Frome Memorial Theatre

Frome Memorial Theatre: Hours, Address, Frome Memorial Theatre Reviews: 4.5/5

Frome Memorial Theatre
4.5
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
About
We are a 535 seat theatre in Frome. We cater to all ages and tastes with musical theatre, comedy, dance, music concerts, childrens shows and traditional pantomime. The theatre is supported by over 100 volunteers who give their time for free on a regular basis to ensure that everything runs smoothly. We acknowledge that the time is spent as volunteers at the theatre is our leisure time; and we always seek to provide a 'fun environment' for our volunteers to work in. The theatre is now the focal point for remembering the fallen of the 1st World War, World War 2 and other conflicts. The annual Remembrance Service in November is held at the theatre. The Assembly Rooms - Located to the rear of the theatre, are a multi-function venue with facilities tailored to meet the needs of Meetings, Conferences, Exhibitions, Shows, Dinner Dances, Wedding Receptions and many more. We have a fully licensed bar, a Dance Floor, and a Large Car Park
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
16 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
1
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Havechairwilltravel
Somerset, United Kingdom161 contributions
Excellent night at the theatre
Aug 2021
We had a fabulous night being entertained by Francis Rossi. We hadn't been to this theatre before, what a gem it is and such a great army of volunteers to run it. The theatre is clean, comfortable and good acoustics.

Wheelchair accessibility
Couldn't fault it! Parking reserved outside, then very easy to get in. Accessible toilet clean and easy to get into. Lots of spaces for wheelchair users in the theatre - and many people in wheelchairs in attendance. Staff well-trained and pleasant.
Written August 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MoonRaker4
Wiltshire, England100 contributions
AVOID THIS THEATRE - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
May 2020
A shocker, truly a shocker. In December 2019 I purchased 3 tickets on my credit card at the box office of Frome Memorial Theatre (FMT) for a show which was to take place in May 2020. I left my contact details with them. After lockdown in late March 2020 all theatres were closed and are (effectively) likely to remain closed until next year. It should be noted that on the same day I also bought tickets for 3 other local theatres and for a day trip by a local coach company. All of those vendors contacted me within 2 weeks of lockdown and offered a full refund for an event which was now not going to take place. Even my car insurance company arranged a £50 refund (unsolicited) as my cars were being used less. But from FMT I heard nothing.

I tried phoning them but was just diverted to voice mail with a recorded message about the theatre closure. So in May I sent them an email asking for a full refund. FMT responded with an email refusing a refund but stating that the show was to be rearranged for the summer of 2021 - so of no use to us. An option would then be made available for a refund if required. Refusal to give a refund within a reasonable time for a service which has not been provided (for whatever reason) is a clear breach of the Consumer Protection Act. So this theatre failed to give me a refund for a cancelled performance just at a time when I could have done with the money and then put me to considerable time and effort to try and get my money back.

I eventually got my money refunded via my bank as a chargeback in early August 2020. That is 9 months after I paid and 3 months after the cancelled show and refund request. However it did not end there as I found 3 messages left on my voicemail in late August (at a time when I was abroad) instructing me to send back the 3 original tickets (at my own expense of course) for FMT to 'allow' the chargeback as they 'owned' the unused and out-dated tickets. There is of course no legal requirement for me to do so and the tickets had been sent to my bank to support my claim anyway.

This theatre has in effect decided that its own self-interests are more important than its customers and was holding on to the customers' money. That is unforgivable. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. AVOID.
Written October 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Our theatre had to close on the 23rd March due to the National Lockdown. Almost immediately shows had to be postponed and rescheduled to new dates. We updated our answering machine at the Box Office asking customers to either email us or to leave a message which would be returned. These calls have been picked up and answered daily. We also kept our website Home page updated regularly with information relating to Covid-19 and shows being rescheduled. We have made it very clear from the outset that refunds would be made to anyone who could not attend a rescheduled show. At no time has any customer been refused a refund and we have been issuing refunds weekly since April. There is no breach of the Consumer Protection Act as we have issued refunds to everybody who has contacted our Box Office and requested one. We have your original email of the 7th April along with our reply of the 8th April and we can therefore categorically confirm that you have not been refused a refund at any time. As you mentioned in the review 3 messages were left on your answering machine and we were not aware that you were abroad. However it would appear from our records that you have still not been in touch after those messages were left. We have asked all of our patrons who requested a refund to return their unwanted tickets to us for cancellation. It is normal practice when someone requests a refund on unwanted goods for those goods to be returned. We were made aware of the Chargeback request as mentioned in your review. It was a complete shock to learn that the chargeback had been granted by the bank despite them not checking with us why we hadn't refunded. Had they checked with us, they would have learned that we had not refused to issue a refund, and we could have contacted you directly to issue your refund without the need for Chargeback. The allegations you have made in this review are unfortunately factually incorrect. As an organisation totally reliant upon volunteers to run it, we take such comments posted on Trip Advisor very seriously, and we are therefore obliged to post this response by way of clarification. On Behalf of Frome Memorial Theatre Trustees
Written October 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nigel504
Trowbridge, UK2 contributions
Super local theatre
Feb 2020
excellent theatre with good 'old fashioned' service, shown to your seat and reasonably priced ice creams followed by a fantastic show, loved it.
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit
Written March 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TIMBROWN031
Birmingham, UK204 contributions
Lovely Theatre, over zealous staff.
Feb 2020 • Solo
Marty Wylde was great, real lovely theatre, tickets were a good price along with the snacks and drinks. I would have scored very good though let down by the over zealous staff, volunteers I believe. Don't get me wrong, not all, just some. I lady took a photo early on only to be approached and surrounded by about 5 staff, absolutely ridiculous. Just after the interval I reached for my phone to turn the volume and brightness down only to be jumped on by a member of staff tapping my shoulder. The one man was up and down constantly with is eyew fixed on people. Come on, this is a crowd consisting generally of pensioners watching an Marty Wylde on stage, it's not Elton John on a Stadium tour. Come on people, have a bit of common sense.
Written February 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comments, and yes the staff are all volunteers. We do play an announcement at the beginning of the show that states that mobile phones are to be switched off and that photography/videoing is not allowed. This is our general theatre policy but also, many artistes have strict no photography rules and they require that our staff are vigilant during performances. There should only be one member of staff asking an audience member to put away a phone so if there were 5 then this will be relayed to the Front of House team, however they are just doing the job that the artistes and the theatre insist on. We are pleased that enjoyed the rest of your visit.
Written February 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cornish_traveller43
Merriott, UK796 contributions
Good facilities, great town asset
Nov 2019
Went to the attached Assemby Rooms for a lecture & were impressed by the quality of the furniture, fittings, equipment etc. Very pleasant bar area.
It looks like an originally old building that has a new, modern extension/entrance area at the front .
Large car park - always a bonus!
Written November 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J1940
Frome, UK8 contributions
Go to many shows here.
Nov 2019
All staff are volunteers but very professional. You get well looked after. I went to see the ballet SNOW WHITE which was marvellous. It was performed by the Vienna Ballet.
Written November 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the show.
Written November 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TJA950
Gillingham, UK1,350 contributions
A small provincial theatre
Oct 2019
If you are coming here for the first time, I think it is important to understand what this establishment is like and adjust your expectations to suit. This is a small provincial theatre and it has all the drawbacks of many similar venues. The parking is limited, it is some distance from the transport hubs, it has few facilities including insufficient toilets and a small reception area. So why go?

Well, those very inconveniences are somehow endearing. There is no hustle and bustle outside as with large town venues and the building presents itself in a welcoming way. It is an old building, my guess would be late Victorian/early Georgian from the inside although the façade has a more modern look. Yes, it is dated inside but it is spotless and well maintained. The staff are helpful, pleasant and efficient and I see they are all volunteers. It is a comfortable theatre with a capacity of something shy of 550 with modern seats. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here and would not hesitate to go again or to recommend it to you. They all have a wonderful programme of artists every year and these establishments are to be commended for their efforts; this is no exception.

We overheard a conversation wherein someone’s friend had arrived at the theatre that night, could not find parking and had gone home in a fit of paddy. I find that somewhat pathetic to be honest because with a little forethought, the parking is not an issue. There is plenty in town and at most a 15/20 minute walk so come early! We did, found plenty of parking in the locale and then went to the pub for a meal and a pint before the show. You know what? We’re going to do it again!
Written October 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are please you enjoyed your visit.
Written October 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Piscespip
Wiltshire, UK6 contributions
good night out
Jan 2019
Have been here several times to see the Royal Marine Band in concert! Brilliant night out in a very friendly atmosphere. Will get there again next MARCH!
Written August 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Annie P
10 contributions
The Drifters.
Jul 2019 • Friends
Last Friday night we went to see the Drifters in the. Memorial Theatre in Frome. Brilliant show, lovely theatre and helpful staff.
Written July 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the experience
Written July 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

steve b
Guildford, UK40 contributions
Unexpected delight
Jul 2019 • Couples
Visited Frome Memorial Theatre on Friday to watch the Drifters. Looked the theatre up on Google and wasn’t expecting much. Very pleasantly surprised great little theatre very well maintained, lovely staff, all volunteers, who obviously take great pleasure and pride in their theatre. I would say that the picture on their brochure and website doesn’t do it justice. Would definitely return.
All this and half time ice cream just £2.
Written July 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely review, and we will take your comments on board.
Written July 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 16
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Frome Memorial Theatre

Frome Memorial Theatre is open:
  • Mon - Mon 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
  • Tue - Tue 9:30 AM - 1:30 PM
  • Wed - Sat 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM