River Dart Country Park

River Dart Country Park, Ashburton: Hours, Address, River Dart Country Park Reviews: 4.5/5

River Dart Country Park
4.5
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Write a review
About
Set in 90 acres of parkland within Dartmoor National Park, the River Dart Country Park is one of Devon’s best-loved family tourist attractions and campsites. The park is packed with activities, so get here early for a great day out, or stay longer, and explore Devon, from our award-winning campsite and holiday park!
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
630 reviews
Excellent
402
Very good
150
Average
44
Poor
19
Terrible
16

westonsupermud
127 contributions
Family
After hearing about this place from many of my friends we stayed here over the Bank Holiday, well what can I say, what an amazing place to bring your kids. Plenty to occupy them throughout the day with the river water park, massive play area and cycle paths. The activities are a little on the dear side at £19 per person for the high ropes, but why not when you're on holiday. We did find the Sawmill Pub a little frustrating, no notices of where or how to order, got told very rudely to get out when we walked in and told to order from a table, which was all well and good if there was one free, so hung around for 15 mind until one became free, once ordered with the table app, we then waited another 50 mins for the food to arrive, extremely average and the pizza was literally dripping with so much sauce all the topping slid off when you picked it up, not great. But overall, we were really happy with the place and will be back, bar a visit to the Sawmill.
Written August 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your River Dart experience with us. It's excellent to hear that you had a fantastic time during your recent visit. Thank you also for your feedback on the Old Sawmill, we value your comments and will look at this going forward. We hope to see you again in the near future! Best wishes, Gareth
Written August 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robert F
Ipswich, UK11 contributions
Family
Stayed in a tent for five nights, nice pitches with good facilities, freezers for ice packs and ironing facilities also available. There is so much for children to do, most of it has already been mentioned, cycle tracks are great too. We found the restaurant food very tasty and reasonably priced, enjoyed a few lovely meals in their garden. Not all pitches are flat so worth mentioning when making the booking if this is important to you. Overall, couldn’t fault it, and hoping to go back next summer.
Written October 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning! Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Excellent to learn that you will be heading back for more fun next summer too, we look forward to welcoming you then. Best wishes, Gareth
Written October 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AlexinMunich
Bristol, UK57 contributions
Family
We have 2 young children and have been here twice as day visitors. I have to say it's an absolutely excellent family day out! There are so many activities for the kids to do, including the lake with pirate ship and obstacle course, the toddler beach, the adventure playground with obstacle course, play fort and zip wires, and low ropes. I think there is also a biking trail, though we've never used it. There are other paid activities, such as high ropes, boating and climbing, but you need to book early to get these slots on popular days and they can be a bit pricey/overpriced. Food is a little limited, so worth planning ahead. Indoor areas currently closed due to COVID. However, I would definitely recommend as a family day out! What's more, it's in beautiful, well maintained and landscaped surroundings, even if you just fancied a walk around the estate and to sit somewhere away from the crowds.
Written June 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We take great pride in ensuring our visitors have the best time, and to hear that you enjoyed your visit is fantastic. We hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Gareth
Written June 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kate
10 contributions
Family
We had a lovely break at River Dart, the site is great and our kids loved it.
The lake was the highlight of course and they loved the open spaces to play.
If you are after a relaxing site however I would not recommend it here! Very noisy, big groups with little regard for curfew. It didn't bother us too much, we tend to stay up fairly late anyway and we had nice neighbours but be prepared if you stay here, its loud til 11.30 and starts again at 7am..earlier sometimes!
The restaurant/bar was nice but we didn't eat here only had a drink and game of pool.
I can recommend the Red Mullet 10 minutes away in Ashburton for fish and chips..fantastic, but phone your order through first as it gets really busy.
The high ropes were pricey at £21 for a circuit. My kids did it in about 40 mins and compared to Go Ape down the road it's not great value. Climbing wall was good as was the adventure play and low ropes.
The main thing that really does let this site down is the filthy toilet/shower block in Woodlands where we stayed...it was appalling and needs to be addressed. Rarely any soap and checked/cleaned far too seldomly for the volume of people using it. The standard of cleaning is also totally inadequate. I used the Meadows amenities slightly further on as they were marginally better. Due to this my review is one less than it otherwise would have been.
Overall, shower block aside, this is a good site a lovely setting and we had a great time here.
Written June 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the park and really appreciate your feedback. As part of our terms and conditions, we ask that visitors keep noise to a level that will not disturb other visitors at all times. With no noise after 11pm. Our campsite security team are always on hand to help out with any issues including noise. We also ask visitors to please notify a staff member if any facilities are found untidy. We can then ensure it is attended to as swiftly as possible. The team takes great pride in cleanliness standards and are continuously checking facilities to make sure they are clean and suitable for use. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Best wishes, Gareth
Written June 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Filiz Y
Taunton, UK33 contributions
Firstly I wrote this complaint to River Dart management more than 2 weeks ago and have been ignored by them.

We visited River Dart Country Park on 26th June. When we arrived, it seemed like a very nice place so we thought we would have a great day. As we were heading towards the play area, my friend, my husband and I decided to take away tea and coffee from Sawmills Cafe. As we were placing our order, my husband decided to get some crisps which were placed on a table at an easy reach for customers. We always read the packaging before we eat anything, also as the table was low, even reading the flavours of the crisps were not very easy and my husband handled 1 or 2 packages only to be told off by one of the staff not in a very pleasant manner. The staff asked him only to touch what he was going to buy otherwise they would have to sanitise the crisps. I don’t understand how he was supposed to buy what he was going eat without reading what it was first. Imagine supermarkets say the same thing to all of us?? Also why would the snacks be right where customers can touch? We were shocked by this treatment and my husband left the crisp corner without buying any crisps.

We were given oat milk to add to our tea so my husband went to one of the tables inside the café and started to add the milk to his tea on it. The same staff asked him not to use the table but use the other table right next to that one, again in an unpleasant way. At this time my friend and I were still at the till and felt quite disturbed by the unreasonable rules and attitude.

The staff was giving me my tea and I said to her, “You just touched our tea, should we feel the need to sanitise our cups?”. While we were expected to find sense in the rules of the Park Cafe, the staff didn’t want to find sense in what I said. Yes it was not sensible, nor were the rules of the café and the attitude. My friend joined the conversation and pointed out the whole thing was a bit over the top. She said to the staff, “All the children are playing in the play area and they are all touching everything.” Although this should have made sense to the staff, it possibly did, she said, “Other customers are fine with the rules.” And I said to her, “Maybe they just don’t say anything.”.

After this, my friend’s cup’s lid was broken so she asked for a replacement lid and she went on to hand the broken lid to the staff and the staff replied again with attitude, “No, I can’t touch it.”. At this point, we were really taken aback and decided to leave before we were told off for anything else.

In all the places we go these days, we have never seen anything like this especially where people are playing on top of each other. We left River Dart after 5pm and were quite hungry. We didn’t even dare to go near their café. Instead we went to another restaurant in Newton Abbot. We had a pleasant evening meal and no one was told off by the staff for anything.
Written July 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good afternoon, We are sorry to hear that you feel you had an unpleasant experience while visiting the Park. We take customer service, visitor and staff safety, very seriously indeed. Your feedback is very important to us and has now been passed on to the management team. Best wishes, Gareth
Written July 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete B
1 contribution
Couples
We’ve come to river dart many many times over the past 8 years. This visit was by far the worst. The pitch wasn’t great but still a good size just frustrating we got put on such a bad pitch when they had loads of better empty ones. Main issue would be the food from The Old Sawmill. £15 for take away nachos which were inedible and went straight in the bin and £9.50 for 2 sausages accompanied by about 10 chips which all tastes like it had been under a warmer for hours. The site itself is always a nice place to visit but I would advise anyone to avoid the on-site food. While we were at the old sawmill there must have been at least 3 complaints and food sent back so it wasn’t just us.
Written July 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your pitch during your recent visit. If we have availability on a preferable pitch at the time of your visit, we are always happy to help as best as we can to make your stay more enjoyable. We take great pride in our food and drink selection and are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food you received. We kindly ask that if there are any issues with food, please inform a staff member and the team will do their very best to put this right for you. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes, Gareth
Written July 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

diz7804
Dorchester, UK65 contributions
Family
Just returned from a 10 day break at River Dart, this is my 9th year of visiting the park with friends and our children, we were so pleased that the park opened. The park was immaculate (as always) though extra cleaning had been put into place, showers and toilets were cleaned frequently with hand sanitizer stations dotted around the park. The lake was busy a couple of times during the mid afternoon, but the park is so big with so much to do that you can wander off to explore
something new then pop back later.
We used the Sawmills restaurant a couple of times and the food was lovely.
We did notice that their were stricter guidelines on noise levels this year,the noise curfew is meant to be 11pm though we were asked to keep quiet a few times as early as 9.30 pm and I don't feel that we were being overly noisy. At 11pm you are asked to make zero noise (whispering level) we respected this though some people may find this difficult.
I asked my friends 10 year old daughter what she enjoyed most about her holiday and her reply was "forgetting that the Coronavirus is out there."
Thank you R.D and your team for another fabulous holiday, we are a mixture of NHS staff, Emergency workers,Teachers and Social workers and this was such a welcome break. Stay safe and see you next year.
Written August 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you very much for sharing this with us, the team will be very pleased to hear these great comments. To learn that you have been returning to River Dart over the years is also brilliant! Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again next year! Best wishes, Gareth
Written August 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sam H
1 contribution
Family
I never leave reviews but the River Dart country park has left me absolutely stunned. It is incredible how you can charge £53 for a family of 4 plus a dog (which alone cost £5) to enter the park for 1 day. There were a couple of (very tired looking) play areas but none of us could see how you could justify such a high cost. We live near Alice Holt country park which pretty much offers the same play equipment (to a much higher standard) and there you simply pay for parking (max £10-12 for the day).
Your park may be ok for campers but as day visitors, it is terribly over priced. We feel deeply disappointed.
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with our pricing structure. On our website, we try to make it as clear as possible for our visitors to gain the best understanding of our pricing. Many visitors feel that our Day Admission tickets are great value for money, with lots of activities available and included in the ticket price. We try to be as competitively priced as possible, in line with similar attractions in the area, and our additional cost activities are available to visitors as optional added extras. We do offer dates throughout the year that are charged at car parking fees only and perhaps these would be more suited to you. Please check our website for when these are available. Thank you once again. Best wishes, Gareth
Written August 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

068man
England, UK219 contributions
Been two years, same pitch this year was quite boggy and a week to dry out even after dry weekend. Site covid measures sensible but common with many sites, noise and unsupervised children problematic at times. Curfew on noise roundly ignored widely and certainly not enforced.

Cafe/bar good app based ordering, feral children in adjacent play area at times. Activities entertaining but poor enforcement of regs, children clearly broke permitted age terrified and huge hold ups on high ropes. Low ropes for little ones ace though. Main play area superb especially outside main park opening times.

Facilities reasonable, cleaned frequently and occasional inconsiderate mess left behind by some. Staff helpful, access easy enough, prices fair, choose pitch with care. Good for cycling for kids, incl pump track. Overall ok.
Written September 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good afternoon, Thank you very much for your valued comments. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Park. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Gareth
Written September 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Redstar1000
Leicester, UK139 contributions
Family
We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights, at the beginning of our travels! The staff and warden were super friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The pitch sizes were great, we couldn’t believe how much space we had! Although people do seem to play on your pitches so maybe more distinguishing between the plots could be better? The area around the campsites is stunning. The scenery was absolutely amazing to wake up to every morning. The lake was great fun for the kids and the shop sells lots of different inflatables to keep them happy!
There were lots of toilets and showers which was good. However... there was not an adequate system for social distancing and cleanliness. We found the bathrooms quite dirty and when we did find people cleaning the ladies it was a male, who was cleaning when people were showering. This was a bit of a shock to come out of the shower to. The bathrooms need to be cleaner and a better system because of the current situations. We were very glad we didn’t have to use the washing up station as this also looked awful for social distancing- maybe some sinks should have been closed etc.
We had no issue with noise and we were next to the toddler playground, as soon as 11 hits its quiet!
We very much enjoyed our stay and will be back
Ps... the pizza and chips for takeaway was so nice! We would recommend doing that one night when you can’t be bothered to cook :)
Written July 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good afternoon, Many thanks for sharing your River Dart experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you loved your stay, especially the scenery and takeaway! Your comments are extremely helpful to us and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future! Best wishes, Gareth
Written August 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 631
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about River Dart Country Park

River Dart Country Park is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM