We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staircase House

Staircase House 31 Market Place, Stockport SK1 1ES, England
+44 161 474 4444
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A quirky house

As part of s multi venue ticket we were able to visit the Staircase House not quite sure what we... read more

Reviewed May 12, 2018
June W
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Really interesting

I was looking for some where indoors to visit with my mum on a wet day and Staircase House came up... read more

Reviewed April 30, 2018
Sarah D
via mobile
Read all 152 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good22%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“audio tour” (13 reviews)
“touch things” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Staircase House 31 Market Place, Stockport SK1 1ES, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 161 474 4444
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 13 reviews
"touch things"
in 7 reviews
"from room to room"
in 5 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"dressing up"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 8 reviews
"old house"
in 5 reviews
"amazing house"
in 3 reviews
"victorian market"
in 3 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 9 reviews
"story museum"
in 4 reviews
"original building"
in 2 reviews
"lovely museum"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 8 reviews
"free entry"
in 3 reviews
"take your time"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

As part of s multi venue ticket we were able to visit the Staircase House not quite sure what we would see the building is very old and well set out rooms depicting the various eras. The Staircase was a little disappointing as this was...More

1  Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi June, thank you for your review, such a shame about the staircase, did we explain on the guide that the dark sections were the original wood from 1618? maybe we should add a better explanation - we are due to update it soon (the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

I was looking for some where indoors to visit with my mum on a wet day and Staircase House came up on google and I’m really pleased it did. We had a great time learning about the house, it’s past residents and the local area....More

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - we love it when people come back for a second (or third) visit and bring more guests, especially as they often have a favourite item or room to show them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We took the grandchildren aged 2 and 3 years and the chap at information suggested we go straight to the top floor for the children. Since we arrived late we decided not to do the whole house but just the 4th floor - there was...More

Thank jonomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - the Fourth Floor family area is relatively new and we love it! lots of families come and visit just for that floor, especially the creepy Mummy's hands :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Rainy weather made us think of something to do with a 10yr old a 2yr old and visiting parents from Durham!! It was a great decision to visit the museum :-) And my mother-in-law was in a wheelchair too... It all worked perfectly. With the...More

1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - we are one of very few Medieval houses where every floor is wheelchair accessible, its a great help to our visitors :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Took my daughter when she came to visit, The building is like a Tardis, and sweems to go on forever, From sections of the original building to cases full of displays of local businesses, and local history, there is something for all ages. What is...More

Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - what a great description :-) we should try and get the new Doctor to come visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

My family and I had a lovely visit to this museum. My grandkids loved it (a 6yr old and a 10 yr old). There's plenty to see and it's great that you can touch lots of things. The kids enjoyed writing with Quills. The Stockport...More

2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - the quill room (and all the ink!) is very popular - thankfully it washes off easily :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

During my previous two reviews, I'd expressed my concern at an unfriendly atmosphere from staff and upon my most recent previous review, the manager apologised and asked us to give the staff another chance. We did - we visited on Friday and all of the...More

1  Thank desmondsdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so chuffed you enjoyed your visit - thank you for coming back and giving us a second chance :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

When looking for something to do whilst staying near Stockport, we discovered this little gem. The entrance to this lovely museum gives no hint of the adventure to come. Travel through time and discover the history of the oldest building in Stockport, the people that...More

1  Thank LynetteChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you - we got Tripadvisor's 'hidden gem' award a couple of years ago :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

Visited this house right next door to another museum so 2 attractions in 1. Staircase house well worth a visit and as the man said ( Graham i think) kids can touch stuff if this side if the rope. Very informative. A very old house...More

1  Thank sharoncN4034SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - i will tell Graham he was welcoming :-) Nearly all the items on display in the house are able to be picked up, tried on, and played with - great for selfies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

Visited to see the Strawberry Studios museum. Lots of information on 10cc and other artists. Really interesting. It should finish end of January but it has now been extended to the end of February. Free entry but they do accept donations. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank jazziej45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelInspector, Manager at Staircase House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a lovely review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Stockport
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
508 reviews
.15 miles away
Travelodge Stockport hotel
159 reviews
.34 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
197 reviews
.44 miles away
Trivelles Mayfair
145 reviews
.96 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Allotment Vegan Restaurant
161 reviews
.05 miles away
The Arden Arms
443 reviews
.06 miles away
Leonardo's
61 reviews
.06 miles away
Rhode Island Coffee
78 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Robinsons Brewery
402 reviews
.14 miles away
The Plaza
536 reviews
.27 miles away
Stockport Air Raid Shelters
455 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marion H
April 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sharoncN4034SB | Reviewed this property |
not directly at the house but plenty nearby
1
Vote
mariephillips344
March 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sharoncN4034SB | Reviewed this property |
i didnt recall a lift. It would be better you contact them.
0
Votes
Dave E
November 13, 2016|
Answer
Response from CarlSixsmith | Reviewed this property |
we paid £5 each for adults, kids where free
0
Votes
;