We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

African Safari Wildlife Park

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 267 S Lightner Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3851
Phone Number: +1 800-521-2660
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description:

Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where...

Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 732 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 289
    Excellent
  • 255
    Very good
  • 109
    Average
  • 39
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Drive on the wild side

Went with a friend and wasn't sure what to expect. I enjoy animals and getting to see some really close up was fun. The day was in the low 90's and yes some were in the shade but... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Ron V
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 728: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was a fun thing to do while visiting Port Clinton/Put in Bay. Definitely would bring kids here they would absolutely love it as much as we did! We laughed and giggled because we would get slimed by the animals but it was worth it to see them up close and personal. We even got to see a kangaroo with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cincywebz
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is a small, walk-thru zoo, pig races, and camel rides for small children. The drive-thru portion was just okay. There is a fee for animal feed that supports the safari, but the selection of animals is not what I'd call "African Safari." Overall, it was nice for the Groupon price ($8.)

Helpful?
Thank ceeshellbell
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi ceeshellbell, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you had an overall nice experience at African Safari. We offer our Guests the opportunity to see and feed over 15 different species in the Drive-Thru Safari, with 7 of them being exotic/not from the United States. If you would like to discuss... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I always enjoy the "Walk Through" portion of the African Safari Wildlife Park in Port Clinton, Ohio. This past Friday was not the case. We paid the full Walk Through price, but was not told that the camel ride, the educational animal shows and pig races were discontinued for the season except for extended weekends. There were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorrie C
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Lorrie C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your most recent visit to African Safari was not completely satisfactory, and we apologize for the confusion regarding our off-Season times/closing of activities. Our Walk-Thru Safari will be closing for 2016 Season at the end of the day on September 25th,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with a friend and wasn't sure what to expect. I enjoy animals and getting to see some really close up was fun. The day was in the low 90's and yes some were in the shade but for a chance at a carrot they were out! The huge number of alpaca was boring although when one wiped it's nose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron V
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Ron V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you had an overall enjoyable experience at African Safari and found our Staff to be pleasant and helpful :) Be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the Park! More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all loved it. Feeding the nomads was fun, went thru twice. Enjoyed the walking tour also and first free camel ride!

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you had a WILD time at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals! Be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win passes to the Park! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very fun place to visit! The animals are fun to watch and feed, but beware! they will stick their heads in your car and steal your carrots! LOL! It was a lot of fun driving through and seeing them all. Also, the gem mining was fun as well and it has a nice gift shop.

Helpful?
Thank ohiodawn7276
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi ohiodawn7276, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you had a WILD time at African Safari and made some memories with our wonderful animals! We hope to see you back again and be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win a free pass to the Park! More 

Corolla, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

why do you go to a zoo or wildlife park? For animals. And what do you call such a place where there are not more than 7-8 kinds of animals? A complete waste of time.

Helpful?
Thank coolg1987
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi coolg1987, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you did not find your animal experience at African Safari satisfactory or enjoyable. We offer our Guests the opportunity to see and feed over 15 different species in the Drive-Thru, with over 30 species to see in the Park. Our extra animal activities... More 

Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saying it is average for this type of activity would certainly be doing a grade on the curve. Being clean is not a priority to staff. Trash on the grounds of the walk thru portion. Old animal "food" grain tossed about with a wide range of how old it was. The flys seemed to enjoy both the trash and food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CLTLRT
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi CLTLRT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear your experience at African Safari was not satisfactory. We are now operating in our Fall and Extended Weekends Season hours. Extended Weekends are Saturdays and Sundays through the month of September, with the last day being September 25th. The weekends are the only... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Third time coming here.... despite the 3.5 hr drive. Brought the boys - ages 2,3,4,&12. Everyone had a blast! Went thru at least 15 pounds of carrots. Bought tickets on groupon at a good price. Aside from the drive thru feedings, there is a small zoo including warthogs, birds, monkeys, and kangaroo. They do pig races every couple hours, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you and your family enjoy coming to African Safari year after year and have a WILD time! We hope to see you back again soon and be sure to 'Like' us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I visited African Safari last weekend and we're very disappointed with our overall experience. We waited almost 1 hour before we were even able to get in through the gates into the park. There was not as many animals as we expected in a majority of them or laying out in areas we were not permitted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
AfricanSafariWild, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Amy R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a satisfactory experience at African Safari and do not wish to return. We understand that we can be extremely busy during the summer holidays like Labor Day and we try our best to keep wait times down. We... More 

Travelers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Safari Wildlife Park and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from African Safari Wildlife Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?