We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gateway Clipper Fleet

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 350 W Station Square Dr., Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1125
Phone Number:
+1 412-355-7980
Today
9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 8:30 pm
Description:

Gateway Clipper Fleet, located on the Southern Shore of the Monongahela...

Gateway Clipper Fleet, located on the Southern Shore of the Monongahela River, in Station Square. We sail the Three Rivers all year long. Join us aboard a dinner dance, sightseeing, concert, event, or private charter cruise.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,425 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 853
    Excellent
  • 356
    Very good
  • 120
    Average
  • 54
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
Excellent family-friendly boat ride to view the city

Our family, friends and out-of-town visitors love the Gateway Clipper Fleet. It's a great way to see downtown Pittsburgh and get a feel for the history of the city. I love being... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Danila
,
Pittsburgh
Add Photo Write a Review

1,425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,418: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family, friends and out-of-town visitors love the Gateway Clipper Fleet. It's a great way to see downtown Pittsburgh and get a feel for the history of the city. I love being out in the water and feeling the cool river breeze on my face. The narrated tour is interesting and funny, and the whole Clipper experience is friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danila
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had tickets to take our daughter and two nieces on the Santa Breakfast Cruise on Saturday, December. Because of extremely bad weather and dangerous road conditions, it was impossible to get to the boat Saturday morning. We made several attempts to call, only got an answer once and this individual could not tell us if the trip was going... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank frederickw2
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out to us. We will be happy to discuss this matter with you if you would please email us at owner@gatewayclipper.com. Also, if possible, could you please let us know who you spoke to? We apologize if you were not given the proper information - it is our policy to contact all of our passengers personally... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We read that only season ticket holders can park near Heinz Field on Steeler game days so we looked into an alternative and found the water shuttles offered by The Gateway Clipper. What a joy. Park away from the immense amount of traffic, let a professional navigate and enjoy the companionship of those you are with all while sipping a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SayBye2Me
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our service. Looking forward to seeing you onboard for many years and games to come! GO STEELERS! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 3rd New Year's Eve cruise on the Gateway Clipper. The food is plentiful and good. There is fun dancing to the wide variety of music by the DJ. Standing on the top deck at midnight looking over to the city is spectacular. We released balloons and drank champagne at midnight. I'm looking forward to our 4th New... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 797debbiea
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know! We are looking forward to seeing you onboard for New Year's Eve 2017! More 

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Three couples enjoyed a New Years/30th birthday celebration on the New Years Eve Hors D'ouerves Cruise. The music and dancing were great and the food was plentiful and delicious! We will definitely consider making this a yearly event for our group.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 2retiredinpgh
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed yourself! Hopefully we will see you onboard soon! More 

Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The cruise was very nice and entertaining.We will do it again.Had a great time and the food was exellent. The staff was helpful,and very gracious.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank dgarlitz57
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was terrible from the line getting onto the boat, to getting our drinks with over an hour wait, to the food that wasn't filled for those in line. Absolutely terrible experience from start to finish. We will never go again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank N2308POamanda
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

We appreciate your candor. We are working to fix the issues that seem to have occurred on our NYE Cruise. I hope that you have received the email from our President and we look forward to hearing back from you. If you did not, please email us at info@gatewayclipper.com. More 

Cochranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though the company I was with sucked, gateway clipper definitely saved the night, never fails, always a great experience... good food too of course too, waiting for my parents to get here so I can take them on the cruise once again...❤

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank massimoruzza80
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for a cruise on New Years Eve. Great experience as we have had many other years. Initially the music was not the typical we were used to, but after speaking with the Cruise Director she was able to improve the music and the dance floor was filled again! Would definitely take this cruise again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The cruise was fun but I have been on these cruises before and this one was not up to Gateway Clipper standards in my opinion. Staff did not adequately tell passengers when it was time to eat, some of the food was gone before individuals went up to receive their first plate of food because others received their second plate.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
Gateway1958, Director of Sales at Gateway Clipper Fleet, responded to this review

We truly appreciate you comments and understanding that, yes, it is possible to have an off night. But that is not what we strive for and are working to make sure issues on upcoming cruises do not happen. We would really appreciate it if you could provide us with more information and so that we can speak with you one... More 

Travelers who viewed Gateway Clipper Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Clipper Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gateway Clipper Fleet and other visitors
12 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Clipper Fleet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?