devon. We also offer top quality surf hire equipment, from surfboards, bodyboards, wetsuits right through to stand up paddle boards (SUP'S) and kayaks. All sessions are 2.5 hours long which include all equipment required and coaching throughout, we also take photos (FREE) with our in water camera to immortalise you finest surfing moments!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

Woolacombe Surf Centre
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
891Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 845
  • 35
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jenny F wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Review of: Surf Lesson
We have been using Woolacombe Surf Centre for the last three years and surfing is the highlight of our holiday. The equipment is top quality, the wetsuits are toasty warm (which I was worried about being cold, but didn't even notice the water!). We have had a different instructors but they have all been so fantastic and friendly which really helps! they are also very knowledgable and have helped us each year we come to progress! (even though we have not surfed since last year and I have terrible balance lol) The free photos are a bonus too, some hilarious 'wipeouts' and some profile pic worthy surfing shots too! thanks team, see you in 2022!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WoolacombeSurfCentre, Manager at Woolacombe Surf Centre
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Ah awesome! thanks Jenny, it was our pleasure! you guys are always so much fun to surf with, glad you enjoy it so much. There was some great progression all round this year too which is lovely to see! See you guys in 2022!!
Read more
Tanooki m wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Review of: Surf Lesson
We had a couple lessons with the guys from Woolacombe Surf Centre, family of 4 (youngest 12, eldest 14 and us oldies!) we did not know what to expect but it was so much fun! The kids took to it very quickly, took us a bit longer but had so much fun, we all got to our feet and they managed to get some brill action shots too! We are hooked and be back for sure :)
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WoolacombeSurfCentre, Manager at Woolacombe Surf Centre
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Amazing, really great feedback, thank you so much. We are super glad you enjoyed your week surfing with us, it was our pleasure! see you next time :)
Read more
SCMEParsons wrote a review Nov 2021
Chesterfield, United Kingdom41 contributions15 helpful votes
Booked a surf lesson whilst on half term holiday fir our children. Advertised as 2 hour lesson, only got just 60 minutes in the water. Two late comers to the lesson, staff made everyone else wait for them to get ready rather than getting the walk to the beach started and tell them yo catch up that wasted a good 10 to 15 minutes. One of our children to a board to the head and there was blood the instructure did a quick check on her and then carried on this was not told to her parents when we went to pick them up. Very poor value money, poor customer service and questionable first aid procedures.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from WoolacombeSurfCentre, Manager at Woolacombe Surf Centre
Responded Nov 9, 2021
Hi Steven We are sorry to hear you do not feel like you got enough water time for your session, we did get going 5 minutes later than planned due to the other booking being late, we ran this by you and said we would add the time to the end of the session so you did not miss out. For the session itself the conditions were on the more extreme side, it is late October so the swells and winds are much more meaningful, on this day we had a large and increasing swell running and very strong winds, this combined with dropping tide meant the conditions were deteriorating throughout the session and becoming more challenging. After about an hour the coaches witnessed several near misses where the wind and surf took the boards uncontrollably into the air and nearly hitting others the group. Many were getting tired due to the challenging conditions and struggling to keep control of the board at this point. The wind was increasing to a level where it is unsafe to have novices with large boards in rough seas so the decision was made by both coaches to call the session approx. 20 mins early. Calling sessions early is very rare, and not taken lightly, it is only done for safety reasons, we would rather your group came back safe and in one piece than had the full session time and a potential injury. It is a continual risk assessment when running surf lessons and the ocean is organic and changing constantly, it our job to manage this and facilitate a safe learning environment. One of your instructors is a part time instructor and full time RNLI Lifeguard, so few know the beach better. This was communicated to the group on the beach at the time. So we are sorry you felt you did not have the full time but it is not a straightforward as perhaps you think. However I am disappointed you could not speak to us on the day so we could explain or try to remedy the situation for you. Sessions are not advertised as 2 hours water time, but 2 hours from start to finish. On a side note, for a small seasonal business in a Covid year, with businesses being closed, massive staff shortages and covid ripping through small communities like Woolacombe creating more shortages due to isolating, made 2021 a very difficult year for WSC as well as many others in Woolacombe. We have found most customers to be very understanding and communicative to maintain a balance for all involved. Leaving negative reviews 3 weeks after the booking, over communicating with us at the time makes it very difficult to address your concerns.
Read more
Claire B wrote a review Oct 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom25 contributions14 helpful votes
Review of: Surf Lesson
Booked 4 teens for a 2hr lesson. Arrived 15mins before time - as we were told - for changing. Sadly another family didn't and arrived at start time. Instead of making them responsible for getting to the beach the Company chose to delay the rest of the group. A walk to collect boards, then to the beach. Instructions were good and I felt the teens were all safe. Sadly, they were only in the water for 1hr and 5 mins out of the 2hrs! In fact we were back at out holiday accommodation on the outskirts of Woolacombe by 12.35pm! Lovely people and good instructors just didn't feel we had our moneys worth. Hunters gave a much better value for money when my nieces went with them.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from WoolacombeSurfCentre, Owner at Woolacombe Surf Centre
Responded Oct 31, 2021
We are sorry to hear you do not feel like you got enough water time for your session, we did get going 5 minutes later than planned due to the other booking being late, we ran this by you and said we would add the time to the end of the session so you did not miss out. For the session itself the conditions were on the more extreme side, it is late October so the swells and winds are much more meaningful, on this day we had a large and increasing swell running and very strong winds, this combined with dropping tide meant the conditions were deteriorating throughout the session and becoming more challenging. After about an hour the coaches witnessed several near misses where the wind and surf took the boards uncontrollably into the air and nearly hitting others the group. Many were getting tired due to the challenging conditions and struggling to keep control of the board at this point. The wind was increasing to a level where it is unsafe to have novices with large boards in rough seas so the decision was made by both coaches to call the session approx. 20 mins early. Calling sessions early is very rare, and not taken lightly, it is only done for safety reasons, we would rather your group came back safe and in one piece than had the full session time and a potential injury. It is a continual risk assessment when running surf lessons and the ocean is organic and changing constantly, it our job to manage this and facilitate a safe learning environment. One of your instructors is a part time instructor and full time RNLI Lifeguard, so few know the beach better. This was communicated to the group on the beach at the time. So we are sorry you felt you did not have the full time but it is not a straightforward as perhaps you think. However I am disappointed you could not speak to us on the day so we could explain or try to remedy the situation for you. On a side note, for a small seasonal business in a Covid year, with businesses being closed, massive staff shortages and covid ripping through small communities like Woolacombe creating more shortages due to isolating, made 2021 a very difficult year for WSC as well as many others in Woolacombe. We have found most customers to be very understanding and communicative to maintain a balance for all involved. Which makes your review and negative comments on our social media* the more disappointing, when you could of simply spoken to us, after all, we are ‘nice people’… * You quickly left a negative remark about not having any photos of your group on our social media, however you comment was on the wrong session time, which is why you couldn’t find them!
Read more
James T wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Review of: Surf Lesson
Simply, brilliant. I've had surf lessons in Cornwall, Devon (previously), South Wales and the Canary Islands. And today's lesson was really, really good. Frederick suggested a few key pointers and tweaks and I was getting up faster, more cleanly and starting to turn quite nicely in a very relaxed and natural way. Thanks to everyone at Woolacombe Surf Centre. Fred even managed to get a few good photos of me which convinced my wife I was actually surfing, from a distance at least ;-)
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WoolacombeSurfCentre, Manager at Woolacombe Surf Centre
Responded Oct 30, 2021
Thanks James, your reviews mean a lot to us at WSC! we really appreciate you writing them. you made great progression in your session, keep it up :) See you next time
Read more
Previous
123456
<