The School of Artisan Food
The School of Artisan Food
5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Located on the beautiful Welbeck Estate in the heart of Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, the School offers a wide range of artisan cookery courses, suitable for all skill levels. There are one-day courses in bakery, cheese making, butchery ice-cream and chocolate making, preserves, charcuterie and brewing plus advanced, professional courses in baking and cheese making. The School is also an ideal venue for bespoke courses, corporate and team building days.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
292 reviews
Excellent
273
Very good
14
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Roger M
Redhill, UK182 contributions
Mar 2019 • Business
A two day intensive course on cheese making.
Excellent tuition.
Disappointing we could not take produce home.
Venue is a lovely location. Actual teaching room a bit tired. Cramped.
Written April 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Marion H
Lincolnshire, UK8 contributions
Jul 2016 • Solo
Yet again, I had a fantastic day here learning all about chocolate. Shelly was a great tutor - friendly, patient and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in making professional looking, and tasting, chocolates!
Written July 26, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Marion Thanks again for leaving a review. I know you're one of our "regulars" and it's great you're still enjoying our courses, and coming back for more! See you again soon. Regards Joe
Written August 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nebby N
York, UK26 contributions
Jun 2016 • Business
The 2-day food business start-up course was extremely insightful, very well won and it's obviously that the people who work at the School of Artisan Food are passionate about what they do. Highly recommended!
Written June 16, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jan H
13 contributions
Jul 2022 • Friends
Disappointing. Today we visited the school for a cookery demonstration, an ideal location, a perfect set up but so missed an opportunity to impress us. Admittedly it was the hottest day of the year to sit in a demonstration theatre with upholstered seats & carpet which was no one’s fault. However, no microphone, no mirror to see what was being demonstrated, no TV for it to be relayed to, no aircon. Hence couldn’t see, could barely hear and was so uncomfortably hot.
Thank you for the WI committee for providing cold drinks and refreshments afterwards.
Written July 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Jan, Re: ‘Disapointing’ Review. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to The School of Artisan Food for the Women’s Institute event; however, we did not design or deliver the content of this event, but were merely the hosts. Our building is historic and characterful, and we are proud of it. You are correct that we do not have air conditioning in that room or the ability to control the hottest day of the year. Our lecture theatre is really quite compact and demonstrations have been run successfully in the past many times, but we do have the facility to show images of demonstrations if these are requested by the organisers, by virtue of our large display screen. This was not requested in advance of the course, or indeed on the day. We would of course, have responded and solved this issue if it had been raised.
Written August 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Colin D
Chipping Campden, UK14 contributions
Feb 2015 • Couples
We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the school and invited to help ourselves to tea, coffee and some delicious pastries. The atmosphere was relaxed and the participants chatted until our tutors came to collect us and take us over to the kitchen area.

Without any doubt the knowledge, skills and experience of the two presenters was outstanding, as was their enthusiasm for their subject. They made it clear from the start that they would be happy to maintain contact after the day to answer any questions that came up after we had left, which was a nice touch.

The day gave us the chance to have a go at a number of different methods of preparing and curing meat and of course to taste the results. In addition to practical experience we covered the rearing, slaughtering and butchering of animals, the conditions required for curing and smoking particularly pigs and some suggestions for further reading.

So why would I only score the course average? I found myself confused at various times through the day and trying hard to make sense of how what I was being told was relevant to me. The very high skill levels of the staff were to some extent lost because they had not thought about the journey from the perspective of the audience. Nor did they spend time explaining the areas we were discussing and how they related to personal and or commercial situations. The other main reason for average was because I had hoped to leave feeling enthused about trying curing and smoking at home. I actually left with a strong message that there was a high risk that I might poison someone if I got it wrong. I needed to understand the risks but I also needed to understand what to do to make sure that I and my produce would have the best chance of being safe.

Please don't be put off the day based on this review, I would repeat that the knowledge level of the staff is fantastic. I just think they need to spend a little time thinking through the journey from the participants perspective, how they meet the slightly differing needs of both home curers and those with commercial interests. If they do, I think this will easily be a day to rate as excellent.
Written February 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

RichardF38
Coventry, UK1,030 contributions
Apr 2014 • Solo
This is the first time I have done a 'raw food' course (I've been on cookery courses, but not many to see the food 'from the start' )

The school and it's amenities are situated in old Georgian coach houses and stable-yard's, within the grounds of the Welbeck Estate....a stunning start to any course....the buildings are well maintained, good condition and exceptionally clean.

Tea, coffee and a arrangement of cakes, pastries and warm bread with jams and jellies welcomed us on arrival in the restaurant/canteen....all homemade (from the other courses I assume!) and all simply delicious.

The butchers came and welcomed us and took us to the training kitchen....again spotlessly clean, light, airy and very well laid out for the 2 groups of 5 students.

The course tutors were out-sourced with 'Rich' owning his own butchery and consultancy business (rare breeds, pig breeding & farmer consultancy etc.), they were polite, courteous, witty and very informative.
Both were clearly true professionals of their trade and very passionate about everything to do with pig breeding, welfare and farming the best animals in the best environments.

We went through how pigs are bred, the various ways that meat can be effected, the various breeds and cross-breeding right through to different slaughter techniques - all very well described and a good way to start the day.

The course took us from snout to tail - we all had a go at butchering the animal into the various joints, chops and pieces that you would see in a butchers shop window. The tutors were very patient with those less experienced with boning knifes and knife skills and there were safety gloves available to ensure no fingers went in the sausage mix!!

Lunch was simply stunning...full roast pork dinner with home cooked veggies, Yorkshire puddings and savory jellies.....buffet style, so you can have as little or much as you like.
Homemade breads, pickles and chutneys were served with huge slabs of cheeses to choose from for your pudding.

The end of the day, all the trimmings were used to make pure-meat sausages and everyone had a go at making the sausages, filling them and the generation-style-game exercise of filling the sausage casing and twisting them!

The only criticisms:
1. The kitchen needs air-con....were were boiling.......in the Summer it will be stifling

2. The take-home bag of 'goodies' (sausages (6), leg joint (1), shoulder joint (1), pork chop (1) and pork steaks (2)) was a tad on the small side the joints could have been bigger, and 1 pork chop means arguments with the wife.....but it's a small point.

Overall, a great course, very informative and very enjoyable.....I'm already booked on the Smoking & Curing course to now get extra flavor into the meat, I now know how to cut from the carcass!

A great Birthday/Christmas present for your foody loved ones or friends!!
Written April 28, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bobchops
Chester, UK71 contributions
Sep 2019
I can quite honestly say I have just spent three amazing days with The School of Artisan Food and Emmanuel. Every single aspect of the course was well executed and exceeded all expectations. In fact, given the quality of the course and the outstanding hospitality offered to all delegates by the School staff, I would go as far to say the course is humbly under-priced for what it offers.

Keep this excellent standard up and keep doing what you do! While I can't think of a single negative or area for improvement, it may just be worth notifying future delegates that they will need to hire a van hire, to carry the abundant amount of bread home.

Top Marks! (Don't hesitate)

Stephen Thorp
Written September 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helen F
Nottingham, UK561 contributions
Jun 2019 • Solo
I attended the pasta making with Valentina Harris using a voucher I had been given as a birthday present. I had a fantastic time, learnt lots of new skills and went away with enough food to feed me for the week. I was completely full after the delicious lunch they provided and sampling some of our dishes. Valentina was really personable and explained things well, giving plenty of hands on instruction. The class had 9 people with couples and individuals working together at stations for two. The school is well equipped, in a beautiful setting and has a small shop to buy cookery books and get your purchases signed by the chef. The day was great value and I am busy looking for what I can book on to next!
Written June 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Pamelarower
Leesburg, VA13 contributions
Jun 2017 • Solo
This is the second course I have done at the School of Artisan Food (the first being Pig Butchery). The school is beautiful and very state of the art. I felt that the cheese making course could have been a lot better, based on my experience on the other courses. There was very little in term of structure, and I am still not clear on the basics. The course tutor (Paul) was friendly and very knowledgable however he spent over 60% of the time either off on a tangent or telling a story regarding one of his experiences as a cheese guru in Europe. I felt that the majority of the teaching he did was focussed on the chemistry of cheese making which as a physicist, I could barely keep up with. Having spoken to other people on the course, it was clear the majority were completely lost in the science. There were a lot of basic steps that were brushed over and the notes we were given were not really useful.

Having done the pig butchery course (which was absolutely brilliant), I was expecting to come away with some more products that we were making but the tutor seemed very keen for us not to take much of the cheese we actually made. We ended up going home with a small portion of soft cheese and 2 camemberts each.

Baring in mind we made over 40 camemberts as a class and there were 10ish people on the class, that leaves over 20 camemberts left over, I am assuming for the school/tutor. We also made a lot of cheese that needed to be pressed therefore we couldn't take any of that home.

Over all I would not recommend people attend this course (I can only speak for the tutor I had). I think there is scope for this course to be really excellent but the syllabus needs to cover a lot more and the tutor needs to be kept from an often 25-30minute tangent about inspecting cheese farms in Europe.
Written July 20, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Pamela, thank you for taking the time to review the course. We are sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with the two day cheesemaking course and the tutor. It's a real shame especially as you've had such a good experience before and also because we do normally receive positive feedback. We do take all feedback seriously and will investigate further. Please could we ask that you get in touch with us via info@schoolofartisanfood.org so we can keep you updated following our conversation with the team. Best wishes Miriam White Course Manager
Written July 26, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

d s
Reading, UK50 contributions
May 2016 • Solo
Lovely and interesting old estate with artisan foodmakers in residence. I did a one day chocolate course starting nervously and ending loving it. The experienced chocolatier tutoring the group was very knowledgeable about a subject she loved, making the day interesting and fun. The very tasty lunch was welcome and it was nice to take home our own goodies at the end of the day.

Not a cheap day out but really interesting and taught by an expert.
Written May 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi You're right - you can never have too much chocolate, especially when you can make your own! We hope to see you again some time soon. Regards Joe
Written May 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 292
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

The School of Artisan Food (Worksop) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about The School of Artisan Food

The School of Artisan Food is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM