We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 10 Wharfside St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number: +1 843-722-1112
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 am
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Come aboard the Carolina Belle for a 90-minute, live narrated, harbor...

Come aboard the Carolina Belle for a 90-minute, live narrated, harbor history tour on the beautiful Charleston Harbor. See the "holy city" from a new perspective and take in over 300 years of history that has shaped the Charleston we know today. Tours daily 11:30, 1:30, and 3:30. 9:30 and 6 pm tours in peak season. See website for full schedule. We also offer Charleston's best combination tours. Season Mid February through November. Closed December and January.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 534 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 262
    Excellent
  • 179
    Very good
  • 64
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Great tour

I wish that I would have reviewed the tour as soon as we finished it. I can't remember the tour guide's name, but he was outstanding in his knowledge of the area. I learned so... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
smcclelland54
,
broadway, va

Similar Things to Do in Charleston

Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
broadway, va
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish that I would have reviewed the tour as soon as we finished it. I can't remember the tour guide's name, but he was outstanding in his knowledge of the area. I learned so much more than I thought I would. It's worth every penny you spend. I did go online and got a coupon for a reduced rate.

Helpful?
1 Thank smcclelland54
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This tour hits all the key highlights of the place. The guide was excellent going thru history from the war of independence to current times. This tour provides a great orientation and one can explore the city in more detail after that.

Helpful?
Thank rolwinl
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Very nice relaxing tour of sites around Charleston Harbor. Captain/tour guide was knowledgeable and interesting. Boat has climate controlled deck if cool or inclement weather.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We took the boat tour along the waterway and it lasted 90 min. It was about a full 30 min too long. We did get to see a lot... including the fort, Sullivans Island, we went under the bridge and saw Battery park, a glimpse of Rainbow Row, and the aircraft carrier. The captain of the boat did a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlanFam
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Good trip. Captain was very knowledgeable about sights around harbor. Lots of history. Nice way to spend a few hours. Get the package and after harbor take a carriage ride. Save some bucks when you buy both.

Helpful?
Thank Lex B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

The staff on-board were friendly and the captain was very knowledgeable of the sights. I was a little disappointed in not going around to Battery Park, which was advertised, but the tour was good overall. For the price of this tour, it is a good way to see and learn a lot in a short amount of time.

Helpful?
Thank David W
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Got to the dock and they told us that the boat had issues and the tour was cancelled. The girl at the desk was very rude as well. So we sat there for awhile trying to figure out what to do. Many very upset people complained very loudly. Then... miraculously, the boat was okay!! (in hindsight, maybe we shouldn't have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ktimmons001
dkyochum, Director of Sales at Charleston Harbor Tours, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of your tour on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, it looks like your review is posted to the wrong location. In going back over our records, we have not had any tours cancelled in the last two months for mechanical issues or other reasons nor have we had to postpone due... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We originally wanted to go to Fort Sumter, but unfortunately, it was flooded. So, we did the next best thing and went on this boat tour. The female guide was absolutely amazing. Loved her voice, knowledge and way she described our history lessons. We took some great photos, saw beautiful views of the area and had a great time as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

I enjoyed this 1 and a half hour cruise which allowed me to get a bit of history of the place on a short visit and also to see Fort Sumtner without actually stepping on the Island. That would have been nice to do but involves anoth tour which takes longer. The live commetary was very good and the speakers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Very informative and the staff was very friendly. We really enjoyed it. The boat was very clean and they provide munchies and drinks for a fee.

Helpful?
Thank dc14580

Travelers who viewed Charleston Harbor Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Harbor Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Charleston Harbor Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Floyd, Virginia
over a year ago
Angola, Indiana
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston Harbor Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?