We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A Georgian Christmas

Had a pleasent and relaxing afternoon around Petworth House. The servant quarters were quite... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Mytravels788
,
Storrington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Day out

This National Trust property was only partially opened which was slightly disappointing- however... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LCB53
,
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,231 reviews
672
All photos (672)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“national trust”(164 reviews)
“art collection”(61 reviews)
About
Step inside the imposing 17th-century mansion and discover a treasure house filled with an internationally important art and sculpture collection.
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Petworth House Church Street, Petworth GU28 0AE, England
Website
+44 1798 342207
Call
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveler rating
571
410
161
47
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
571
410
161
47
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust art collection servants quarters van dyck antique shops the kitchen stately home visited petworth art lovers wood carvings pleasure grounds coffee shop open to the public beautiful grounds room guides dining room turner paintings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited Petworth House to see their Xmas display. It’s stunning! A great way to start Christmas for any couple and family - make sure you do the pantomime!

Thank Stay779384
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a pleasent and relaxing afternoon around Petworth House. The servant quarters were quite interesting and the Georgian Xmas also very nice. Shame the rest if the house is closed for restoration. I have national trust membership so got in for free, had I had...More

Thank Mytravels788
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Not happy that I had to pay full price despite half the house being closed. The Georgian Christmas was not very Christmassy. Could have made a lot more effort with Christmas trees and lights outside etc. Very disappointing. Wouldn't go back.More

Thank emmarex2018
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review Emma, I wonder if perhaps you didn't visit for our Georgian Christmas, which began on 1 December, and you might have arrived slightly earlier while we were still mid decorating. There are two 12 foot Christmas trees in Petworth House,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This National Trust property was only partially opened which was slightly disappointing- however there were a number of talks about some of the paintings in the North Gallery which made the experience interesting. The house was also being prepped for its Christmas Display so there...More

Thank LCB53
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing gardens with the most amazingly colourful trees, my children absolutely adored running around the estate. The main building was a massive disappointment as only 3 rooms were open to view, if I were not a NT member this would be unacceptable. The servants building...More

2  Thank Joseph S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed with the house as only three rooms were open but as I have national trust membership it wasn’t so much of a let down. If I had to pay it would have been an annoyance. The servants quarters were really good...More

1  Thank Nicole2701
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the house, our website, National Trust Handbook, one-site signage and property leaflets do state that rooms of Petworth House are closed for conservation and a visit to the Petworth for November includes the North Gallery,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are interested in Roman statues, historical art pieces, or amazing grounds Petworth House is the place to stop. It is truly a museum of history and has remarkable things to see - check out the website. And for a walk, the grounds stretch...More

Thank Barb R
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the wonderful review, sounds like you really read up on the place! Do visit us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to visit with fascinating history and lovely gardens and park to walk through. Easy to access the village too.

Thank Janice D
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the 5 star review Janice, see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have to say that I was very disappointed with our visit. Such a big house and only three rooms open - the chapel, the viewing gallery above the chapel and the art gallery which contained too many paintings too close together and badly lit. Did...More

1  Thank SotonGirl61
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the house - our website does make it clear that rooms of the house are closed for our winter conservation. As a conservation charity we do have to ensure that these priceless collections are preserved...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Petworth HOUSE and park is a beautiful place to visit..the park has wonderful trees and a lake. The house has a church and art as well as statues. The colours of trees are amazing. There is a lovely cafe with hot and cold food,a gift...More

Thank Susan B
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Susan for the review, wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit. If you're interested in the outdoors, do come back in the spring when the Pleasure Ground is alive with daffodils and magnolia. From 26 March we also open up the house, following...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Swan
224 reviews
3.00 miles away
The Foresters Arms
97 reviews
3.85 miles away
Chequers Hotel
171 reviews
4.86 miles away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1,080 reviews
5.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 nearby restaurants
Meghdoots Mystique Masala
246 reviews
.13 miles away
The Horse guards inn
377 reviews
.82 miles away
Tiffins Tea Room
241 reviews
.20 miles away
The Star
489 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Upperton Vineyards
28 reviews
1.24 miles away
Coultershaw Beam Pump
7 reviews
1.50 miles away
British School of Ballooning
36 reviews
4.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pally999
May 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from claygreenaway | Reviewed this property |
Yep
-1
Votes
Trish B
November 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Petworth H | Property representative |
Hi there, over the winter months we carry out a deep clean of the rooms and the collection and that does mean taking certain items out of display for further care. Our Christmas event, A Grand Tour Christmas opens on... More
0
Votes
Becky G
October 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from markyargyle | Reviewed this property |
I am afraid not - there is a booth at the start of the gardens to get in and then quite a long walk to the café.
1
Vote