Heatherslaw Corn Mill
Heatherslaw Corn Mill
4.5
Speciality & Gift ShopsSpeciality MuseumsHistory Museums
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Step back in time in this restored and fully operational Victorian watermill in North Northumberland. Visitors can explore the building, watch the milling process from grain to flour, and dress up! There are hands-on activities for children and a mouse hunt trail for them to follow. This mill uses green energy to mill stoneground flour, if the river is running too low, or too high, the machinery cannot run. There is still plenty to see and do when you visit. Pay entrance fees in the gift shop, where you can also buy freshly ground floor, local produce, homewares, toys and gifts. Situated in the former grain store is a cafe serving delicious food and drink and Ford & Etal Visitor Centre is just across the road. Unfortunately, due to nature of building, it is not wheelchair accessible. There is free parking on both sides of the river and disabled parking opposite the Mill. Heatherslaw Mill is open seasonally, from late March until the beginning of November.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles125 reviews
Excellent
85
Very good
26
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Donna M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Family
We arrived at the Mill at 1pm 22 Feb, after seeing it was open on the Web site. We had lunch in the cafe which was excellent & decided to look around the Mill. There was a sign on the door saying it was open & the door was open, so we went inside. After about 10 minutes a woman came & informed us it was closed and we had to leave. We apologised and explained the sign said it was open so we didn’t realise it was closed, to which she replied “I would have thought the fact that no one was in here and the lights were off would have given it away!” She then told other visitors that she had to tell us to leave, who informed us they had heard we’d been “told off”. Working in a customer focused business myself, I don’t find this a suitable level of customer service, nor a polite way to deal with the general public, who visit & spend their money at the Mill. I believe serious customer focus training is required in preparation for when the Mill is open. However the coffee shop is a must, as the selection of food & level of service is exemplary.
Written February 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Tripadvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet Tripadvisor's Management Response Guidelines . We hope you will consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Your original text is included below for your convenience. Tripadvisor Support Team If you have a moment, we'd like to get your feedback on your experience with this short survey. Thank you! ________________________________________ Heatherslaw Corn Mill Cornhill on Tweed Owner response 838317389 I am very sorry that you do not feel you were dealt with politely when you visited before we were open for the 2022 season. We opened five weeks after your visit on 28th March. The opening times are listed on our website. The front door was unlocked, but not open because staff were cleaning in preparation for our opening. Access to the mill is by admission fee via the shop, it did not occur to us that someone would enter via a fire door without first paying or speaking to a staff member. There were many indications that the Mill was not open to the public, including signage piled up at the entrance, boxes lying around, no lights and no staff to welcome you. The staff member in question was alarmed to find someone wandering inside the mill when it was clearly closed as this would have health and safety implications. We take pleasure in welcoming people to this working heritage mill in season and during opening hours.
Written May 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alsaldevon
Devon93 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
It should not be open if it is not fully functioning.We arrived and paid the requested entry admission, assuming that we were on a guided and instructive tour. The only information we received was when we were directed to an area of notice boards and then we were to make our way to the upper floor and then to the lower floor. The place is full of old equipment used in the milling process but without an experienced guide we were at a loss to fully understand the process.We therefore made our way back to the entrance and when we enquired which one of them was the Miller, were told he was off sick with Covid.
Written April 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. It is a very old Mill, and there are occasions when it is not operational, usually because the water levels in the river are either too high or too low. We always advise people of this and most people still have a thoroughly interesting visit. Unfortunately, as with many other places, we are still affected by issues due to Covid on occasion. We are very happy to speak to you about your visit and your experience, please contact us: tourism@ford-and-etal.co.uk
Written April 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Curly1971
Nottingham, UK111 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
Visited after a tremendous amout of rain and as a consequence they weren't able to operate the mill that day. So we were warned before we paid that we wouldn't be seeing the mill in action. We nearly left it to return another time but as the weather was so lousy decided to stay. Am so glad we did. Despite not being in operation, the on-duty miller made it so interesting. Loads of knowledge and enthusiasm. Can't wait to go back when the wheel is operating.

And if you make your own bread at home....this is the place to go for some supplies!
Written October 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Benjamin S
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Lovingly restored working mill.

The miller took time to explain and engage the children in the workings of the mill, explaining them them the details and got them really interested in it.

Very fair price for a family ticket.

Parking is free and dogs are also welcome.
Written July 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rie Indiana
12 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Couples
Amazing place, but astoundingly, on one of the busiest weekends of the year at Easter, the Mill isn’t working, because people with dogs would be here, at such a busy time! So, you travel to see a working Mill, but it isn’t working due to people with dogs! Unbelievable!!!!!
Written April 9, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jo l
Kirkbymoorside, UK6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
We had a lovely visit to the Mill before our trip on the steam train to Etal. The mill wasn't working sadly at the time we arrived but the lady in the shop chatted to us about this and was so very welcoming and friendly. The mill was a great visit anyway and we found it very interesting. The shop was nice at the end so we bought some flour and other goods to take home.
Written October 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Janet R
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK144 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020
Very interesting seeing the mill actually working and making flour to sell. The old machinery was all still in good working order. Picked up a recipe book with some nice cake and bread recipes.
Written September 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lindyloo2002
Aspley Guise, UK42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Couples
Soda Bread workshop was a great couple of hours spent at the Mill making bread. . While the bread was baking we had a very informative tour of the mill. Didn’t leave before buying some flour to take home.

We were told that this was the first bread workshop and I think the Mill should be well pleased with the results of their efforts on setting this up! Pauline led the workshop in a professional and friendly way. It was great!
Written April 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda250418
Leeds, UK14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Friends
Lovely little cafe. No frills but reasonably priced, tasty food. Dogs are allowed, which was good. It is upstairs. We were too late to visit the Corn Mill be we popped into the jewellery shop and had a lovely chat with the gentleman in there. Bought some early Christmas presents too. We were also a little too late for the train to Et al. We visited on our way from Ford to Et al and would like to go back in summer to make the most of the trip.
Written October 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Balbirkiren
Solihull, UK81 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
Definately worth visiting the working mill which is on 3 floors. Entry £4 for adults.

Knowledgeable guide was lovely to talk to. Thank you.

Amazing what we can produce with natural resources - getting back to basics!

Nice little gift shop too.
Written September 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 122
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Heatherslaw Corn Mill - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Heatherslaw Corn Mill

Heatherslaw Corn Mill is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Restaurants near Heatherslaw Corn Mill: View all restaurants near Heatherslaw Corn Mill on Tripadvisor

All things to do in Cornhill on Tweed
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars