We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

C & M Stables

#4 of 15 Outdoor Activities in Florence Features Animals
90241 Hwy. 101, Florence, OR 97439-8623
+1 541-997-7540
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A must for anyone going to the Oregon Coast!

I went to C & M Stables in December 2014 with my best friend. The staff were friendly and very... read more

Reviewed September 6, 2015
Nicole J
,
Roseburg, Oregon
Saddle Up!

As I drove over the Coast Range from Eugene to Florence the windshield wipers went from occasional... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2015
Meg T
,
Eugene
Read all 119 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good12%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
90241 Hwy. 101, Florence, OR 97439-8623
CONTACT
Website
+1 541-997-7540
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2015

I went to C & M Stables in December 2014 with my best friend. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They placed each of us with a horse that perfectly fit our ability! I have been riding all of my life, where as my...More

Thank Nicole J
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Nicole, Your review brought tears to my eyes – briefly, of course. Although cowboys don’t cry, a guest report that Got It caught me at a sensitive moment. Thank you. It was so gratifying to read a review from an experienced rider with the...More

Reviewed September 1, 2015

As I drove over the Coast Range from Eugene to Florence the windshield wipers went from occasional to full force and back to ‘off’ over and over during the 60 mile drive. I worried what it would be like to horseback ride from C&M Stables...More

Thank Meg T
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Meg, Thanks for illuminating a topic I call Weather Or Not. That is, weather is local and one can drive out of rain and 10 miles later find sunshine, particularly along the Oregon coast. Every year in fall, winter and spring, we have guests...More

Reviewed August 22, 2015

My boyfriend and I went for the 2 hour trail/beach ride and had a wonderful time! My boyfriend proposed to me on the beach and the C&M guide caught the whole thing on camera, which was greatly appreciated! The ride itself was a lot of...More

1  Thank NAH08
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Dear Nxxxxx, It is guests like you and Axxxxx, and the experiences we are privileged to share with you, that make C&M such a special place. Your photos, which you kindly gave us permission to use, will soon appear on C&M’s Facebook page, on our...More

Reviewed August 18, 2015

called same day and got a reservation on the dune trail ride because the beach/trail rides were all booked. Super nice and very patient staff instructed us and led the ride. Narrow sandy trails through the dune vegetation, incredible sunny weather - all made for...More

Thank roseyippee
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Rose, Thanks for your delightful review of our Dune Trail ride. I agree that our Dune Trail rides are a great way to spend some time on a horse while touring the coastal forest and ever changing sand dunes immediately inland from the Pacific...More

Reviewed August 15, 2015

I'm not against size restrictions for horseback riding; I understand the need. But C & M Stables needs to mention that THEY DO HAVE SIZE RESTRICTIONS somewhere, anywhere, on their website or on their forms. I'm 250 and 5'9", and when I called to make...More

1  Thank Lisa S
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, I am sorry we disappointed you, and I thank you for your suggestion. I discussed your recommendation with our web designer and we plan to add height and weight guidance when next we update our website. Let me elaborate on this sensitive subject....More

Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

The people, the horses, the views - I've never experienced anything so wonderful!. The walk through the woods on wonderfully narrow trails was haunting, then out to the dunes where the horses had to climb through soft sand till we reached the beach. We were...More

Thank Kate G
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Kate, Thank you for your wonderful review. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed the trail ride out to the beach, as well as the beach portion of the ride. Personally, I believe starting our rides with some trail time allows our guests the...More

Reviewed August 12, 2015

We spent just over two hours on horseback for a beach ride. It was a beach were there were no others out there, and it was beautiful. The group was less than 15 so it was a good trip. A little windy, but one should...More

Thank Gwen M
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Gwen, Thanks for helpful comments from an experienced reviewer. I appreciated your point that we ride on a beach rarely used by others. Yes, it can be windy on the beach, but no problem if prepared. Like you, many of our guests are discovering...More

Reviewed August 8, 2015

Very beautiful setting. Everyone was very nice from check in, to the actual ride. They took their time finding the right horse for each rider. They were very organized and horses were very well trained. Even kids with no experience were able to go on...More

Thank Brandy S
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Brandy, What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our C&M Team works hard and it is very gratifying to hear from guests who understand and appreciate what we try to do every day, for every guest. We look forward to seeing you and your family...More

Reviewed August 8, 2015

We did the 1.5 hour dunes / beach ride. The staff were very friendly and kept the group engaged. The scenery was beautify and the family really enjoyed it. You can tell everyone working at the stables really loves horses. The ride was not boring...More

Thank Dawg_Travelers
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Dawg, Thanks for a review that nailed what our C&M Team strives for. Our staff works hard and really appreciates guests who enjoy this wonderful experience. Please come back soon. Fall riding can be awesome and we are not that far from Portland. Let’s...More

Reviewed July 31, 2015

Great experience from start to finish. Super friendly staff and very helpful. Sarah was a GREAT guide. Very well organized and a very fun experience. Great horses!More

Thank missionmtntravel
CandM_Manager, Owner at C & M Stables, responded to this review

Hello Missionmtntravel, Thank you for reporting your experience on one of our busiest days of the year. It is a particular honor to earn an Excellent rating from an experienced traveler and reviewer who does not hand out 5 stars to everyone. I hope you...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Chens Family Dish
164 reviews
6.09 miles away
Rosa's Florence Mexican Restaurant
85 reviews
6.55 miles away
Dutch Bros. Coffee
54 reviews
7.03 miles away
The Surfside Restaurant and Lounge
191 reviews
3.68 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Heceta Head Lighthouse
823 reviews
3.70 miles away
Sea Lion Caves
1,118 reviews
2.64 miles away
Darlingtonia State Natural Site
177 reviews
2.74 miles away
Hobbit Trail
132 reviews
4.14 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Judy H
I am thinking about buying a go pro camera to wear on my helmet, is that an ok thing to do? Normally I would have my large digital camera but because it is large and the information sounds like that is discouraged I have a small pocket camera but it only takes average photos and videos. thanks, Judy Hobday
October 12, 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from CandM_Manager | Property representative |
Hi Judy, Yes, using a Go Pro camera is OK, and some other guests have done so. Please mention the Go Pro when you make your reservation. However, we have found that it can be distracting and the results disappointing... More
0
Votes
tamie1126
what are the cost for the horseback rides
February 25, 2015|
Answer
Response from Mary B |
I called and it is $75 per rider for 90 minutes. More if you want to ride for 2 hours...$90 per person.
1
Vote