We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Hills Open-Top-Tours

Features Animals
Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Black Hills Open-Top-Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
197
All photos (197)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good10%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“badlands tour”(16 reviews)
“needles highway”(21 reviews)
“great tour”(19 reviews)
About
- BLACK HILLS #1 SAFARI STYLE TOURS - OPEN ALL YEAR - 7 DAYS A WEEK! Convertible-top vehicles ... open for sunny days/closed for inclement weather. View wildlife up-close and safely from inside our vehicles. Full-size Vans - SUV's - Handicap...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Rapid City, SD 57701
Website
+1 605-644-6736
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Black Hills Open-Top-Tours
from $179.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $149.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
177
22
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
177
22
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews badlands tour needles highway great tour crazy horse private tour wounded knee mt rushmore iron mt pine ridge black hills red cloud picnic lunch burial site combo tour night tour bison prairie dogs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2018

We emailed Rich (the owner) prior to our trip to Rapid City regarding the 3 tours we were interested in doing. Rich was very helpful and prompt with answering our questions so we knew exactly what to expect. Our first tour on 9-23 was the...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank pqjb2016
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Our guide was excellent & had a lot of knowledge about Mount Rushmore and the surrounding areas on the way there.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ricca M
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Jeff was our guide. Jeff made the day amazing. His local knowledge was amazing. He was able to engage all the teenage passengers. He made the history of Mount Rushmore and crazy horse come alive with his commentary. Definitely will do the tour again. Thanks...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Daydream27842802355
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2018

Howdy Daydream27842802355 . . . (that's quite a handle). I'm glad you enjoyed your tour with Jeff. He's a retired school teacher and has a great rapport with young people. Thanks for taking time to review your tour . . . hope to see you...More

Reviewed October 23, 2018

Absolutely breathtaking views! This is definitely the best way to see Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills. We had lunch at a beautiful lake that was so tranquil. My 10 year old son absolutely loved learning all the history at Mount Rushmore. Reminder: bring your...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank marygO7329AO
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2018

Hi Mary. Thank you for taking time to review your tour. The convertible top do make for great viewing of the wildlife in Custer State Park. I hope you will return someday to tour the other regions of the HIlls. Be Well - Rich

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

A bit disorganized but it sure beat driving. Breakfast rolls, fruit and coffee were provided plus subs, chips and soup for lunch. Tour after round up hit all the highlights needles highway, iron mountain, lake sylvan plus views of my Rushmore but no commentary. Convenient...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SarahD6957
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Hi Sarah - Your are correct . . . a bit disorganized it was! This is the first time in memory that it snowed the night before and rained the morning of the Roundup. The Custer Park Rangers were trying out a new parking arrangement...More

Reviewed September 28, 2018

A bit disappointing --It was supposed to be an "open-top vehicle" (which didn't really matter since it was cold), BUT we got picked up by a 14-passenger van, and we were #13 & #14. Everyone was dressed for cold weather and maybe three were slender,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kolsufka
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Hi kolsufka - There is some confusion here, I believe you think you purchased the Premium tour . . . but you didn't. You purchased a Standard Roundup + Arts Festival tour. That is our $99 tour that includes: the Buffalo Roundup and a visit...More

Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Our driver, Larry, picked us up in Keystone and we were off for a fun day. Larry was very personable and provided lots and lots of good information. He really took good care of us. In addition to Mt Rushmore & Crazy Horse Memorial, we...More

Thank Stephen K
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Hi Stephen - Thanks for taking time for a review. I'm extremely happy you enjoyed your day touring with Larry. We created our convertible top vans specifically for the Custer Park Wildlife . . . you can get up-close and safely get great views and...More

Reviewed September 23, 2018

Excellent tour - couldn't have seen so much if driving on our own, especially the one doing the driving! Larry was our driver, and answered any and all questions. He did not make us feel rushed. The open top made it a great way to...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gbarn1972
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Hi G - I'm very glad you enjoyed your tour with Larry. He is new with us this year but has done a great job to guiding our tours. He is always willing to stop for the 'extra' photo op. I'll pass along your kind...More

Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time! Rick does a great job! He really enjoys what he does and it shows! Badlands were amazing!

Thank Guide799017
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Howdy Guide. Thank you for your review. I enjoyed touring with you all that day. Please come back and see the 'rest' when you can. Be Well - Rich

Reviewed September 14, 2018

Kevin was our guide for the day and he was great! It was an incredible tour Kevin was very knowledgeable and the sights unforgettable! Thanks for the awesome memories.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank hdchristy89
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thanks for taking time for a review HD. Kevin is new with us this year but has done an excellent job guiding our tours. I'll pass on your kind words. Be Well - Rich

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 nearby hotels
Avanti Motel
86 reviews
.40 miles away
Western Thrifty Inn
9 reviews
.40 miles away
Gold Star Motel
38 reviews
.43 miles away
Town House Motel
169 reviews
.85 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 292 nearby restaurants
Jerry's Cakes & Donuts
97 reviews
.38 miles away
El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
20 reviews
.62 miles away
Sabor A Mexico
81 reviews
.48 miles away
Morningside Cafe
56 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 128 nearby attractions
Museum of Geology
302 reviews
.59 miles away
The Journey Museum & Learning Center
346 reviews
.79 miles away
Berlin Wall Exhibit
131 reviews
.84 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
606lauraq
April 6, 2017|
Answer
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Hi - Yes we are, and we are also offering a 20% discount on any other tour you might book at the same time. Thanks Rich
0
Votes
brena57
June 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Hi Brenda - I tried to add the website that lists all the Pow Wow's for 2016 but TA won't let me do that. Please visit my website and click on contact info. After you send me an email I can reply with the website info... More
0
Votes
brena57
June 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Sorry I'm late getting back to you. As I said in my other reply, just contact me through my website. thx Rich
0
Votes