We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course

7 Trent Jones Ln, Palmetto Dunes Ocean Front Resort, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7655
+1 888-322-9207
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Experience!

I went in the pro shop looking for a shirt and was immediately greeted by Susan. She was so warm... read more

Reviewed today
Dmowood
via mobile
Excellent Staff, Fun Course

The staff at Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course was the warmest and most welcoming team I have... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mark E
,
Westerville, Ohio
Read all 230 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Robert Trent Jones Course, located in Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort, was named South Carolina's Golf Course of the Year. It features 18 holes, with an ocean view on the 10th hole. The course plays 6,122 yards from the middle white tees.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“ocean front” (26 reviews)
“pro shop” (30 reviews)
“palmetto dunes” (43 reviews)
Closes in 7 min
Hours
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
7 Trent Jones Ln, Palmetto Dunes Ocean Front Resort, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7655
CONTACT
Website
+1 888-322-9207
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hilton Head
from $125.00
More Info
from $29.95
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ocean front"
in 26 reviews
"pro shop"
in 30 reviews
"palmetto dunes"
in 43 reviews
"golf course"
in 26 reviews
"in great shape"
in 19 reviews
"tee box"
in 8 reviews
"driving range"
in 11 reviews
"rtj golf"
in 3 reviews
"big jims"
in 2 reviews
"great golfing"
in 2 reviews
"arthur hills"
in 11 reviews
"great golf experience"
in 4 reviews
"hit balls"
in 2 reviews
"great round of golf"
in 3 reviews
"golf staff"
in 2 reviews
"hour round"
in 2 reviews
"wide fairways"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

I went in the pro shop looking for a shirt and was immediately greeted by Susan. She was so warm and friendly and did not stop until she found exactly what I needed! She is awesome!

Thank Dmowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course was the warmest and most welcoming team I have experienced on the island. Sue and Jon in the pro shop were both so friendly, and genuinely cared about my experience. The starter, Mr. Cheeseman, was also friendly...More

Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Played the RJT yesterday. Pro shop staff was top notch, and starter was accommodating, although price was a little steep ($145 w/range). Hitting off matts on range disappointing but understandable with the tight space. Play the Gold tees (if under 10 hdcp) to lengthen the...More

1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love all 3 of the Palmetto Dunes golf courses...but the Robert Trent Jones course is my favorite. I had the pleasure of staying a week at PD in early July, and played a round at each of the courses. The RTJ course has the...More

Thank HarveyMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like to play at RTJ Palmetto Dunes every stay on the island. The course is in very good shape and the layout is good and fair. I played as a single and was paired with a great family to complete a fore-some. The entire...More

Thank rlutt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has been our favorite course on Hilton Head Island for 32 years. We played it this week and it was in good condition. Recent rains have really helped. We saw no signs of issues mentioned in previous reviews. We always enjoy our time shopping...More

Thank Crosseyedkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Had the opportunity to play at the RTJ in Palmetto Dunes today. The staff was extremely pleasant and the experience was great. As for the course conditions... you can see they had some issues not long ago, but they have made great strides in the...More

1  Thank scottloeffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

People were nice, layout is good. Everything seems a bit dated and rundown. It appears they are putting no money or effort into the course. It was shocking how bad the conditions were. When I gave them feedback, they were responsive, but you could tell...More

Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Hello Ed, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and concerns about your recent golfing experience at Robert Trent Jones. We strive to provide a memorable experience for all guests. While I'm happy to hear that our staff were nice and the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Irrigation system is broken - course is in awful shape tee to green. Sign on tee says if you leave by hole 4 you get your money back, ridiculous.More

Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Robert Trent Jones Oceanfront Course, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. The Robert Trent Jones course was recently aerated. Knowing that this creates a different experience, we offer our guests a chance to try...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We recently visited the Robert Trent Jones golf course and played two rounds of golf on June 17 and 18th 2018. We were forewarned by the pro shop that the greens had recently been aerated and they politely gave us a great discount on both...More

1  Thank gatorgirl1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 29 hotels in Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
2,176 reviews
.29 miles away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3,476 reviews
.56 miles away
Motel 6 Hilton Head
22 reviews
.80 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Hilton Head
674 reviews
.83 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Flora's Italian Cafe
399 reviews
.80 miles away
Alfred's Restaurant
299 reviews
.68 miles away
Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar
775 reviews
.83 miles away
Sea Grass Grille
518 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hilton Head Island Bike Trails
2,701 reviews
.76 miles away
Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center
239 reviews
.09 miles away
Sea Pines Forest Preserve
1,084 reviews
.66 miles away
Art League of Hilton Head
36 reviews
.76 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carolyn E
September 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Laynie W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you can rent ladies left hand clubs! They have very nice rental sets! I'm not sure how much it is to rent.
0
Votes
chitowngirl62
July 12, 2017|
Answer
Response from PalmettoDunes | Property representative |
Hi chitowngirl62! Our rates for golf vary by season, time of day and number of rounds being played. For more details, please visit the Palmetto Dunes website under Golf Rates & Packages or you can give us a call at... More
0
Votes
chitowngirl62
July 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PalmettoDunes | Property representative |
Hi chitowngirl62! Our rates for golf vary by season, time of day and number of rounds being played. For more details, please visit the Palmetto Dunes website under Golf Rates & Packages or you can give us a call at... More
0
Votes