We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hill House Nursery

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Review Highlights
Relaxed plant haven with top notch cafe.

Sat 11th May 2019 - I visited the cafe first and had a wonderful 'cream cheese tea' - a large... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Simonboo67
Unique old worldly garden centre

Such a lovely change from the corporate sterile garden centres. It is like visiting a friends house... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
chocolateeclaire
,
England
Read all 51 reviews
All photos (16)
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good25%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“garden centre”(9 reviews)
“cake”(9 reviews)
About
This is a family run plant Nursery set in nearly 6 acres, 2.5 of which are a garden originally laid out by Edward Hyams, a famous plantsman and garden writer of the 50s and 60s. The Nursery is owned & run by Matthew Hubbard and most of our stock is...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:45 PM
See all hours
Contact
| Landscove nr Ashburton Devon, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7LY, England
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
34
13
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
34
13
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden centre cake unusual plants home grown pot of tea helpful staff church compost stock greenhouse conservatory pots route
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sat 11th May 2019 - I visited the cafe first and had a wonderful 'cream cheese tea' - a large homemade cheese scone with cream cheese, pickle, salad and a pot of tea. Fabulous combination - not too big and not too small - perfect...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Simonboo67
Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a lovely change from the corporate sterile garden centres. It is like visiting a friends house who just happens to have some lovely gardens and green houses full of wonderful plants. Admittedly you do have to pay for the food ( your friend would...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank chocolateeclaire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you can’t enjoy this peaceful timeless paradise then there’s something wrong with you! Always helpful friendly staff.thankyou

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank stilldisgruntled
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

After a 45 minute wait for just 3 cream teas they still didn’t arrive , awful cafe and service . Asked for a refund and then left .More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Ard400
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

I have talked to the Tea Room manager and to two of the staff working that day. Their recollection would certainly dispute 45 minutes. However, it was Mothering Sunday and we were rushed off our feet although we had four people waiting at table. Over...More

Reviewed January 6, 2019

I am sorry to give this nursery a bad review but I checked online to see the opening times and after a 45 minute drive we arrived to see the nursery was closed until 7th January! Suggest it is posted online that it is shut...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank none190802
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

I'm at a loss to understand this as we most certainly put that information online via Facebook and Twitter, as well as our web site. It was also on posters in the Tea Room a month before we closed. The majority of our advertising states...More

Reviewed December 2, 2018

If you want a perfect Sunday afternoon in a garden centre you can't go wrong here. Privately owned, family run, very high quality plants in a wonderful location and a great cafe in a fab setting. What more could you ask for?More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank s w
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

That's such a nice critique to receive, thank you! Our tea room IS wonderful and as I don't cook for it, I can boast about it! But it is seasonal 1st March to 30th September are its opening dates. I hope you will return and...More

Reviewed November 7, 2018

Particularly good for salvias. Proper nursery with home grown stock. Next to the church makes it ravishingly pretty too. Wonderful selection of plantsMore

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lucyfenwick
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

Thank you! It's unique and I think this is why so many of our customers enjoy it so much. It would be hard to find anything more English in the way of a nursery than this and as you say, having the church next door...More

Reviewed August 13, 2018

What more could you ask for. Lovely tea room, sitting inside or out. Some lovely plants of all sorts. Now a lovely flower cut garden attached too, and they sell compost, pots and have antique outdoor things too. Near a nice church to visit, and...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Hannah B
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

We couldn't agree more! Thank you for such a lovely review and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed July 19, 2018

Brilliant nursery with cafe and church nearby in lovely countryside a few hours spent relaxing and enjoying the whole experience.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Ness28
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

So glad you enjoyed your visit. Many people tell us how relaxing they find it here and we like to see our customers enjoying themselves.

Reviewed February 4, 2018

I was looking for plants which would flourish next to our river - the owners were very knowledgeable and most helpful - and the coffee in the coffee shop was lovely!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank YoungatheartBrighton
hillhousenursery, Public Relations Manager at Hill House Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

We're very glad you enjoyed your visit to us and that we were able to help you. We hope to see you again - the Tea Room opens 1st March! Thank you for your kind remarks.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The Dartmoor Lodge
622 reviews
2.30 miles away
Lavender House Hotel
436 reviews
2.69 miles away
Bulleigh Park Farm
36 reviews
3.79 miles away
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
38 reviews
4.06 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 22 nearby restaurants
The Riverford Field Kitchen
750 reviews
.99 miles away
Dining at The Sea Trout Inn
260 reviews
1.94 miles away
Cafe Michele
105 reviews
2.17 miles away
Salmon Leap Cafe and Antique
205 reviews
1.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 15 nearby attractions
Crag 2 Mountain
155 reviews
2.41 miles away
Dartmoor Walks & Rides This Way
76 reviews
2.44 miles away
Dartington Hall Estate and Gardens
387 reviews
2.81 miles away
Leather School
68 reviews
2.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sylviaj6
May 12, 2016|
Answer
Response from hillhousenursery | Property representative |
Please take a look at our web site (Google Hill House Nursery) and go to the Tender section. I'm afraid Trip Advisor doesn't allow me to post web links! If you don't see what you're looking for, it's always worth ringing... More
0
Votes