We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1000 Sandcastle Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15120
Phone Number: +1 412-462-6666
Website
Description:

Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun!...

Sandcastle is Pittsburgh's favorite destination for refreshing water fun! Open since 1989, this park spans 60-acres and offers over a dozen different water slides with varying speeds and angles of descent for thrill seekers of all levels. If you prefer to stay dry, take a leisurely stroll on the Boardwalk where you can enjoy food and games. From company outings to birthday celebrations, Sandcastle creates occasions everyone will remember with private VIP cabanas to tents for larger gatherings and plentiful food options with our professional service staff. With attractions like Thunder Run, Lazy River, and Wet Willie's Water Works for children, Sandcastle has something for everyone!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 126 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Not as bad as the negative reviews!

We purchased tickets online at the $19.99 special and sprung for a large cabana near the river. The place was packed so the cabana ( $125) was great idea because it came with four... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
Pitts99
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We purchased tickets online at the $19.99 special and sprung for a large cabana near the river. The place was packed so the cabana ( $125) was great idea because it came with four chairs, four chaise lounge chairs, a table and two free lockers. I cut through one of the grassy areas and stepped in gum so shoes should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pitts99
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great time. I just want to clarify one thing so you are not disappointed if you try to buy the summer special tickets at the $19.99 price after July 25. The summer special $19.99 tickets are valid any operating day of the 2016 season, but the sale ends on... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on a Friday with our two preteen kids. We bought our tickets at Giant Eagle and it cut $6 off the price of each ticket. It was busy but the lines moved quickly and we were able to ride everything multiple times. The view of the Mon River and the trees alongside it are really gorgeous as you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anonjany B
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you visited Sandcastle and hope to see you again next summer! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How can this place justify 32.99 for the limited number of slides they have? Lines are long and rides are short. The Lazy river was so dirty that I wouldn't let my kids in. Bugs, tree leaves/needles, ban aids floating in the water...just gross. The bathrooms were disgusting and the toilets were not flushing in some stalls. The food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sheod74
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate our guests comments and concerns. I am sorry that your visit was not an enjoyable one. Sandcastle's general admission is $32.99, but we offer many discounts such as discounted tickets at Giant Eagle that is available all season long and online specials like the summer ticket special where tickets are only $19.99 through July 25. Sandcastle offers 15... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you live in Pittsburgh or surrounding areas, Sandcastle is a great way to stay cool during the summer. However, if you're just visiting the area, it might not be worth it -- a single day admission is really expensive, and Sandcastle is really only worth it if you're going to invest in a season pass and plan on going... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott G
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start off by saying the kids had an absolute blast here! We (DH and I) took my son and 5 of his friends (ages 13) to Sandcastle for his birthday. We did not do the party through the park. We rented a cabana and this was a great idea so that we had a central meeting area and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tbower54
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There's never been enough shade Lately, the bathrooms are disgusting, the lazy river is just foul. Goose poop all along it and it smells horrible. I always do the kennywood/sandcastle ride and slide passes, but I just can't do it again next year. Like others have said its a PITA to get around this place. With 3 little kids and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Felicia D
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate our guests’ comments and concerns. Over the years, we have added additional umbrellas and trees and are continuing to do so to increase the shaded areas. We have bathroom attendants who clean the bathrooms throughout the day and if a specific issue is brought to our attention we take care of it immediately. More 

Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

When I first got there, I was surprised at how easily I found a parking spot and how few people were at the park. It was the middle of the week, but still - the park had opened over an hour before, it was a hot day, and it was summer and kids were out of school. After being there... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy P
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate our guests’ comments and concerns and understand your frustrations. The park was designed 27 years ago with a linear layout along the Monongahela River with attractions being on both the upper and lower levels and includes ramps on either end of the park for accessibility. Over the years we continued to improve accessibility. In regards to the Lazy... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Overpriced crowded and expensive. Not well configured for a family and hard to even find a place to sit. Needs more shady areas.

Helpful?
2 Thank KimCarlKids
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

We appreciate our guests’ comments and concerns. We are continuing to add additional umbrellas and trees to enhance shaded areas of the park. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

This waterpark is worth a visit. It has a wave pool, a lazy river, several slides, and a pool, At night there are activities for adults on the Boardwalk. If you plan to go for a day, it can be expensive. However, the season's pas is reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank 1914MimiA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

This year I decided to buy a season pass for Sandcastle and can say that I was able to visit about 10 times. I prefer to be one of the first people there so that I can get the choice of chair and area that I like best and I usually leave by 3pm. The bathrooms progressively get more dirty... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha C
Melissa K, Manager at Sandcastle Water Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests' comments and concerns. I have passed your review to our management team for their review. More 

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandcastle Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandcastle Water Park and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Water Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?