We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lindisfarne Priory

Open Now: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
All photos (1,484)
All photos (1,484)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“car park”(216 reviews)
“english heritage”(164 reviews)
“high tide”(50 reviews)
About
Please note that due to the tidal causeway opening hours may vary a little. English Heritage is a Charitable Trust taking care of over 400 historic sites throughout England. Lindisfarne Priory is one of these very precious sites. A substantial site...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Lindisfarne Priory Museum Church Lane, TD15 2RX, England
More
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Lindisfarne Priory
from $58.38
More Info
from $54.49
More Info
from $499.51
More Info
Reviews (2,379)
Filter reviews
2,329 results
Traveler rating
1,415
642
213
42
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,415
642
213
42
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park english heritage high tide shuttle bus worth a visit beautiful island national trust tide tables check tide times st cuthbert crossing times steeped in history safe crossing lovely place to visit information boards parish church sunny day
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,329 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Lindisfarne Priory is dog friendly and a lovely place to visit. Can't take them into the shop and Museum, but it's great to take them into the Priory. It's a sizeable site and there's lots to see there. The Museum display is well laid out...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ScotchMissed
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for your great review. So pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

A must visit as part of the lindisfarne experience. First a visit to the museum to set the scene and then a walk around the priory ruins which are fairly extensive. Managed by English Heritage and therefore free admission for members. The ancient church alongside...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank stephendevine
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

we were visiting holy island and walked down to the priory. it's expensive to go in for what is there, you can see most of it from the church without having to pay to enter. however the ruins of the priory are quite stunning. obviously...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank sandrac58
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. The entrance fee is for admission to the Museum/Exhibition and the Priory Ruin. As a charity we rely on and are very grateful for every admission and membership fee received as this enables us to preserve over 400 historic properties...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

The experience at Lindisfarne Priory is in two parts - the ruins and the museum. Lindisfarne Priory and museum are run by Engligh Heritage and there is a cost to enter if you are not a member. Make sure you go round the museum first...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Cliff J
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and many thanks for supporting English Heritage.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Enjoyed visiting here and learnt some history of Henry VIII here too which was interesting! If near the area worth a visit!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank XMatonaX
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointed for the price paid. Display was ok. Not alot of people were paying to get into the site after looking through the gateway to view part of the Priory.More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lynne M
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit. The vast majority of our many thousands of visitors each year give us very positive feedback for our Museum/Exhibition. We are hoping in the future it will be getting a little...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

You get a perfect view of the ruins from the hill behind the harbour. Spending £8 each to get a closer view in our opinion did not represent value for money.More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank sauzee092
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience of such an important historic site was so negative. The admission to the Priory is via our Visitor Centre and Museum/Exhibition. The one admission fee covers visiting both. The Museum/Exhibition gives you a time...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Cut off by the tide twice a day on the causeway road from the mainland, this weird place is worth a visit to satisfy one's curiosity. Very remote, the ruins of the old priory are interesting but most of the history of the place is...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank F1523XKdavidc
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you review of the island. We can only comment on Lindisfarne Priory. The Museum/Exhibition and the Priory are interesting and the site does have over 1300 years of history that enjoys many visitors each year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are on the Holy Island then you can see the Priory from several vantage points without paying entry. There are better abbey's within reach to visit, but if you have a love on history and have not experienced the full story of the...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Peter T
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. So sorry that your visit was so disappointing. The Museum/Exhibition in our Visitor Centre does give you that 'full story' as a time line from Aidan's arrival here to modern times along with precious artefacts recovered from the site. It...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive site (£7.20) for what is available to see. Obviously ruins are always going to be similar and limited but it’s definitely not worth the admissions fee. Doesn’t add anything to the overall experience of the island which is very enjoyable.More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank DanTheGreat123
CAMLindisfarnePriory, Historic Property Steward at Lindisfarne Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. The cost of admission is for the Museum/Exhibition and Priory ruin. From your comments we assume you did not realise this so unfortunately did not benefit from a full explanation of more than 1300 years of history this site holds....More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Waren House Hotel
277 reviews
4.90 miles away
The Victoria Hotel, Bar & Brasserie
1,226 reviews
5.45 miles away
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
508 reviews
5.46 miles away
Purdy Lodge
435 reviews
7.21 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 10 nearby restaurants
Pilgrims Coffee House & Roastery
1,135 reviews
.12 miles away
1st Class Food
423 reviews
.15 miles away
The Ship Inn
581 reviews
.14 miles away
The Crown and Anchor Restaurant
334 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
Lindisfarne National Nature Reserve
249 reviews
.02 miles away
The Parish Church of Saint Mary the Virgin
369 reviews
.05 miles away
Lindisfarne Centre
108 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
OxfordHousewife
March 16, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CAMLindisfarnePriory | Property representative |
Hello, Dogs are very welcome in the Priory ruin, however we are unable to have dogs in the Museum/Exhibition and the Gift Shop. If there are two of you then we do have a couple of seats outside the Visitor Centre and also... More
1
Vote
wendyfoster
August 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thesetter | Reviewed this property |
You can; although visitors are encouraged to park outside the town, there are car park facilities nearer.
1
Vote
JanInJapan
June 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Cornishchuckle | Reviewed this property |
Hello JaninJapan Thank you for your comment it is always nice to get feedback and provide up go date info for fellow travellers. I am a little perplexed by your observation that I have posted my review incorrectly as my... More
1
Vote