We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guernsey Museum

251 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Guernsey Museum

251 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Guernsey
from $39.25
More Info
from $21.03
More Info
from $21.03
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Candie Gardens Candie Road Candie Gardens, St Peter Port GY1 1UG
Get to know the area
Day Trip from London to Guernsey by a Private Plane
Air Tours

Day Trip from London to Guernsey by a Private Plane

Escape the hustle and bustle of London for the day! In just over 90 minutes, head over the stunning English countryside, see the beautiful coasts of Sussex and the Isle of Wight, and land in Guernsey by private plane!<br><br>Your pilot is key to this adventure. They are sharing the flights' direct cost, not making a profit. They just love to fly and want you to understand their passion for aviation. <br>So be sure to meet your pilot directly at the airfield provided, as there are several private airfields around.<br>++Confirm weather conditions with your pilot before++ --&gt;Depart from London--&gt;land at Guernsey for a beach walk/lunch/swim--&gt; Return to London in the afternoon, before it gets dark! Enjoy the view from a whole new perspective! <br><br>The flight can depart between 9-11h, depending on the availability of the pilot, aircraft, and weather. Please let us know your flexible hours/days upon booking, and make sure that you've been in touch with us beforehand!
$405.88 per adult
251Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 76
  • 52
  • 17
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LJM wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
Went to have a cup of coffee in museum cafe during my visit. Service was awful - I queued for 15 minutes just to get my coffee. There only seemed to be 2 people working - one in kitchen and one in servery. Chap in kitchen had to come out and clear tables. Woman on servery was taking orders and money but also making coffees, milk shakes etc, which was why it was so slow. Customer in front of me wanted 2 dairy free milk shakes but staff said they only had enough soya milk for one, and this was before lunchtime! I visited during half-term week, and you would have thought they would have anticipated this and increased the staffing. I complained to staff on museum reception who said cafe was franchised out.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from RachieM1066, Front Office Manager at Guernsey Museum
Responded Feb 25, 2020
I'm sorry you had such a disappointing visit to the café last week. We were even busier than we had expected at the museum, our highest number of visitors in Half Term for many years but you are quite right that it should have been anticipated and more staff provided. We do take these things seriously and appreciate you taking the time to raise the issue with us and will pass your comments on to the company who runs the café. I hope you still enjoyed your visit to the museum and will come again.
Read more
Bryan P wrote a review Jan 2020
Guernsey, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Have been to a number of their exhibitions of the years - their last one was on Japan and I went twice and would go again but they will have something new this next season, it was so good, it was excellent. A useful museum to get the feel of Guernsey. A little known fact, if you ask at reception (very helpful staff) they will give you the Key to Victoria Tower (nearby), and with key in hand you can go in, lock the door behind you and climb it. Short of going to the Guernsey Aero Club and doing one of their flights around the Island this is the next best aerial view you can get (take a map with you so you can ID the view). Plus you can collapse in Cafe Victoria at the museum afterwards, as you try and remember was it about 186 steps to the top or 9000! Personally I always go for carrot cake.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RachieM1066, Front Office Manager at Guernsey Museum
Responded Jan 9, 2020
We love reviews like this! Thank you for such positive words about our museum and I hope you come again to our next exhibition. I'm sure they will have more carrot cake in the café!
Read more
Eileen108 wrote a review Dec 2019
Mount Shasta, California3,419 contributions365 helpful votes
+1
There were a couple of rooms to visit: one room was about the history of Guernsey from the beginning and also had different sections highlighting superstitions, folk tales and animals of Guernsey. They made it interesting with interactive displays with narrated stories, bird calls, etc. Too bad I did not have sufficient time to listen and read everything, being on limited time on a cruise ship! They did a great job with the displays, including the interactive ones! The other section was the special limited Japan exhibition and it was fascinating to go through the information - I had not expected to learn about Japan while in Guernsey! That was very well done also, and I enjoyed my visit there more than I expected.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Plattypuss52 wrote a review Nov 2019
Sevenoaks743 contributions312 helpful votes
Small but interesting small gallery/museum. The Japanese connection to Guernsey was interesting and the pop art paintings a delight. The picture gallery with paintings of local views was what this type of gallery should be about. The coffee shop and souvenir shop were also very good.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
welshgwen84 wrote a review Nov 2019
Dover, United Kingdom47 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Fab place to visit. Wasn't too costly and was open which in November is rare on the island! We spent a good hour learning different things about Guernsey and it's history. Loved some of the artwork.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RachieM1066, Front Office Manager at Guernsey Museum
Responded Nov 10, 2019
Thank you for the lovely review. The winter season is a little less open than the summer and when the weather is so poor, it can be hard to appreciate our beautiful natural environment so it's good to know you found us and enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Guernsey Museum