We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 760 Bayview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number: 419 967 0796
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Description:

Kayak the Bay, Ltd. has single and double sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in...

Kayak the Bay, Ltd. has single and double sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in downtown Put-in-Bay, Ohio in Lake Erie. Gibraltar Island is only a few minutes paddle away with extraordinary limestone cliffs and coves. You can take an easy paddle in the harbor and paddle up to the 3rd tallest national monument, Perry's Monument, or follow the west shore to the Benson Ford (this has been on MTV's Unusual homes)or paddle over to Middle Bass Island and a walk around the old Lonz Winery with the glacial grooves in the back of the property. A paddle east will take you to East Point where you can get a great view of Middle Bass Island and Ballast Island or get out and have a picnic. Pull up and walk the beach Our kayaks are for getting in between the cliffs and rocks-they are very stable. Great for beginners and experienced kayakers. We give instructions on where to go depending on weather and your skill level. We can accommodate large groups and can personalize custom Sunset Tours or any kind of tour with a guide for your group.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 72 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 57
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
enjoyed much

It was first time when I tried kayaki, and I had awesome time. We rent double kayaki for 2 hours which costs 20$ for each person and went to Middle Bass island. We had rest there... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Kanan D
,
Baku, Azerbaijan
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was first time when I tried kayaki, and I had awesome time. We rent double kayaki for 2 hours which costs 20$ for each person and went to Middle Bass island. We had rest there, swim, take photos and then ride back. It was really enjoyable and we didnt tired that much.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kanan D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We showed up around 4PM and the guy at the booth was very nice and recommended a large kayak for me, my husband, and our 6 year old. We have never been kayaking before. The weather was PERFECT. The guy told us to aim straight into waves in order to not tip. That was a nice suggestion and we ended... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

The guy was helpful and courteous. He informed us about the calm areas and what to do in case a wake approaches. Overall, it was a fantastic experience.

Helpful?
Thank GoingGermany
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

This was our second time using Kayak the Bay while visiting Put-in-Bay. They are absolutely fantastic and the lady who runs it is so nice. We kayaked out around the private island owned by OSU and also kayaked down the shoreline to the "ship house". In this most recent outing ages ranged from 18 to 68 and everyone really enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank madimorg
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Some good things to start with: it is easy to find, and they have a lot of kayaks. Besides that, my experience wasn't great. I took some international students here, and we were excited to try something new. I guess we caught her on a bad day, because the woman working was rude. She acted like we were all stupid... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dani B
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

If I said crybaby-it certainly wasn't making fun. I get motionsick too. Sorry my joking didn't go well. If I remember this group-they seemed very happy. I guess after questions like.......do you have skydiving? is there any shade out there? how many people can you put in a double? can we rent that yacht?.....it's pretty tough 7days a week in... More 

Gahanna, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Deciding to kayak one afternoon, we walked over to the kayak rentals. Vicki, the proprietor, was wonderful to deal with, discussed the experience, gave us life vests and helped us into the two person kayak. She recommended places to go and instructed us on paddling and how to avoid wakes from other watercraft. Off we went. It was a fun... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiodoglover
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a great time and hope to see you again. There are lots of different directions to go to. Peaceful or adventurous. \ Thank you for coming by. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

ON THURSDAY THE 21ST WE WENT TO PIB TO GO KAYAKING ,I have been there with the family and by myself many times, this year I called ahead to check the opening time and the owner said noon so we reworked our schedule from 10 am to 12 no big deal we would have plenty of time to kayak and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geo A
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

Sorry about that. There was a day that I had business that I HAD to take care of. I'm a one-woman band here and try my best. I'm very sorry and hope you will come back again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

My daughter and I stopped at Kayak the Bay in the morning intending to go kayaking at that time. The owner (unfortunately I can't recall her name) asked our experience level. Since we were fairly inexperienced kayakers, she recommended that we wait until the afternoon to see if the wind died down some. We took her advice and as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you. I'm glad you had a good time. It was a hard summer to try and figure the weather out. I have lost a lot of business because I've been overly cautious, but I know how crazy Lake Erie can be. I would rather be over cautious. I'm glad it worked out. I love to hear that. I hope... More 

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We tried to use this service. We met with the owner and she was not very nice to us. She talked down to all of my family and even cut off my adult son off in mid sentence by saying "Next". We did go to another establishment and they were able to accommodate us with no problem. I am sure... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank sssboat
KayaktheBay, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

I am so sorry. I can't believe I said "next" because I am hardwired to NOT say that word. (I worked another job that emphasized..... if you used that word-your job would be in peril". I surely hope you come back and let me see if I can make it a better experience for you. That is NOT was a... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

We knew when we came to Put-In-Bay that we wanted to try to kayak around the island one day. We found Kayak the Bay, which had reasonable prices for a few hours of kayaking. We asked the owner about kayaking around the island - she said she didn't recommend it because of the wind that day, but we decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rij9204
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

It WAS some kinda wind day, but you guys did it. Actually 4 hours with that wind was seriously good time. For safety, there are certain days that are NOT optimal for most of my kayakers, but I'm glad you met the challenge and your goal. (BTW- I had backup if you had been too late) Thanks for coming!!!! More 

Travelers who viewed Kayak the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Kayak the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kayak the Bay and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kayak the Bay staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?