HIgh Country Trail Rides
HIgh Country Trail Rides
4.5
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
90 reviews
Excellent
75
Very good
7
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
7

NELIA
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia13 contributions
Apr 2021 • Family
One of the best holiday of our life.
Enjoyed the friendly farm animals like horses, cows, chickens, alpacas, goats, sheep. And there is a dog called ‘Bear’ and a pig that followed us everywhere. The Pig thinks itself a Farm Dog and behaves like a Dog. It’s so amazing!
Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The cabin was more than big enough for three of us. Reasonable two bedrooms, clean bathroom & toilet and fully functioning Kitchen. There was a BBQ at the backyard and beautiful little Log Fireplace in the living room.
We had a great day exploring the farm. After many many years I enjoyed the sunrise in the foggy morning. Unfortunately we could not do Horse Riding because of my 8 year old girl had fallen from horse at different hose riding place a week before. We will definitely go back and enjoy this beautiful Family Farm again and the wonderful hospitality of Pauline & Family and her beautiful animals. Strongly recommend to everyone!
Written April 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sarah G
Jindabyne, Australia6 contributions
Apr 2021 • Family
We had the best time at Paulines farm! Our cabin was really nice and spacious with lots of amenities, the views are absolutely stunning, it's peaceful and quiet. The animals are all friendly and well behaved and cared for. The trail ride was lovely and Pauline went above and beyond for my kids on the farm safari! She is brilliant! I love this place and will go back again and again!
Written June 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rachel H
28 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
We booked a horse ride for 3 and were so excited, greeted kindly by the owner upon arrival from her previous ride. Horses were set up for our ride and we were given helmets and boots to wear all of which were very clean and so comfortable! The beginning of the ride was eventful due to one family member struggling to control her horse but after a few swap arounds, everything got sorted and we enjoyed a wonderful ride. I was very inexperienced but made to feel almost professional, Pauline was very accepting of our ranged abilities. Wonderful day among farmland and gorgeous animals, I'll sure be back and bringing more family along to enjoy!
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Vanessa C
1 contribution
Jan 2020 • Couples
Travellers who are slightly on the bigger side like I am will not want to go here and be insulted like I was and discriminated against because of not only being a bigger girl but then my other half being discriminated against because of his height 6”7 now we called early to make our booking we wanted to do the package of half day horse riding n the other quid riding I did see on there website that it did have minimum weight 90kgs this time which was not there the first time we saw the ad which I thought was a sick joke but on the other hand I also saw on the website no height restrictions but clearly on there website was also pictures of 2 Clydesdale horses now if you are like myself who loves horses and has been riding since I was a child you know what horses can and can’t handle so when I called to make this booking and a girl answered the phone not only was I upset because I was being insulted over my weight she then took it one step further to say anyone who would let someone of my weight on a horse clearly dosnt care about the animal like they care about there animals then went on to say because my partner was a big boy (being 6”7) there was no way that any of there horses would be able to take nor would they have any of the equipment they would need for someone that height now you can clearly see just why I’m soo very upset about this issue and feel the way I do right now and feel that it’s my right to speak up about.
These very hurtful words that this woman was saying to someone who has rode horses most of her life and now being treated this way I clearly want people to know you don’t have to be treated like this by a person who knows nothing about you nor have they ever meet you.
To the woman who answered the phone and said all those hurtful things about my weight and implying because of my weight that I in fact don’t care about these animals and anyone who would let someone of my weight ride an animal all they care about is the money I say SHAME, SHAME on you.
And to the people out there who truly need to see what you really think of people!!!
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi, I am sorry to have to actually respond to this review. Our website clearly states that our horse riding weight limit is 90kg. I do wonder then after reading this as you clearly told me you did, why you would have to call and insist on booking a horse ride with us. You were politely told that as your partner was so tall, the stirrup leathers were just simply not going to be long enough to accommodate his leg lenghth.You then told me that you were both over 90 kg, even tho you did see this on our website you still wanted to book horse riding. Please do not try to make us feel bad about caring about our horses. Add a saddle and the horse is carrying over 100 kg. We were up at Australian zoo a couple of years ago and the weight limit for the camel rides was 90kg, camels are big animals and it was a 10 minute ride around a flat yard. This made me think about our then 100kg weight limit. Australia zoo is renowned for its exceptional animal care so we decided to take notice of their limit and apply it to our horse riding. We offer quad bike riding for people that like to get out doors but are over our horse riding weight limit for this reason so everyone has a ride to suit. I am so disappointed that you feel the need to write this review, I am proud to say that we care about our horses, not ashamed. Would have been just as easy to say , ok no problem when this was explained to you instead of being rude , insisting on booking and not listening to our reasons for declining your booking, taking the time to write this review and upsetting yourself and myeslf in the process. Shame? Yes I do agree.
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Somajey
Greater Sydney, Australia61 contributions
Jan 2021
Returned a day ago having spent three nights in one of the cabins. Very clean and peaceful environment. Did a night drive through the nearby forest and managed to see lots of wallabies and some nocturnal animals. Next day did the horse ride joined by the resident fluffy dog and the pig. We had a good time.
Written January 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Hamburggirl1
56 contributions
May 2021 • Family
We recently stayed here and had the best time. Kids loved the horses and interacting with the animals. Pauline went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Such a special place. The night safar was a highlight. We have already planned our next stay. Warning: kids will not to leave!
Written July 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mandyj2000
Jamberoo, Australia9 contributions
Jul 2020
We cannot speak highly enough of this experience. It was absolutely gorgeous from start to finish. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Bear the dog and Pepper the pig competing for pats and belly rubs. Pauline promptly replied to my email and squeezed us in at the last minute. Her horses were well loved and cared for. She was kind to my children. The ride was safe and picturesque. It brought me so much joy to watch my children riding along side us (with Pepper the pig troddling/snorting along beside us all! Hilarious!). People who look after this many animals so well are hidden angels. And all I have to say to any bad reviews is Pauline puts her animals above herself. It would be safe to guess that most bad reviews are from selfish/narcissistic archetypes searching for the perfect ‘Insta’ picture. If you respect Pauline and her animals you will get real picture perfect memories, not fake ones. An amazing experience we will remember forever. We will return! Thank you.
Written July 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

gracer1969
36 contributions
Jan 2021
Really awesome place. Peaceful and very clean.Everything works.very nice fire place with plenty of firewood provided.The family enjoyed the horse ride very much.my autistic nephew was taken for a ride everyday by the host.we booked both the cottages .Very similar.Took a quick trip to Bathurst which was only 40 minutes away.walked the mt panorama race track.Finally Pauline the host.She is an amazing lady .very passionate about her animals.She had couple of baby lambs rescued and bottle feeding them when we were there.The mother was taken to slaughter. Genuine lady.we will be making this our annual trip.
Written January 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ulla Y
Sydney, Australia3 contributions
Oct 2015 • Family
Our kid was bitten by the Blue Heeler dog who was roaming freely and approaching visitors at the entrance. This happened when the owner was talking to us and in the middle of booking us in for the afternoon trail bike rides. Our children were within 2 metres from us, the dog bit our 7yr unprovoked. Owner was rude, unremorseful, did not show a sign of concern. She then claimed we were uninvited on private property, despite advertising their business everywhere. From their attitude, they obviously knew their dog is aggressive and bites.
This is a dangerous place to bring your children. With such rude and arrogant attitude towards their customers, do not ruin your holiday by going there.
Written October 4, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review, Unfortunately this is NOT what happened. You showed up without a booking and started complaining among yourselves about not being able to horse ride, and we offered a quad bike ride instead . Our dog was present as this is a farm and her home, you were asked on several occasions not to pat the dog by the owner, and also by a staff member. You continued to ignore this request so she was moved from the front of the stable and put up on her quad bike, your child then must have approached her as she was not running around but sitting on the bike. You then told me that our farm was a PUBLIC PLACE and we had no right to have this dog, maybe if you had simply did what was asked we would not have to respond to this unfair review. You were then so rude, blaming us and our dog and insisting on leaving so I did not try to stop you. Your child was clearly not badly hurt which was the main thing and we were not rude to you but simply responding to your complaints. You are free to file any police reports that you feel you need to. The dog is not a problem and she lives with us after her owner passed away. I would suggest that if visiting a farm in future that its a good idea to respect the owners requests in the interest of you and your families safety. Pauline.
Written October 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

christie c
Warren, VT1 contribution
Oct 2013 • Couples
I wouldn't reccommend High Country Trail Rides to my worst enemy. The hostess was very rude and pushy when it came to booking and on the day. We were told that our trail ride would be suitable for our level of experience, however we had to walk the entire time (2 hours), which is rather uncomfortable - particularly when it is rather warm and no drinks are provided. The entire ride was spent in single file, which is very anti-social and you couldn't even ride beside your partner. The horses were looked although they needed worming and required maintenance, the equipment was unsafe (safety stirrups weren't used) and the host asked riders to mount in a low shed, which is extremely dangerous. The ride itself was boring, as you simply rode out a few kilometeres and turned around and went back the same way. None of the beautiful scenery in the district was utilised and we merely wound our way through an ugly, partially logged pine planation. The quad bike ride was similarly boring and the host was very rude throughout. I would not reccomend this experience to anyone and feel that it was a compelete waste of time and money.
Written October 7, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. Having ridden horses for over 35 years I do not understand why a 2 hour scenic trail ride walking the horse would be an ordeal for an experienced rider. October in the high country of Oberon is not an uncomfortable temperature and we do not advertise refreshments on our rides. Our trail rides are conducted in single file as most of our trail wind thru bushland and they are only wide enough for one horse. I (as owner) am very offended by the comment that our horses need worming as they are every 6 to 8 weeks also I personally trim all my horses feet every 6 to 8 weeks. they are all fat and healthy (feel free to look at the photos on our website).I would assume that an experienced horse person would understand that horses loose their winter coat at this time of year in preparation for the warmer summer months.. our tack (saddles and bridles are in immaculate condition so I cannot understand this comment. The first 5 minutes of our rides do show visitors logged forests but the rest of the ride has great mountain views over farmland and native bushland. The quad bike ride is conducted in a safe and responsible manner and the scenery is amazing. When clients do not obey our rules we do have to ask them to do so, if this is rude I must say that is unfortunate but our clients safety is our main concern. If you are thinking to ride with High Country Trail Rides, feel free to visit us and see our horses and tack. Thank you. Pauline Hill ( owner)
Written January 5, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 89
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

HIgh Country Trail Rides (Oberon) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about HIgh Country Trail Rides