We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aln Valley Railway

130 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Aln Valley Railway

130 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
Lionheart Station Railway Access Road Lionheart Enterprise Park, Alnwick NE66 2EZ England
Get to know the area
Alnwick Castle, the Northumberland Coast & the Borders Day Tour from Edinburgh
Day Trips

Alnwick Castle, the Northumberland Coast & the Borders Day Tour from Edinburgh

143 reviews
The border towns between England and Scotland hold centuries of secrets—from bloodthirsty warfare to royal reform. On this full-day sightseeing tour, travel in comfort through the countryside by Mercedes mini-coach. With your guide at the wheel, enjoy beautiful coastal views and visit Alnwick Castle—made famous in the Harry Potter movies, plus the town of Kelso and Northumberland Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Entrance fees are your own expense.
$61.92 per adult
130Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 45
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Haydon wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
carpark dangerous, uneven clinker like surface, cafe closed, train trip about 10 mins in an unheated coach, place a mess with bits of scrap metal and rubbish lying about would not go again and the kids were very unimpressed closed due to Railway regulators now so dont waste your time going there
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
FarAway104522 wrote a review Sep 2020
Mansfield, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
A small, volunteer run attraction, who are determined to get Alnwick back on the rail network map. Short trips - some steam hauled - excellent small museum, model rail layout and workshops to visit. Excellent cafe.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Tim W wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom25 contributions30 helpful votes
This full size railway, just outside Alnwick & close to Alnmouth, is opening a new extension in April 2020 giving a steam-hauled ride of well over a mile, including over a viaduct giving great views. Very friendly staff and a cafe strongly recommended - their tomato soup and toasted teacakes very nicely served up! Ideal as a family visit of 2 or 3 hours.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Andy C wrote a review Dec 2019
Darlington, United Kingdom1 contribution
Visited for the mince pie Christmas extravaganza. On arrival it feels like you have driven into a scrap yard car park. We then entered through some tinsel which had seen better days, and picture of Santa on a train. Paid £18:00 for 2 adults and 2 children under 5. Sat in a cold porta kabin, where awful coffee was given and a Sainsbury’s mince pie. Not even the extra special range. Train was to leave at 11:00. Went to go on the train just before 11:00 went to open the door and got shouted out at by the rudest job worth I have ever met. Made me feel like I was in primary school again. We were sent packing back to porta kabin. Had to wait another 30 mins for the next train. When it came and eventually sat down in a freezing cold room with cigarette roll ends in the floor. We then rode 10 mins and 10 mins back, half of which the only view was the scrap yard of old trains. The other half was through trees. The kids were more interested in the tickets and our son is mad about Thomas the tank engine. I thought seeing steps in concert was the worst experience ever, but this was even worse than that.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TomSpenceAlnwick, Manager at Aln Valley Railway
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We have looked into every aspect of your review, as you can see this is the first “terrible” review we have had regarding the mince pie special trains so it did come as quite a shock to us. The Aln Valley Railway is a relatively new railway run on volunteer power alone. There are lots of vehicles near the running shed as these are awaiting restoration. We are sorry that you felt this looked like a scrap yard, but as I’m sure you will appreciate a charity can not afford to renovate every piece of traction equipment at the same time. We have investigated the incident regarding your not being allowed on the train and this was in the interest of your safety. The train had already been given the green flag by the guard to depart the station, naturally at this point no passengers can get onto the train. We are sorry you felt you had a bad experience in the cafe. If there was an issue with your coffee, we would have been more than happy to replace it. The coffee we use is Nescafé. Having looked through our coaches, you are correct, there was one cigarette end in one of the coaches. This appeared to have been brought in on someone's shoe. Smoking is not permitted in our coaches. We are sorry you felt the need to write a “terrible” review about the Railway and hope you will return sometime in the future to see how the railway has developed. Hopefully when you come back, the stock you saw at the running shed will be restored and operating on our railway line.
Read more
Andrew W wrote a review Dec 2019
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom7 contributions
Great time at this wonderful railway bringing steam back to northumberland, even sponsored some sleepers, will be back.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous