We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Always Catchin' Fishing Charters

Features Animals
Cascade Locks, OR, USA
More
About Always Catchin' Fishing Charters
Always Catchin’ is a fully licensed and insured guide service providing Salmon, Steelhead and Sturgeon fishing trips on the Columbia and Willamette Rivers, from Portland to the Johnday River. Guided Fishing Trips Make great gifts and an excellent adventure for family and friends.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 2:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Always Catchin' Fishing Charters
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
43Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 34
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jody C wrote a review Jul 2021
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
We had an awesome day with Jess! 6 of us on the boat and we all reeled in at least 2 Sturgeon each within a few hours. He is knowledgeable about the area and the different fish in the Columbia. He has a clean, comfortable boat, with high sides and nice gear. He has been fishing most of his life and he had us on the fish all day long. He communicates promptly leading up to the trip and makes sure to teach you what works to have a great day on the water! We highly recommend Jess and look forward to fishing with him again on a return trip to this area!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RH o wrote a review Jul 2021
Lafayette, Louisiana1 contribution
Jess was a fabulous guide! The trip was well prepared and his boat is very comfortable with high sides. Great fishing and a great day! We hope to be back.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Meredith C wrote a review Jul 2021
Augusta, Georgia4 contributions7 helpful votes
The captain warned we may not be able to fish. We understood but our son wanted nothing more than to catch a sturgeon. We flew 2500 miles for this trip and wanted to give our son any opportunity. We were in Oregon for a limited amount of time. Once we got out on the water the captain seemed both rushed and agitated. He lost four fish and then called the trip after 1 hour and 30 minutes. We paid a $1000 for an eight hour trip and he refused to work with us on taking another trip with him or refunding any of our money. I understand he was annoyed he had to go out after warning us about the weather however there was no reason whatsoever to be ugly to us and our son.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am very sorry you were so unhappy about your trip you decided to comment so negatively. Especially since we communicated so much before the trip about the wind being a problem, and that I would give it my best, but that I didn't think we would be able to stay out very long. You had already scheduled several other fishing trips with other people, one of which you said had also been cancelled due to weather. I asked if we could move our trip to another day that looked like better weather, and you said you had a set schedule for me on Thursday, and another fishing trip scheduled for Saturday with someone else. I understand how difficult it is to travel a long distance for a vacation, and try to make plans to do things. Unfortunately I can't control the weather. I can't control if fish bite or not, and we didn't really have much time to make a good go at it. I was surprised to see this negative comment since we parted amicably, and you acted like you understood the situation. Also being a small business owner yourself, would understand my inability to refund money to every person who complains, or things don't work out the way they want. I would have refunded your money if we were unable to go out, but you were very insistent on trying come what may. I am sorry we were unable to make any of those bites work. I truly am. I get no joy out of people having a bad time, or not catching fish. I got into this business because I love to see the faces, hear and see the excitement, of people when they catch a fish. I honestly want my guests to catch fish more then they want to because of the joy I get out of it, and the feeling of accomplishment that I worked hard and gave you a great experience. If you felt I was ugly to you, I am sorry. I try to be honest and upfront about how the fishing is, what the expectation is, and if the weather is bad. Perhaps my frustration about the weather not cooperating and the added stress of trying to make your trip a good one with high winds blowing us all over and making the bite hard to see showed through. It was my frustration with myself. I don't want to lose money, and that's what would have happened if I had just cancelled on you, but I hoped I could make something happen in the short time we had. I'm sorry you felt I didn't try my best either, because I do every time I go out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drkeicher1@gmail.com wrote a review Jun 2021
Central Florida, Florida7 contributions
+1
Been fishing for 60 years and never caught fish this big! I told Jess we were looking forward to making a family memory and he delivered in a big way! Good family fun, a birthday my 31 yr old daughter will not forget. Fought a 12' monster for more than an hour! Took 4 of us to bring it to the boat, what a blast watching these two young ladies battle the monster for 30 plus minutes till they gave in to let the dads take over! Best part was watching it swim away for another day! Always Catchin is a great option for your Columbia river experience!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jerry wrote a review Sep 2020
San Jose, California1 contribution
Arrived at the dock at the prescribed time, Jess's "welcome was "We have business to take care of". Not "good morning". but "pay up". Before we left the dock he informed the two other fishermen on the boat, who had booked multiple days with him, that "You'll catch fish tomorrow". This let us know right off that he had sold us a $400 boat ride. During the "ride" we listened to Jess's right-wing political monologue, among other stories about himself. Fortunately, the weather was good and our other two companions were personable and had the good sense to keep politics out of the experience.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456