Woolacombe Beach

Woolacombe Beach: Address, Phone Number, Woolacombe Beach Reviews: 5/5

Woolacombe Beach
5
About
Woolacombe beach is family owned & family run with families in mind. We provide car parks, a lifeguard service, toilets, first aid and food and beach goods outlets.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
3,714 reviews
Excellent
3,046
Very good
510
Average
96
Poor
31
Terrible
31

nnkennaugh
Barnstaple, UK52 contributions
Jul 2021
This is one of our local beaches as we only live minutes away but is always great for a family day out. We tend to visit either side of the 6 weeks of the summer holidays to let all our visitors enjoy what we get to use all year round and to be honest, the best and sunniest days can be in June/early July and the sea is at its warmest in September so we are blessed. We spend the day on the beach up past the rocks as we take our dog with us but if you have children, the lifeguarded area is best and if no dog, nearer the facilities is probably easier. We then pack up around 4.00pm and head over to Barricane Beach for a Sri Lankan curry from Barricane Beach Cafe (cash only a no signal!) who serve one up every night from 5.00pm until 7.00pm or until they run out and we stay with a portable fire pit on the beach swimming, laughing, catching up with friends and watching the sunset which is magnificent as it sets off Lundy Island beautifully. I would also recommend once it starts to get dark, heading up into Mortehoe village and having a quick drink at The Ship Aground before heading home, it is what we do and we know we are so lucky to be living the dream in this beautiful part of the world and hope that all who visit enjoy it too and leave nothing but their footprints on the sand and if you have time, a little 2 minute beach clean before you depart would be so appreciated. As the poem goes: What is this life if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare. Enoy.
Written July 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

tizer2000uk
Guildford20 contributions
Aug 2020
Excellent facilities, great parking and an amazing beach!

Parking or at least the quantity of is good considering the size of the town but during peak periods is quickly filled up. We got around this by hitting the beach late afternoon (16:30 ish) as many early starters are leaving. This gives you the best of both worlds as the beach empties and cools slightly on hot days. The kids appreciate it more and eating dinner on the beach with the sun going down is quite magical. It is also large enough that social distancing is not an issue.

The beach cafe at the end of the beach at street level sells fantastic coffee and the food there we had was also excellent.
Written August 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

colin
Ipswich, UK4 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
What a lovely place, Sandy beach and shallow water makes it ideal for a family day out.
You must book a restaurant in advance as they all fill up very quickly, there is always fish & chips or the pizza van in the car park to fall back on.
Wonderful place to watch the sun set.
Written September 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen G
1 contribution
May 2021
I love Woolacombe .But the car park there is a absolute rip off. I visited it on May 3rd at about 4.30pm.I went for a walk with elderly friends one of which fell over so we had to go back to the car early.I was then charged £8 for that short stay.It is criminal to charge those prices.There is no facility for staying a short time like the system they have at Saunton Sands.You should only have to pay for the time you are there.
God knows what they are going to charge in the high season.
Sadly I will no longer visit Woolacombe while they are ripping people off that car park.Because they have the monopoly here with the car park they are charging too much.It is ok for people who wish to stay all day but not for people who wish to visit the lovely beach for a couple of hours.Shame on North Devon Council for letting this go on.Put in ticket machine here and let us pay for what we use.
Written May 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello and thank you for your review. I believe that you have already emailed me and that I have answered your points, so I am at risk of repeating myself here. I quite agree that we would be more user friendly if we could charge by the hour. However, we are a private company not a local authority so if we used pay and display machines and someone did not pay we do not have access to DVLA data and we do not have the powers to fine people either. There are two other options ie the system whereby you collect a ticket from a machine on entry and prior to leaving insert it in another machine, pay and then use that ticket at an exit barrier and the second is use of ANPR machines – auto number plate recognition. The former system requires the tickets to be pristine to be read and two companies have refused to sell them to us as tickets contaminated with sun cream, sand or simply damp would not be read. ANPR (as used at Saunton) is not an option either as in the height of the season visitors tend to arrive together and then leave at a similar time causing huge queues. ANPR relies on cars being well spaced as they approach the barriers and the number of parking spaces that we have (far more than Saunton) preclude that too. In addition, ANPR cannot read personalised or modified number plates which have customised spacing of their letter and numbers. So, our only option is our present system. Should you leave by 1pm the charge is half the day fee (£4 at the moment). Should you enter after 5pm then the charge is £4 until closure at 9pm. Should you enter after 1pm but prior to 5pm then you will incur the daily fee of £8 as you did. This is all well signed at the entrance. It should also be noted that it is our car park fees that enable us to pay £85k annually for the RNLI's seasonal lifeguards, keep the beach clean at an annual cost of £35k - £40k just to dispose of debris brought in by the sea, and £19k - £21k to dispose of the rubbish collected in our litter bins. The marine debris and litter costs do not include staff wages or the running costs of equipment that we use. We also provide first class public toilets that many reviewers comment on. I trust this response gives you more of an understanding of our operation.
Written May 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

HayleyBrailey
Hollingbourne, UK24 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
Great beach for a general beach day as well as water sports. We hired wet suits and body boards with ease and we spent 9 hours on this beach.

Water sports hire is right on the beach and reasonably priced, as well as deck chair and wind break hire.

Great for crabbing and lots of local places for ice cream and snacks. Reasonable car park right on the sea front too. £5 until 1 and £10 all day. Unlike Putsborough where we could only pay £9 for the day (we wanted to nip in a see the view and pay for a hour), woolacombe was reasonable.
Written August 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Holly
Marple, UK13 contributions
Jul 2020 • Friends
Amazing beach for both sunny and rainy days. On a sunny day it is a great spacious beach for sitting in the sun and going for a swim/bodyboard and the sunset is one of the best I’ve seen. If it’s raining take the 3mile walk to puttsburough beach and watch the local surfers/kit surfers in their element.
Written July 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SiBo1
Barnstaple, UK44 contributions
Feb 2020
Came to Woolacombe for the day again, mainly to walk along the beach without the summer visitors. The beach was actually very clean, the locals do beach cleans regularly and you can definitely see that. The car park for the day was cheap compared to town all day parking. There is limited parking on the street for free all day (mainly up the side roads) and short term free on the main street. Cash points are chargeable but the post office is in the Londis and will give you free cash. Most shops here seem to have no minimum on card payments which is good too. Being out of season some places were not open but that is surely to be expected in a small tourist village. The Red Barn pub and some shops were open and the Hunter Surf School as well. There is a great cafe up on the Marine Drive car park called the Porthole which does lovely coffees cakes and lunches, we would highly recommend going there and they have toilets behind the cafe, which as some were closed in Woolacombe (again to be expected out of season) was useful. This place is beautiful in the summer sun, and in the winter with high waves and scudding clouds it's absolutely stunning.
Written February 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ellie
24 contributions
Jun 2021 • Couples
Me and my partner went for 2 days in a row and spent my birthday on the beach , we arrived around 10am and parked on the car park which was £8 parking but that was for all day , which isn’t really that bad?

There were many beach shops for toys and a range of beach equipment to buy. We arrived on the beach with our tent we brought and our beach mat and the sand is absolutely gorgeous , my feet literally sunk in the sand and was so golden. The most beautiful beach I’ve been on in the UK. We went body surfing in the sea which was royal blue , it was the clearest water I’ve seen in the UK and was very clean. There were huge rock pools with many crabs and little animals for the children to see and catch. The view was beautiful and the beach wasn’t too rowdy. It was very busy but as expected in the sun? Many lifeguards on the beach looking over the sea at all times and monitoring the tides while advising surfers to be careful.
Would go back again and again, beautiful!
Written June 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

YorkieCarla
Amesbury, UK2 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
Fantastic day out, with our 4 month old little one. We arrived at 10.30am and still plenty of parking. £10 which is to be paid upon leaving, they accept contactless or the correct change.

Accessing the beach was easy even with a pram, despite it being scorching and a very popular day to hit the beach there was plenty of space. The dry sand near the main entrance was pretty busy but a couple of mins walk and we were spoilt for choice. We settled on some of the damp sand where there was a lovely breeze, the coolest we have been in days. We went in the dog friendly section where they are kept on leads and had no bother at all. The area monitored by the RNLI was also much bigger than I expected. We went for a paddle, the water was much warmer than we expected.

There are lots of options food wise, with some places having a queue but they were short and moved quickly.

A lovely day out, we will definitely be coming back.
Written July 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your kind review. We are a small family company and we try our best.
Written July 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Piddlerpete
Harrogate, UK22 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
Close this operation, total rip off charging £10 and waiting 11/2 hours to get out of a field . Staff could not give a toss , they took the money of drivers as they left the car park , imagine 1200 cars having to pay one attendant. Utter chaos. Do not use , cowboys…
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We own two car parks adjacent the beach and about 400 metres up the hill is Marine Drive car park operated by Mortehoe Parish Council. The problem is not exiting the car parks but getting on to the road when we have an occasional exodus from the beach. The main problem is the visitors who stop on Challacombe Road’s clearway to load and unload passengers and their kit on and off the beach. It reduces the Challacombe Road to one lane and the log jam begins. Challacombe Road was made a clearway in 1989 for this very reason, but despite the repeater signs advising no stopping/parking they are largely ignored. Initially the clearway was policed by the police, but since parking was decriminalised several years ago it is under the domain of Devon County Council who are the Highway Authority. We rarely see their parking officers in the village and as they have to be back in Barnstaple by 5pm so we do not see them when they are most needed on the clearway. We are very aware of the issue as we are towing our trailers off the beach at these times as indeed we were that day. We leave the beach slipway, turn right onto Challacombe Rd and then enter our Sandy Burrows car park on the left to access our depot. We then leave the depot via our village entrance to drive back to the beach again via Challacombe Rd. On the odd occasion that we have had an officer in place preventing people pulling up the traffic flows beautifully. We have requested on many occasions for it to be policed regularly during the main season as I believe has MPC. Nevertheless we have had no joy to date despite me pointing out the dangers of the lack of access for emergency vehicles. To conclude, the cars that stopped to load stretched over 50 metres from our slipway towards our Esplanade entrance, and in the opposite direction were well past our Sandy Burrows car park entrance about 50/60 metres away. This thoughtless parking on a clearway so very effectively caused the problem that you experienced. Sadly, I feel it will take a fatality caused by inconsiderate parking to achieve a solution ie policing of Challacombe Rd clearway.
Written August 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,684
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Woolacombe Beach