We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dolphin Swim Australia

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: | Dock C, d'Albora Marinas, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 1300 721 358
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Thu - Sun 5:00 am - 10:00 am
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

FIRST and ONLY permitted WILD DOLPHIN SWIM in New South Wales, Australia!!

FIRST and ONLY permitted WILD DOLPHIN SWIM in New South Wales, Australia!!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 212
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Truly lovely experience

The team went above and beyond to ensure the entire experience was enjoyable. They provided a great vibe for the day and ensured we were well taken care of. It took a while to... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Julie P
,
Newcastle, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

The team went above and beyond to ensure the entire experience was enjoyable. They provided a great vibe for the day and ensured we were well taken care of. It took a while to find dolphins on our day but the team prolonged our ride to ensure everyone got the experience they were looking for.

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wow after a cancellation in February due to wheather, we arrived pumped this morning to take part in this experience. Andrew, Lesley, Matt and rest of the crew were great from greeting to farewell. This was my third trip on the imagine catamaran we have done both whale watch and dolphin watch very professionally run. We had to spend a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Jane! Thank you so much for the awesome review - we really appreciate it!! It was great meeting you, Shayne and Ashlea on the tour and particularly great to see your reaction after coming out of the water :-)!! It really was a great morning out and I'm so glad you were able to realise your goal! Please share... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Port Stephen's is a beautiful place and living in NSW you would not think that only a couple of hours away you can take part in such an amazing experience. Dolphin Swim Australia were very professional and knowledgeable in their craft and were dedicated to giving every swimmer an experience of a life time!

Helpful?
Thank Sara M
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Sara! Thank you for the review and for your very kind comments! We certainly are blessed to be able to share this wonderful experience in such a beautiful area :-). Hope to see you again one day! Kind regards Lesley :-) More 

Thornton, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a truly wonderful experience swimming/playing with dolphins in their natural environment. We saw so many dolphins when we were on the boat and in the water. All the crew were friendly, knowledgeable, patient and very accommodating making the experience so enjoyable. I felt so privileged dolphins would swim/play with us like we were part of their pod. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl! Thank you for your wonderful review! It certainly is an amazing privilege to have the dolphins come so close, especially knowing that they do it of their own free will :-). Please share your experience with others so they're aware there is an alternative to captive facilities . Hope to see you again one day! Kind regards Lesley... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right from my first phone call the service given was flawless, I was starting the day with this activity into 5 other activities in the Sydney CBD as a 13th Birthday celebration for a 'Dolphin Mad' girl. I made 5 calls during the preceding months (Autistic / OCD / Over the Top Micromanager) and Adam dealt with EVERY question /... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glen-young55
Lesley D, Swim Assistant/Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Glenn! What a fantastic review - thank you so much! I remember you and Kaylee well and am very happy that Kaylee enjoyed the experience so much - and, of course, that you, as an Observer, also did :-)! Our Manager, Adam Wiltshire, is wonderful to deal with and tries to accommodate the needs/wants of all our guests as... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I went and it was the most unbelievable experience of our lives! Our original date was canceled due to bad weather but the Team did an Amazing job of rescheduling as quickly as possibly - which was fantastic since we were on a pretty tight schedule. The feeling of being accepted by wild dolphins into their pod... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deena S
Lesley D, Swim Assistant/Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Deena :-)! Thank you so much for the fantastic review - and also for my special mention :-)!! It was so wonderful to share this very special experience with you and Frank and I'm really glad you were both able to see and swim with so many dolphins on the day :-). It really is a magical experience, isn't... More 

Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2017

An absolutely amazing trip, the crew who run this trip are totally dedicated to making this a once in a lifetime experience, they are passionate about what they do . The trip lasts for about 5 hours and is money well spent. All the equipment is supplied and the day starts with a safety briefing and outline of the order... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillgdp
Andrew P, Owner at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Gill, Thanks so much for your excellent review. We sure love what we do and we are grateful you had such a wonderful time with us. We look forward to seeing you on the boat again. Dolphin smiles Andrew CEO Dolphin Swim Australia More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2017

i have had 4 attempts to swim with dolphins in other places, and they all failed. This trip today was brilliant. I was stunned at the helpfulness of the team, their passion and commitment to the dolphins and the customers. You will love this experience. Worth every cent. Hint. you get there at 5am. I goofed and arrived at 4,30... More 

Helpful?
Thank illana15
Andrew P, Owner at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Ilanna, I thought you looked a little tired:) I'm so glad you had such a great swim with us. I wasn't aware you had four attempts in other places before us. You have now completed the task you set for yourself, meeting with, swimming with wild dolphins in their own environment, offshore, in the wild. You did it!! Congratulations:)... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Being from the Canadian Prairies, this was a once in a lifetime experience my daughter and I will never forget. Wasn't too comfortable with the snorkel but the guides were extremely patient and helped us through. We felt far more comfortable observing from the deck and enjoyed that experience thoroughly. The entire crew was great and the dolphins, of course,... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

We spent an awesome day on the dolphin swim with Andrew and his crew. The day was perfect and the dolphins plentiful. My daughters both swam with the dolphins and rated the experience 10/10. I was just a spectator but was more than happy with just seeing the dolphins everywhere from the bow. Would highly recommend this adventure to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Jodie P
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this review

Hi Jodie! Thank you so much for the great review and the 10/10 rating - fantastic!! It's true that even the Observers have a fantastic time on the tour! We hope you and your daughters can come back and join us again some time :-)! Kind regards Lesley :-) More 

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Swim Australia also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Dolphin Swim Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolphin Swim Australia and other visitors
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Swim Australia staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?