We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Eclectic Sun LLC
Eclectic Sun, on beautiful and scenic Lake Jocassee, is Devils Fork State Park’s on site supplier for all things to do on and around the lake. Boat Rentals available: Mad River Canoes, Old Town Canoe, Perception Kayaks, Invert, Glide & Bounce SUP, Harris Flotebote 220 Cruiser Pontoon Rentals & Tours, Lake Floats, Sun Canopies, and Beach Chairs. "The Pavilion" in the day use area of the Park.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Eclectic Sun LLC
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
37Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Matthew R wrote a review Sep 2020
Ladson, South Carolina5 contributions
+1
We were able to kayak on Lake Jocassee on September 8th and wouldn't have been able to without Eclectic Sun. Friendly staff and everyone was so helpful!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
UF_RX_1999 wrote a review Aug 2020
Orlando, Florida209 contributions112 helpful votes
Mixed feelings but good experience overall. The check-in/reservation system can use some improvement. Called the day before to reserve a three person canoe--was told they were booked up but people usually return early and we could rent in-person if available. Called the morning of and they lady said she had no idea if anything would be available--drove out anyways. Waited in line for 30 minutes, was told no Old Town canoes were available, to keep an eye out for people returning and get back in line. Walked down to the beach, noticed there were two Old Town canoes on the shore, waited in line for another 20 minutes, was told we could rent but I needed to bring my wife and daughter back to sign out the canoe. Waited in line (third time) for another 10 minutes, they didn't need to sign anything so I'm not sure what that was about. Once past that, everything was better. The kids actually handling the canoes and equipment were nice and helpful. The lake was very nice. Enough people so you don't feel like you're in the middle of nowhere but not crowded at all--we're not novices but nice to have some people around in case you run into trouble. We were out for three or four hours and didn't see any waterfalls--not sure if we missed them or didn't go far enough. Got stuck in a bad storm on the way back in (check the weather) which was pretty scary for 15-20 minutes, then it passed and was nice again. Overall, good experience, the lake is beautiful and there's a small beach/park area to enjoy as well. Rental fees were reasonable. Great for couples and families.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
ElizaAshe wrote a review Aug 2020
Asheville, North Carolina12 contributions5 helpful votes
I rented a kayak to see the waterfalls. There’s really only one place to put your boat in and you better be ready for some intense paddling because the waterfalls are really far away. It is totally worth it but I got stuck in a thunderstorm and it was kind of scary! It took us six hours round-trip to see one bigger waterfall. If you want to see the waterfalls (unless you are an Olympic kayaker) we suggest renting a motorized craft. The kayak is great for exploring right around the area because there are so many cool beaches and swimming areas that are truly beautiful and untouched!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Amy B wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
We had an amazing time. Very professional and attentive staff that took all the cleaning precautions you possibly can. We made a day trip and had several rentals for the day. We had also had 4 month old with us that changed a few of those plans. The staff went above and beyond to help this grandma out. Thank you Debbie and staff!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Wes S wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
We showed up at 9 and were shooed away, the lady calling loudly for anyone with a reservation. There is no way to get any service in a reasonable time frame. When I asked if there were others that could help with getting people in or if we could start filling out forms, they were incredibly rude and made patronizing comments. Go anywhere else if possible.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie L, Owner at Eclectic Sun LLC
Responded Jul 9, 2019
I am very sorry for the treatment you received at our shop on what was an obviously very busy morning during the week of the 4th of July. I agree with you there is no reason for anyone to be treated rudely when you are just trying to enjoy Jocassee. It is our policy to take care of our reservations first just like any place that takes reservations. Sometimes since customers are not aware of that policy they want to demand service which just sets everyone who is over-worked and sleep deprived on edge. You should try coming on a day that is not a weekend or holiday and enjoy the peace and serenity! Thank you for voicing your opinion. Debbie, Owner Eclectic Sun ☼
Read more
Previous
1234568