We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Well Traveled Fork

Bend, OR, USA
More
About The Well Traveled Fork
The Well Traveled Fork offers insightful culinary tours and cooking classes in the Central Oregon area. You can meet the farmers and ranchers that grow the food that you put on your table. The growers will show you their fields and pastures, the places that make their products so unique that you will begin to understand and appreciate what fresh, local, organic, seasonal and sustainable food is all about!Our cooking classes are the best! Chef Bette teaches children as well as the experienced cook new things to do in the kitchen. From Wood Fired Cuisine in her pizza oven paired with Bend' famous beers to French pastry or children's classes, a day in the kitchen with Chef Bette is a memorable event.
Read more

The Well Traveled Fork
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
64Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
LvToTrvlBend wrote a review Jun 2016
Bend, Oregon8 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I just joined The Well Traveled Fork for their summer Farm to Table dinner where you meet at the Bend Farmer's Market to pick out local organic produce and then go back to their kitchen for a hands on cooking experience and lovely meal. Transportation was provided from downtown Bend to the kitchen and back. Chef Mary was great! We're looking forward to doing this again with a group of friends. I think it would also be a great family experience for those who have age appropriate children.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from ChefBette, Owner at The Well Traveled Fork
Responded Jun 11, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed this new cooking class. We continue to strive to connect people to the source of their food. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Kimberly H wrote a review Mar 2016
Suisun City, California4 contributions5 helpful votes
I was incredibly disappointed in this "Culinary" tour. I have been on other city food tours and expected to ate least be sampling actual food from restaurants. I feel like we were completely ripped off as I do not know what our $90 paid for??? Here is where we went and my reviews: Olive Oil shop: Navidis - There are already free samples there & we could have gone by ourselves. Mcmenniman's - She let us share one beer per couple and acted like this was a special treat that she was adding to the tour. (Worth what, $6?) Townsends - Tried a few sips of nasty, sour kambucha tea (worth what, $2?) Salud: Disgusting vegan "raw" dip samples with tiny sample of smoothies (worth max $4) Bonta - Gelato that gives out free samples. then small cup of gelato (worth max $8) Lone Pine: SMALL sample of black coffee and chai tea (worth max $3) So I conclude that by stretching it, the stuff we tried could have cost a total of $24. I kept waiting until we were actually going to try any FOOD on the CULINARY tour and it never happened. Worst tour ever.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2016
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ChefBette, Owner at The Well Traveled Fork
Responded Mar 26, 2016
We are sorry you were disappointed with our culinary tour. We are quite careful on our web site and advertising that this is a tour featuring local food producers, not necessary restaurants. We also clearly state that we sample food at locally owned businesses and we have discussed and made arrangements in advance with the local businesses. You would not be able to get what we offer without a tour. Bend is a small town but our area produces incredible local products. We are all highly trained culinary professionals that want to inspire people to eat locally. Finally, your tour cost was $50 per person. Again, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy the local foods from our area.
Read more
Kathryn B wrote a review Feb 2016
Coto de Caza, California2 contributions
We spent a lovely afternoon with the friendly chef from Well Traveled Fork touring a great mix of eating/drinking establishments in beautiful Bend. She introduced us to a great coffee house, fabulous gelato place, off-the-beaten-path breweries, meat shop and other places we might never have found on our own. Along the way, we enjoyed delicious samples and purchased some goodies (jam, coffee beans, cheese) to take home. Whether you live here or are just passing through, this is a wonderful excursion and a great way to get a taste of Bend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2016
Helpful
Share
janemO5333JP wrote a review Feb 2016
Bend, Oregon1 contribution
I recently attended a group event that was catered by The Well Traveled Fork and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the vegetarian entree. I told the neighbor seated next to me that it was the best pasta entree I'd ever tasted, including those I've had in restaurants. To find it at a large group event, coming out of the self-serve hot pan, was a great surprise. It was a vegan pasta with a tomato vegetable sauce that had a very rich and satisfying flavor. I was told that it included a wide variety of vegetables, but they were cooked down to a thick sauce. I think it must have been slow-cooked to bring out the umami taste. Marvellous! The meal also included a green salad (fresh ingredients and a light, tasty dressing) and wheat-white rolls. For the non-vegetarians, there was another pasta dish that included pork, and I can't speak to that except to say that the entire dish of food was gone by the end of the event. I appreciate that The Well Traveled Fork works with fresh, local ingredients and has such a passion for excellent food!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2016
Helpful
Share
Steve P wrote a review Jan 2016
Bend, Oregon3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been to events that Bette has catered, the food was fresh and fantastic. My wife and I also attended one of The Well Traveled Fork's wood fired pizza classes. Had a great time, was able to work with the wood fired oven which was an excellent experience and then got to eat the pizza. Well worth doing. Would be a fun group activity.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from ChefBette, Owner at The Well Traveled Fork
Responded Jan 9, 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We continually work hard to make our food and your experience exceptional. We look forward to seeing you again. Follow the Fork!!!
Read more
Previous
123456