We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Appalachian GhostWalks

Johnson City, TN, USA
More
About Appalachian GhostWalks
Appalachian GhostWalks' located in the East Tennessee Smoky Mountains and Southwest Virginia Highlands offers sixteen different Ghost History and Bigfoot Adventures with both day and evening vacation packages. Recently voted one of the best ghost tours in America by USA Today's 10Best, holding the #2 spot in the Nation, visitors will thrill to our lantern-led haunted and historic walking tours presented by professionally Certified Ghost Hunters who recount true "spine-tingling" stories of real history and real ghosts. Our full-day "Mountain Mysteries" Adventure Packages offer a chance to visit the interiors of mansions, museums, historic sites, and caves throughout our region. Everyone is invited to come and bring the whole family, or group on a haunted history adventure in what the Cherokee call "Shaconage" - the sacred land of blue smoke! All offerings are located in the heart of the Northeastern Tennessee and Southwest Virginia Mountains to include towns featuring buildings that pre-date the civil war in Historic Dandridge, Erwin, Elizabethton, Johnson City, Greeneville, Rogersville, Blountville, Gatlinburg, and Jonesborough - once listed on the Travel Channel as one of the top ten most haunted towns in America! Our Haunted and historic Virginia tours presently include the historic districts of Bristol, also known as the "Birthplace of Country Music" and Abingdon, Virginia - a gateway town to this area rich in heritage and history and designated by Congress "America's First Western Frontier". Our history, in towns listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is endorsed by local historians, historical societies, and local heritage alliance partners. In addition, for our avid paranormal enthusiasts who love to delve deeper into the mysteries of our mountains, we offer several North American firsts to include the "Legendary Cherokee Bigfoot Adventure Tour" and the "Appalachian UFO Close Encounters Adventure Tour" - and Roswell, New Mexico doesn't hold a candle to the stories, experiences, and general "goings-on" we have here in these mountains! Also, so sorry, but we do not offer vampire or zombie tours. We hope to see your family, friends, or tour group soon for a simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Appalachian GhostWalks
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
104Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 7
  • 2
  • 8
  • 8
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LuckyBSirois wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We thoroughly enjoyed our Abingdon tour. It was so nice to have just our very small group of 4 on the tour. It felt personal and comfortable. Stacey is truly such a blast to be around and very knowledgeable! We had such fun and learned quite a lot of interesting history! I would definitely recommend booking a tour! Thanks again, Stacey! Hope to see you again!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachianGhostWalk, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks
Responded Oct 7, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review with us on your tour in Abingdon, Virginia. It is just one of many old towns in East Tennessee and Southwest Virginia that we tour, rich in Haunted History and Mystery. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely family again soon for another simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!! Happy blessings to you and your family!!!!
Read more
J C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a great experience on the Tipton-Haynes ghost tour. It was a fascinating mix of early east TN history and haunted tales in a fantastic historic location. Going to try the Jonesborough tour next, with Erwin on the list for later. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachianGhostWalk, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks
Responded Oct 5, 2021
Dear Guest, thank you so very much for your review of your recent tour with us. We appreciate you so very much and look forward to seeing you again soon for another simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Read more
Pam D wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
HI Laurel, I was on the tour you missed and I am sorry you had so many problems. However it is not a scam, we were there on the night you booked September 4th. We had a great tour and Stacey was amazing! Many historical facts as well as ghost stories. The tour was scheduled for two hours and Stacey gave us 3 hours. I would Highly recommend this tour again! Pam Davison
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachianGhostWalk, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks
Responded Oct 5, 2021
Dear Pam, thank you for that wonderful acknowledgement of and vote of confidence in the Haunted Historic Abingdon GhostWalk from your tour with us in Early September. We are very happy to hear how much you and your group enjoy the tour and we hope to see you again soon for another simply SPOOK-tacular good time with amazing journeys ahead for you and your lovely family. Happy blessings!!!
Read more
LMN wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
This was a shockingly horrible experience for my family. We booked tickets for 4 of us on Aug. 27th for a tour on Sep. 4th. Stacey took the reservation over the phone with my husband and said he would send a confirmation email with details on where to meet for the tour. We planned a nice dinner in downtown Abington and planned on walking to the tour afterwards. Oh the way to dinner, my husband realized we had never received the confirmation email with directions (our bad for not realizing), so he called the office number 3 hours prior to the tour and left a message. We didn't receive a call back from Stacey until about 30 minutes prior to the tour- he confirmed we had tickets, but said "it's ok, we still have available tickets anyway", told us he was running late and would not be starting on time, then gave directions to where we were supposed to meet. Being new to the area, we were unfamiliar with the area he gave us directions to. We called the number that Stacey had used just a little while earlier, and only got voicemail, We wandered for awhile, then stood on a street corner for 45 minutes hoping to see someone head in a direction looking like they would be part of the tour. My husband and I took turns wandering in different directions, thinking we might see something, but it was dark and we weren't familiar enough with the area to be wandering around in the dark. I asked the valet at the hotel nearby, he couldn't help. We finally gave up and went home. At 2:30 am, my husband started getting texts and emails indicating how our "no-show" was our fault. Stacey sent a copy of the email we should have received before the tour, claiming he had sent it on Aug. 27th (we have no record, and he didn't not send an actual copy of the sent email, only the email text). The incessant communication (which would have been helpful the evening before) telling us how the whole situation was our fault and not Stacey's fault was just inconceivable. Stacey called my husband while we were in the middle of a bike ride and argued with him, even mentioning that he SAW US WAITING- but never contacted us or came and got us. I finally took the phone because I was tired of Stacey harassing my husband. He continued to argue with me, telling me he had held the tickets for 3 weeks (lie) and that he was oversold (either that was a lie, or the night before he lied). He claimed they started right at 8:30 (but he told us they would be running late) and were talking on a bullhorn. If we were as close as he claimed, we would have heard SOMETHING, seen SOMETHING. I finally just hung up, he was so incredible rude and unapologetic for ruining our evening. My daughter saw the conversation and was horrified at how I was unable to even speak because he kept interrupting me. it was very apparent from the excessive documentation sent to my husband that Stacey is well versed in this situation and creates documentation to ensure you will be seen as at fault for his lack of coordination, communication, and client service so he can refuse refunds. Based on our experience and seeing the other reviews, I fully expect this review to receive a response from Stacey again claiming how wrong we were and how he did nothing wrong. How the website says tickets are non-refundable (which is totally the scam) I'm sure they've "gathered feedback" from the other guests and they had a lovely time and that Stacey was on point, just like all other other negative reviews. Seriously, all we were looking for was "I'm so sorry that happened, how can we make this right?" but after being blamed and harrassed, that ship has sailed. Stay Far Far away from this business!!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachianGhostWalk, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Dear Guest, we are sorry that you had some apparent trouble finding the tour departure point. We have been touring in the town of Abingdon (not Abington) now for sixteen years and no one in all of that time we have been in business there has ever had this kind of difficulty, or issue. Everyone else, in fact, scheduled with reservations just as yourselves attending the tour that night was waiting there at the tour departure point when the guide arrived. Photographs of the tour group that night - who had a fantastic experience, can be found on our website and we are happy to provide the link on request to anyone who would like to see their wonderful, smiling faces. In reference to your comment that there are negative reviews, well, regrettably that's a part of all businesses, to some degree. But, there are many more positive reviews on this page than there are negative ones and that should instill some degree of confidence in any future guest that most people are very happy with the services which we provide and that they receive. In addition, confirmation of the No Call/No Show status was confirmed by email (not text) after the tour that night as this is part of our standard business practice in accordance with our ticketing policies, as specified on our website in writing, requiring a two hour minimum notice on the night of your tour if you are unable to attend the tour for any reason. As you were informed by telephone and email, you were booked for the sold out tour on the night you requested, which departed as scheduled from the designated tour departure point. The departure point is also clearly provided as public domain, available anytime on our website. As our tours are about quality and not quantity, keeping the numbers of our groups down due to COVID-19 concerns, your spots on the tour were held as agreed and in good faith, turning other guests away who had a great desire to tour with us on that particular night, or suggesting an alternate night they might tour with us. In as much as you claim that a representative on the phone was rude to you, we must add that in following up on this in detail as we take all such claims very seriously, we found that there was no evidence that anyone from our company ever treated you with any less respect that you gave to them during the call. It was not our fault that you could not find your tour group upon booking your tour days in advance, or when calling only minutes prior to the tour and being given specific instructions as to where to meet your tour group. Finally, when it comes to communication with our guests, we pride ourselves on this and if you, for what ever reason, did not receive your initial email confirmation, which we sent in good faith, you should have called immediately to notify us that there was an issue and we would have GLADLY sent you another copy. If it were anyone else, I would assume that you, as well as they, would have been on the phone to request such a copy on the day you booked your tour instead of waiting to the last minute with any issues in that regard. Unfortunately, email messages do get lost and often go into the Bulk, or Trash Folder due to server Spam Filtering these days. This is why all of the information as to where to meet your guide is available on the website - literally at your fingertips, as needed. In closing, any follow-up calls that you made after the tour had started, or after tour departure time, could not be answered as your guide, who is also the Tour Director, was already out on tour with the guests in Abingdon and office calls are forwarded to his mobile phone when no one else was in the office at that time due to the fact that we were all out on tour going into our busy Fall Tour Season. We hope all of your travels ahead are most rewarding, full of great adventures, and thank you for thinking of us during your recent visit.
Read more
Kenzi wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We traveled from St. Louis for this wonderful tour. Allen recommended we choose the Dandrige experience due to the age of the town, and wow was he right! I had the chance to walk down a dark alley and experience an encounter with a spirit, something new to their tour that they’re still exploring. Allen was very informative and made the journey absolutely wonderful with all of his knowledge of the town! We even had a never before experienced encounter with the town bell. It gave a gentle ring after I had approached it briefly and walked away. We liked to think it was the spirits of Dandrige checking in with us after exploring their town. Thanks for the spectacular ghost walk through Dandrige you two! Definitely book this trip now, you won’t regret it if you love paranormal experiences.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachianGhostWalk, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review folks! Hope to see you again for another SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Read more
Previous
123456