Deal Castle
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Built by the order of King Henry VIII it is one of the finest Tudor artillery castles in England, and among the earliest and most elaborate of a chain of coastal forts, which also includes Calshot, Camber, Walmer and Pendennis Castles. Today you can explore the whole of the castle, from the storerooms to the first-floor captain’s residence. Take a walk around the defences and admire the squat, rounded bastions and cannons.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Deal Castle and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
921 reviews
Excellent
277
Very good
414
Average
175
Poor
41
Terrible
14

IAN W
St Helens, UK3,986 contributions
Jul 2022
One of 3 forts built along this part of the English coastline by Henry VIII in the early 1500's(Sandown...now sadly gone and Walmer....being the other two) to protect the country from invasion.
Not the biggest of castles you'll ever see,but nevertheless worth an hour or so of your time as it is nearly all,in its entirety,original,only parts here and there have been replaced,sympathetically to blend in.
Wander in its passages which link numerous rooms together on different floors,guides are around the place if you have any questions
You can walk its battlements and get wonderful views of the Channel.
Public toilets available.
Written July 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Philip A
London, UK21 contributions
Jun 2021
Built for Henry VIII who feared an invasion from France, Deal castle is designed mainly to defend an attack from the sea. Built in an age of cannon, it is unlike traditional castles & designed like a Tudor rose.
There are cannon on the outer walls and a well designed museum inside, including a chance to hear the words of many of the principal men & women of Henry VIII's time. It is very well designed for children (though a bit cut back while we still have covid-19 restrictions). There are many places to explore, including a spooky tour around the walls in the basement, where you can normally carry your own "rifle". Our grandsons - 8 & 6 - love coming here.
Written June 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Val R
Stockton-on-Tees, UK19 contributions
Sep 2020
Visiting English Heritage sights. Deal castle is doing its best with Covid restrictions. We had a brilliant guide who was giving groups a great insight into the geography and history of the castle. Friendly greeting when we arrived. A very informative visit, well organised would thoroughly recommend a visit.
Written September 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Tracy G
Andover, UK279 contributions
Aug 2022
An interesting castle in the small seaside town of Deal. Free to English Heritage members, as is the car park next door (you must get a ticket from the machine though, all the visitors when we went got caught out on this and had to go back to get one!). The castle is more or less empty with displays telling you the history. Worth a visit, especially if combined with Walmer Castle a few miles away which is a complete contrast.
Written September 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

BirdBrain99
Greater London, UK218 contributions
May 2021
We are English Heritage members. The car parking in excellently situated next to the castle. The walk round the basement and upper floors full of interest for a property with no original contents from the time it was a fortification and then a residence. The state of the building is as close it could be to how it handed over to Henry VIII to defend the nation nearly 500 years ago.
Written May 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

OxfordTomTomTom
Oxford16 contributions
Jun 2022 • Family
Locked in! Got locked in the castle dungeons at closing time. Scared children. Poor response from EH.

Basically we had gone into "The Rounds" near closing time. Staff didn't check properly for their lockup routine . So when we tried to leave, the door out was locked. Was only just 5pm.

We had no mobile signal, crying children and quite likely would have had to spend the night there. You couldn't even break a window to get attention from someone in the street because the windows from "The Rounds" only give into the most. Was quite a scary experience.

Luckily, while my wife banged on the door, I took the children and we did another circuit of the Rounds. We found some steps leading off the main route - a bit smiley with moss, but they lead up to a door. That door was locked too, but I banged on it and a staff member was still about and realised we were there and got freed.

Very poor apology on the day. One staff member blaming another for being new. Raised a formal complaint with EH. And basically got shrugged off. Told "there are strict closing procedures in place already at Deal Castle" Obviously cant be the case. How else would we be locked in?

Trying to escalate the complaint now within EH.

It is a problem if a serious saftey risk is flagged and an organisation does nothing to address it. Complaint are seen as something to make go away, rather than an opportunity to learn about what you can improve.

It shouldn't be about an individual staff member who didn't check properly. It is about an organisation and culture that don't take safety of visitors seriously. I don't want her to get the sack. I want everyone involved to realise it is serious and improve how they trains and adapt how they manage people.

Have added a photo with my full complaint
And their response.

Shame as we liked deal castle - it as interesting and we are EH members
Written June 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Notliar
29 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
Good place. I expected a little bit more, it's actually just empty rooms without any exhibition. I prefer castles with much more to explore. If you read everything and watch every single stone in the castle you still can finish in 45 minutes.
Written June 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Anita
Stratford-upon-Avon, UK796 contributions
Sep 2022
Well worth joining the tour of the castle as our guide had an amazing amount of knowledge about the castle, its history and Henry VIII in particular. Would suggest going to Deal Castle first before going to Walmer Castle. Parking next to the castle but the car park can get busy, although we were there the same time as the Deal Food Festival so some of the car park was given to the stall holders.
Written September 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dave Smith
London, UK184 contributions
Sep 2020 • Couples
There is a car park next to the site, that is free for English Heritage members, and it’s a short walk to the entrance. The lady that checked our tickets (you have to book a time slot), gave us a potted history of the site and explained the one way system in place, before we were free to explore. The castle is not as lavishly decorated as Walmer Castle, just up the road, but, it was never used as a residence, so has not been altered. Seems to be a lot of wasted space that could contain exhibits/ information boards. There is a lot of things to look at / read, but, for a place that old, I’m sure there is stuff missing, or that could be expanded on. I recommend doing the ‘rounds’ - a series of narrow passages that run around the bottom of the castle, designed to confuse the enemy, should they breach the walls. Once finished. You can walk into Deal town centre, where all the normal shops, restaurants are available, plus some small independent traders / pubs etc.
Written October 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Phil C
2 contributions
Apr 2022
Had a great visit to Deal castle Not too busy which made walking around very leisurely and enjoyable . The staff were very helpful and a special shout to Matthew who took time to give us a very informative talk about the castle and was always on hand to answer any questions we had too.

Would recommend if you have the time to walk for about 30 mins to Walmer Castle which is also excellent
Written May 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 887
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Deal Castle - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Deal Castle

Deal Castle is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Deal Castle tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 2 Deal Castle tours on Tripadvisor