Pocono Bike Rental
Pocono Bike Rental
4
Bike Tours • Gear Rentals
Read more
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Pocono Bike Rental is centrally located in the heart of the Poconos, the historic timber and coal industry towns of White Haven and Jim Thorpe, PA. Serving the nationally recognized as a must see while in PA, the Lehigh Gorge Trail! Either from a mountain biker’s or a whitewater rafter’s prospective, it is THE PLACE to be for outdoor adventure enthusiasts! Mountain biking in the world famous Lehigh Gorge is truly like no other biking experience! Imagine yourself; comfortably riding a finely tuned bicycle over a PA State maintained former railroad bed, inside a green canopy of thousands of acres of untouched nature as mother earth intended for you to enjoy! The whitewater rafting is rated Class 3 and we offer the smallest, safest, informative rafting trips in the Poconos! Our guides are the best in the business, take a personal approach to getting you safely down the river and offer the most fun possible! Enjoy, Enjoy, the great outdoors of the Poconos!
White Haven, Pennsylvania

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Pocono Bike Rental
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(59 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
527 reviews
Excellent
373
Very good
47
Average
9
Poor
10
Terrible
88

Andrew D
Madison, NJ1 contribution
Sep 2021
We used the shuttle service from Jim Thorpe to White Haven. Tom (the owner/operator) showed up on time (early, in fact) at the designated pick up spot, which was reassuring. He loaded all our bikes on the trailer for us. His mini-bus is clean and appears to be very safe (no bench seating, and each seat has shoulder belts). He also stocked the van/bus with water, snacks, sunscreen, and bug spray in case you forgot one of those items. He also had some bike tools, which was fortunate because I discovered a loose handbrake right before my ride. Tom seemed to enjoy his work, and conversed easily with the clients. He offered trail riders some useful insights about the area before we hot the trail. Totally worth it to avoid the hassle of trying to pre-position your own cars/bikes for a one way ride.
Written September 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are grateful for your patronage, and the great review! So happy you enjoyed either our VIP Bike Rentals, Whitewater Rafting, Hiking and/or VIP Shuttle Service to the Lehigh Gorge Trail! Thank you for acknowledging what we are know best for; excellent customer service, our professionalism and the expedited VIP shuttle ride up to the trail head. We have the shortest commute time to the trail head of any of the other companies in the Poconos! Our value added services are second to none! I am so glad you were 5 STAR pleased with your time here in the great outdoors of the Poconos! The service you rated is why we are the #1 Attraction and Bike Rental Company in the White Haven, Jim Thorpe, Poconos area! From all of us here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we would like to sincerely thank you for biking with us! It’s not always easy to get up and go for a bike ride. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write this great review. It helps our small business exponentially. We can promote our business all we want, but your testimony is what truly speaks volumes to future guests. Please do come back and see us soon, bring more friends, and remember, you are now a returning VIP client with us, so call or login for your VIP better pricing for five bucks off next time! For more useful Poconos Vacation planning information, VIP deals and packages please visit our social media pages and website at: PoconoBikeRental.com. Enjoy, Enjoy the great Pocono Outdoors! Sincerely, Tom Williams, Owner, Pocono Bike Rental, Peace and happiness!
Written September 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fred B
2 contributions
Sep 2022
Had I read the reviews before I booked, I might not have used this company. However, I am glad I did not read the reviews in advance.

I found Tom, the owner to be professional and pleasant.
He was on time, his email with directions brought us to the exact pick up spot, we left on time. He provided a lot of information before the trip. I think Tom has a big personality and everyone is becoming so sensitive he is getting a bad rap for no reason.
I only used the shuttle service and it went perfect. He clearly moves a lot of people up and down the bike path and not everyone is going to be happy. I was happy with his service and would use him again. It's a Pocono mountain bike shuttle service, not the plaza hotel. Support the small business!
Written September 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are grateful for your patronage, and the, as usual, GREAT 5 STAR REVIEW! So happy you enjoyed either our VIP Bike Rentals, Whitewater Rafting, Hiking, Disc Golf, Jeep Tours and/or VIP Shuttle Service to the Lehigh Gorge Trail! Thank you for acknowledging what we are know best for; EXCELLENT customer service, our PROFESSIONALISM and the SAFEST, FUEL EFFICIENT, EXPEDITED VIP shuttle ride up to the trail head. We have the shortest commute time to the trail head of any of the other companies in the Poconos! Our value added services are second to none! I am so glad you and over 20,000 people (in the last 9 years) were pleased with your time here in the great outdoors of the Poconos! The service you rated is why we are the #1 Attraction and Outdoor Adventure Company in the White Haven, Jim Thorpe, Poconos area! Thanks for the kind words and accurate statements about getting a bad rap from a limited few. Our great prices reflect the value of our amazing, VIP, second to none services and here is why: 1. We use brand new shuttle vans not rickety old school busses with FREE WI-FI and charging stations for your cell phones! 2. Our vans are environmentally conscious using twin turbo Ford Eco-Boost engines that get up to 20 miles to the gallon not diesel inefficient, old petrol hogs. 3. Our vans have 9 airbags, seat recline and shoulder harnesses that make it way more safe than a school bus without modern safety features. 4. Our vans have satellite radio and a rocking sound system to drown out the noise of the old, slow and loud school busses our competitors use as we pass them on the highway. They chug along spewing smog into the clean air of the Poconos while we use an environmentally friendly vehicle. (their travel times are 45 mins to 1 hour) 5. Since we have less than 15 people per van we can load and unload bikes quickly and get you up the trial in 30 minutes or less unlike our "competition". 6. Our vans are clean, smell nice, detailed bi-weekly and sanitized daily 7. We give out free trail maps and tell you about all the features and highlights of the trail unlike the other companies. 8. We also offer FREE bug spray, sunscreen, apples, granola bars and water! 9. Our guests are of a VIP demographic that offer great conversation and networking. 10. Our over 500 reviews clearly show just how great we are! (others have less than 200) From all of us here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we would like to sincerely thank you for biking with us! It’s not always easy to get up and go for a bike ride! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write this (along with 500 others the most reviews in the Poconos) AMAZING REVIEW!!!. It helps our small business exponentially. We can promote our business all we want, but your testimony is what truly speaks volumes to future guests. Please do come back and see us soon, bring more friends, and remember, you are now a returning VIP client with us, so call or login for your VIP better pricing for five bucks off next time! For more useful Poconos Vacation planning information, VIP deals and packages please visit our social media pages and website at: PoconoBikeRental.com. Enjoy, Enjoy the great Pocono Outdoors! Sincerely, Tom W., Pocono Bike Rental, Peace and happiness!
Written September 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nathan Q
Curtice, OH456 contributions
Jul 2020 • Couples
Booked an 11:00am shuttle online for Wednesday. At 7:00am on Wednesday, I happened to read an email sent the night before notifying us they weren’t open on Wednesdays and offered a credit or refund. I replied and we pushed to Thursday at the same time. We were sent a GPA pin to the pickup spot, which worked great. Shuttle was on time and driver was polite. Bikes were stacked against/on each other on a trailer where they started a very bumpy journey. My bike had several scratches, but my wife’s bike was new which he acutely noticed and commented on before loading it. These were $400 bikes so not overly expensive, but not junk either. I am guessing we got a few new scratches... Driver took a few calls while we were shuttled to the launch. I wasn’t too bothered by this as I figured he is a hustling entrepreneur. My wife thought it was unprofessional.
Written July 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nathan, Thanks for the decent review of our business, I thank you for your patronage! We don't travel on a very bumpy road so your description of the road is inaccurate, so starting there we have to assume you are being a little dramatic. Also you stated you are "guessing" that you have a few new scratches on your bike, well which is it? Since you didn't mention any scratches when we arrived in White Haven or in this review as being witnessed, we are glad that didn't happen. If I had booked something at a business on a day they were closed, I would be thankful they were able to be accommodating and switched my mistaken reservation without hassle or re-booking fees. Also I have a Bluetooth hands free device in my 2018 Ford Transit 350 XLT and it allows me to answer calls with ease and safety, keeping your costs low so as I don't have to hire someone to do that for me. So all that being said my apologies you weren't happy. Try and look at the bright side of life instead of nit picking all the miscellaneous details that sometimes get overlooked when people are overwhelmed trying to run a sole proprietorship during these difficult times. We will credit you a free shuttle next time you come back to us if that happens. We are glad you were at the very least 3 STAR pleased with your time here in the great outdoors of the Poconos! The service you speak of is why we are the #1 Attraction, Bike Rental and Outdoor Adventure Company in the White Haven, Jim Thorpe, Poconos area! From all of us here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we would like to sincerely thank you for biking, rafting, hiking or playing disc golf with us! It’s not always easy to get up and go for on an outdoor adventure, but we’re so glad you decided to do so. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write this great review. It helps our small business exponentially. We can promote our business all we want, but your testimony is what truly speaks volumes to future guests. We are also very glad you enjoyed the beautiful Lehigh Gorge and the surrounding Poconos Area! Please do come back and see us soon, bring more friends, and remember, your now a returning customer with us, so sign up for our Poconos VIP Insider Newsletter and get your VIP Pricing next time! For more useful Poconos Vacation planning information, deals and packages please visit our social media pages and website at: PoconoBikeRental.com. Enjoy, Enjoy the great Pocono Outdoors! We appreciate you! Sincerely, Tom Williams, Owner, Pocono Bike Rental, Peace and happiness!
Written July 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Scott
2 contributions
Jul 2022 • Couples
Our driver arrived a few minutes late to the pickup point and was very rude. We booked a 9am tour and we’re called a few days prior to tell us that we were moved to the 11am tour because no one else signed up for 9am. Our driver then told us he was doing us a favor by taking us at all! We would never use this company again.
Written July 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry to hear this, Here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we work very hard to give each and every customer a good experience. Sometimes, however, being such a small business we can fall short of both our personal expectations and the guests’. As it clearly states on our website, we have a 4 person minimum for not only the 9am but especially if you want to go to the Glen Summit/Black Diamond Trailhead. So we were doing you a favor taking you an hour out of our way without the proper ridership to make it economically efficient. There were 2 other parties that called and said they were going to be late for the 11am so we took our time through the construction that was making everyone late. The other party booked the same day so we were able to pull over and get their credit card and make their day! We were able to accommodate 8 other people on that 11am shuttle just fine. So our apologies if you think you fell through the cracks. We did the best we could under the unrealistic expectations you had given the fact you weren't a party of 4 like we require and it's stated all over our website for midweek/9am shuttle service. Our prices reflect the value of our amazing, second to none VIP services and here is why: 1. We use brand new shuttle vans not rickety old school busses. 2. Our vans are environmentally conscious using twin turbo Ford Eco-Boost engines that get up to 20 miles to the gallon not diesel inefficient, old petrol hogs. We also offset 100% of our carbon footprint through buying renewable energy credits. 3. Our vans have 9 airbags and shoulder harnesses that make it way more safe than a school bus without modern safety features. 4. Our vans have satellite radio and a rocking sound system to drown out the noise of the loud school busses as we pass them on the highway while they chug along ever so slowly. (their travel times are 45 mins to 1 hour) 5. Since we have less than 15 people per van we can load and unload bike quickly and get you up the trial in 30 minutes or less unlike our "competition". 6. Our vans are cleaner, smell nicer, detailed weekly and sanitized daily 7. We give out free trail maps and tell you about all the features and highlights of the trail unlike the other companies. 8. We also offer FREE bug spray, sunscreen, apples, granola bars and water! 9. Our guests are of a VIP demographic that offer great conversation and networking. 10. Our over 500 reviews clearly show just how great we are! (others have less than 200) We still are truly sorry you felt our services were not what you expected or desired of us, to thoroughly extend our apologies, we would like to grant the person who wrote this review free advice to continue to business elsewhere. We know this does not fix everything, but we hope you accept our apology and do not let this effect your love of biking! Enjoy enjoy the great outdoors of the Poconos! Our Sincerest Apologies, Mr. Lee, Public Relations PoconoBikeRental.com Peace and happiness...
Written July 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

np942
West Berlin, NJ8 contributions
Aug 2020 • Couples
Looked to book a rafting trip with a group of friends. First off during this time I know businesses are struggling with the corona virus and having limitations but it doesn’t give you a right to treat customers like you could careless about getting their business. Tom who has been going back and forth with me and my group in emails lacks professionalism. I understand that it’s a minimum of 4 people per a booking but than change your website. We were a group of 6 who purchased tickets per couple. If you don’t want people to purchase it this way than you shouldn’t allow it on your website regardless if you have note at the bottom or not. Also I left a voicemail letting them know that I was booking for 6 People when I spoke to Tom on the phone he failed to mention that he would like us to book as a group. For us it was easier to book separately and when I mentioned that to him he mentioned it was a waste of their resources and accounting and confusion. As a business that seems like it’s an internal issue and not an issue for the customer. Not to mention I was not refunded the full amount for my ticket. They took a 4 dollar fee without any explanation. That’s an expense you as a business should take, because it was your lack of customer service experience and professionalism that we as a group decided we no longer wanted to give our business to this company. I would highly recommend Jim Thorpe their customer service is 10 times better!
Written August 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We have a 4 person minimum. We had several conversations about this and you argued with me the entire time. I clearly spoke to you in a professional way as to how to book and NOT to book like you did. You did anyway. In a vindictive way you come on this site and insanely accuse me of being unprofessional. We are truly sorry you felt our services were not what you expected or desired of us, to thoroughly extend our apologies, we would like to grant the person who wrote this review the ability to do business elsewhere since we simply cannot meet your unrealistic expectations. We know this does not fix everything, but we hope you accept our apology and do not let this affect your love of biking! Enjoy, Enjoy the great outdoors of the Poconos! Our Sincerest Apologies, Tom Williams, owner, PoconoBikeRental.com Peace, love and happiness.
Written August 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Genuine-reviewer
3 contributions
Aug 2020
I completely agree with anthonyjmario & np942 about Tom's behavior.

We were 2 families who were staying in PA and wanted to rent out few bikes from this company - poconobikerental.com, and we booked our bikes through their website.

The bikes were surely delivered to us on time, but the owner Tom was extremely rude on the phone. He used foul language with his customers. He is doing great business, and hence cares less about how to speak to his customers.

The bikes that were given to us were so beat up, with couple of bikes have less air in the tires.

It was NOT a pleasurable experience, and I shall Never again rent bikes from this company.
Written August 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry to hear this, Here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we work very hard to give each and every customer a good experience. Sometimes, however, being such a small business we can fall short of both our personal expectations and the guests’. We are truly sorry you felt our services were not what you expected or desired of us, to thoroughly extend our apologies, we would like to grant the person who wrote this review a free bike rental should you decide to give us a second chance! The other members of your party that day will also be granted 50% off their bike rental should they accompany you once more. We will reference the name on this review and the name on your previous bike reservation with us for your return visit. We will do our utmost to remedy your unsatisfactory experience. We know this does not fix everything, but we hope you accept our apology and do not let this effect your love of biking! Enjoy enjoy the great outdoors of the Poconos! Our Sincerest Apologies, Mr. Lee, Public Relations PoconoBikeRental.com Peace and happiness...
Written October 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anthony
3 contributions
Aug 2020 • Couples
My friends and I tried to go to this horrible business to have a great day of outdoor adventure however Tom was very rude from the start. He failed to inform us that we have to book in one group rather than couples. He also replied to each couple individually rudely and told us that due to costs and fees (you know costs of running a business) that we’d have to rebook together. We requested to have our money refunded which he did after several emails back and forth. Clearly Tom is not worried about loosing $100s he’s more worried about loosing pennies to process more transactions. Get a professional site done Tom stop being cheap. We rebooked with another company who gladly allowed each couple to hook individually.
Written August 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We have a 4 person minimum. We had several conversations about this and you argued with me the entire time. I clearly spoke to you in a professional way as to how to book and NOT to book like you did. You did anyway. In a vindictive way you come on this site and insanely accuse me of being unprofessional.   We are truly sorry you felt our services were not what you expected or desired of us, to thoroughly extend our apologies, we would like to grant the person who wrote this review the ability to do business elsewhere since we simply cannot meet your unrealistic expectations. We know this does not fix everything, but we hope you accept our apology and do not let this affect your love of biking! Enjoy, Enjoy the great outdoors of the Poconos! Our Sincerest Apologies, Tom Williams, owner, PoconoBikeRental.com Peace, love and happiness..
Written August 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JEN
1 contribution
Aug 2020 • Couples
Terrible service! We were excitedly on our way from NJ this morning and called to make a reservation. The representative was very pushy on the phone. When I asked if I could call right back (to give us a second to discuss the options) he insisted we had to book now because he was going to give us a discounted rate and we could not call back. “If we called back his fees would go up”. My boyfriend in the background made a comment of “f that” and we hung up. The representative then called us back, yelling at us. We hung up again and I received this harassing text message. (See image attached).

I’m shocked at how unprofessional this man was this morning. Thanks for deterring us from ever going there. Unfortunately, employees reflect upon a business and no customer simply trying to decide on a reservation should be called and texted for arguing purposes.
Written August 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry to hear this, Here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we work very hard to give each and every customer a good experience. Sometimes, however, being such a small business we can fall short of both our personal expectations and the guests’. We are truly sorry you felt our services were not what you expected or desired of us, to thoroughly extend our apologies, we would like to grant the person who wrote this review a free bike rental should you decide to give us a second chance! The other members of your party that day will also be granted 50% off their bike rental should they accompany you once more. We will reference the name on this review and the name on your previous bike reservation with us for your return visit. We will do our utmost to remedy your unsatisfactory experience. We know this does not fix everything, but we hope you accept our apology and do not let this effect your love of biking! Enjoy enjoy the great outdoors of the Poconos! Our Sincerest Apologies, Mr. Lee, Public Relations PoconoBikeRental.com Peace and happiness...
Written October 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Davespassat
8 contributions
Oct 2021
A group of 11 used Pocono Bike Rental to transport our bikes from Jim Thorpe to White Haven so we could ride the 22 miles without backtracking. It worked perfectly. Two benefits offered by Pocono Bike Rental were free parking at the pick up point near the town of Jim Thorpe and a comfortable 14 passenger van to ride in. I would definitely recommend using Pocono Bike Rental if you are planning a similar trip.
Written October 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are grateful for your patronage, and the great review! So happy you enjoyed either our VIP Bike Rentals, Whitewater Rafting, Hiking and/or VIP Shuttle Service to the Lehigh Gorge Trail! Thank you for acknowledging what we are know best for; excellent customer service, our professionalism and the expedited VIP shuttle ride up to the trail head. We have the shortest commute time to the trail head of any of the other companies in the Poconos! Our value added services are second to none! I am so glad you were 5 STAR pleased with your time here in the great outdoors of the Poconos! The service you rated is why we are the #1 Attraction and Bike Rental Company in the White Haven, Jim Thorpe, Poconos area! From all of us here at PoconoBikeRental.com, we would like to sincerely thank you for biking with us! It’s not always easy to get up and go for a bike ride. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write this great review. It helps our small business exponentially. We can promote our business all we want, but your testimony is what truly speaks volumes to future guests. Please do come back and see us soon, bring more friends, and remember, you are now a returning VIP client with us, so call or login for your VIP better pricing for five bucks off next time! For more useful Poconos Vacation planning information, VIP deals and packages please visit our social media pages and website at: PoconoBikeRental.com. Enjoy, Enjoy the great Pocono Outdoors! Sincerely, Tom Williams, Owner, Pocono Bike Rental, Peace and happiness!
Written October 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sherry L
3 contributions
Oct 2021
The shuttle service was great! They give you trail maps and detailed info about the trail and the parking is free! We were totally surprised they wouldn't even take our money to buy water and snacks from them as they give them away. Tom the owner is great! He has this newer van with charging stations for your cell phones and plays the Grateful Dead Sirius XM channel on the short ride up!

The trail itself is amazing and with all the info they give you about where to stop and see the sights it's easy to see why this company is the best! We went with our 3 children and felt confident we would arrive safely as the van has a bunch of airbags and shoulder harness seat belts.

The bikes were newer, had disc brakes and the comfort seats were a real treat as normally we are sore after a long ride and this time we weren't. We used to go with the other company in Jim Thorpe but they use these old school buses that are loud and take forever to get up to the trail head. We felt like we were well taken care of and not just a number that they call out when they give you your bikes. Tom knows you by name and treats you like you are family!
Written October 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 527

Pocono Bike Rental (White Haven) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go