Bridlington Spa

Bridlington Spa: Hours, Address, Bridlington Spa Reviews: 4.5/5

Bridlington Spa
4.5
Art Galleries • Theaters • Coffeehouses
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Bridlington Spa is a theatre, ballroom, art gallery and conference centre located on the south bay of Bridlington. Originally built in 1896, the building has undergone four rebuilds/refurbishments over the years; the latest being a £20M refurbishment between 2006 and 2008. The venue features a huge Art Deco Ballroom, Edwardian proscenium-arched theatre with flytower, art gallery displaying local artists' work and a cafe benefiting from panoramic views across the beach and sea. You can see as far as Withernsea on a clear day. The venue is home to touring musicals on the Yorkshire Coast, is known for producing it's own theatre and repertory season and is often used by top names in the music industry to launch arena tours. The venue's programme features in excess of 400 entertainment shows each year as well as more than 350 business events. Bridlington Spa is open every day of the year with the exception of Christmas Day.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
803 reviews
Excellent
486
Very good
192
Average
62
Poor
28
Terrible
35

Mike R
26 contributions
Not a good experience
Nov 2021 • Couples
Came here on sat 27/11/21 to see the Frankie valley show we was in a party of 4 although the show and music was amazing the night was spoilt as we did not get the same position seats we booked on the floor plan it was as though you packed more tables in for more money to say we was packed like sardines would be an understatement we had no room to move also to leave the table and get past people to go to the bar was almost impossible.surely you did not think of fire regulations also bar overpriced and beer tasted terrible .we would have to think long and hard before we return.
Written November 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

James C
Rochdale, UK2 contributions
Amazing Saturday Evening
Nov 2021 • Couples
What an absolute fantastic night we had! Went to watch Jason Manford and he was brilliant.
Staff were amazing, it can't be easy organising so many people in one go and they did it perfectly, Martin especially was amazing as he couldn't do to much for us, he is a credit to the place.

I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for future shows that me and my partner will be coming to!
Written November 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jeffrey L
1 contribution
Box Office SPA - Dire customer services
Oct 2021
AVOID

We won't bother with Bridlington SPA, absolute waste of time!

My wife and I have been trying to make contact with them to book tickets for a dance. They say the box office is open, (website) we've tried ringing, no one picks up the phone.
We've e-mailed them and got a reply that they're open.

Tried and tried several times no joy !
E-mailed them again, left our telephone number as clearly there is a communication problem, no one makes contact.

I wonder if Michelle Hatton who organises such events is aware.
Written October 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry to hear that you struggled to get through. Like most businesses, we are currently short-staffed and this has resulted in our box office opening hours becoming more fluid than usual due to staff availability and the needs of the business to be open during the day and for shows in an evening. We have investigated this further and have seen that you did receive responses to your emails and that our box office staff listed all the dates for ballroom dancing for you. Like many working in the hospitality and entertainment industry our staff are working incredibly hard under exceptional circumstances, and we were disappointed that despite our best endeavours and providing you with the information you needed, you threatened to leave a bad TripAdvisor review. However we note and are pleased that you have since booked for Ballroom Dancing and hope you enjoy your visit. Thanks Bridlington Spa Management
Written October 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bubblesinpuddles
28 contributions
Fabulous Views
Oct 2021
Enjoyed lunch whilst overlooking the beach and sea views. Food lovely although soup could have been warm. Staff very friendly.
Written October 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Terri-leigh B
6 contributions
A great venue with a stunnning view
Sep 2021 • Family
We visited the spa for a christening in one of the suits and the service from the staff was superb. My other half wouldn’t stop talking about how amazing the sausage rolls were on the buffet 😂
Written October 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KMP
East Yorkshire18 contributions
Fantastic Venue
Oct 2021
Brilliant venue, really good location and clean and tidy inside. Staff are friendly and attentive, and the prices for the different shows are brilliant. Recently went to see Ladyboys of Bangkok, show was fabulous, really enjoyed it and will be going to Bridlington Spa again.
Written October 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

neesy-ben
Huddersfield, UK587 contributions
Favourite for elevenses.
Oct 2021
I called a couple of times whilst out & about for a pot of tea and a toasted fruit teacake, enough in the 'pot' for a generous 2 cups. A good view from the 'big' window of the beach and harbour, the information leaflets are varied and full of interesting things, the 'loo's' are spotless!
Written October 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

VEGETARIANME
BOLTON24 contributions
My new favourite place in Brid
Sep 2021 • Couples
Walked past The Spa many times on the promenade & never been in (possibly because the entrance was round the other side 🤔)
A friend said you must go in & so we did & were not disappointed - didn't realise what a perfect spot it was to enjoy a coffee & snacks.

Each time we were lucky enough to get a seat near the windows & found the view so relaxing & captivating.

Our first visit was for breakfast but they had nothing vegetarian which was disappointing so we chose soup & a sandwich which was very keenly priced & good quality.

Called another day & shared a huge mixed salad - again tasty & quality.

The cakes looked delicious & were clearly popular with the regulars but we were too full for cake but I will save room next time!

The staff were patient, friendly & helpful.
Written October 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Guy C
Reading, UK10 contributions
Coeliac? Avoid this place.
Sep 2021
Asking for gluten free, I was informed that the cafe has gluten free toast but it’s cooked in the same toaster as normal bread. When I challenged this I was told it’s OK as long as they tell me.

No. Seriously, no. This demonstrates a complete lack of understanding of cross-contamination. It is not safe for a coeliac to eat in a place like this.
Written September 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As with any catering establishment, we are unable to guarantee anything being free from, due to the nature of the business. On this occasion there might have been a misunderstanding, my colleague outlined that we only had one toaster which meant that it would mean cross-contamination when she spoke to yourself and then offered an alternative. Bridlington Spa is constantly updating and adhering to all Government legislations and procedures.
Written September 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rhys P
Wirral, UK5 contributions
Fabulous entertainment but room to improve
Aug 2021
We attended the SPA to see Jane McDonald on Sunday evening. The time stated on the tickets is the time which the show starts, doors opened 30 minutes prior. It was my first time to the SPA despite visiting Bridlington many times.

We queued to enter the SPA via the main entrance. On the rear of the tickets they advise you to park in a local car park but it was full however we were lucky enough to find a parking space on the road a short walk from the venue.

The queue was not very well ordered but it quickly passed, our tickets were checked and we went straight into the foyer. I was very surprised not to see any baggage checks on other ticket holders especially in a time of heightened security since the Manchester attacks.

We were not directed in the way towards our seats, but we found our own way. We were seated downstairs in the Royal Hall and I was surprised not to see fixed seating. The seating was chairs set out in rows. The leg room was squashed and if other patrons needed to enter the row all others needed to move out. The seats were hard backed and not very comfortable but sufficed for the evening.

During the 30 minute interval I went to get some drinks and snacks. To my surprise the refreshment stand downstairs does not accept cards. I wonder why as a venue that accepts cards upstairs, they have not introduced this throughout the venue with the ease of iPads and card readers being portable and people less inclined to carry cash in the current pandemic. I decided to go to the upstairs bar and purchased my items there but they did not sell ice cream but thankfully the server sold me the ice cream, gave me a recipe and advised me to go to the ice cream stand and explain. I did this and finally got my ice cream despite the messing around.

I visited the toilets during the interval. They were cleaned and tidy. The notice to say the water is hot isn’t lying as it is more boiling than hot!

Throughout the venue the staffs knowledge of seating, and sales of drinks and snacks including the payments methods accepted are varied and. Ideal training should be carried out to ensure the same standards are maintained throughout.

After the show everyone began to exit. I was once again shocked that there was no social distancing procedures in place to prevent crowding such as a row by row exit. There was a lot of pushing and shoving. It is slightly unnerving that this is without panic and worry if there was an emergency situation would everyone get out safely and quickly, this is also another issue with the non fixed seating.

If I was to return to the SPA for another show I think I would opt for a seat upstairs as these are fixed and I would imagine the leg room would be better but overall it was a very pleasant night with fabulous entertainment in a smaller than usual building for the show.
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the show. On the points you have raised we don't have fixed seating in the royal hall as it is a multi purpose space. One night we could have a seated concert like you attended and then the next day we could have ballroom dancing and then a standing gig in the evening, so the seating has to be flexible. We have fixed seating in our theatre which is a smaller space. We are working towards having contactless payments throughout the whole building and this will be completed soon. We have measures in place for emergency situations such as you mentioned. We also ask that patrons exit the building in a safe and measured manner.
Written September 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 801
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bridlington Spa

Bridlington Spa is open:
  • Sun - Sun 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Mon - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM