Wight Karting
Wight Karting
4.5
Sports ComplexesGame & Entertainment Centers
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Purpose built 520m all weather outdoor track. All equipment provided (including waterproofs on wet days)! Tuition included, no experience necessary. Driving from 8 years old. We are right behind Tesco Extra in Ryde; just follow the road signs straight on at the Tesco extra entrance mini roundabout: PO33 1QS. CHECK WEBSITE FOR HOURS for Arrive & Drive . Bookings of 20+drivers available in advance anytime 9am-10pm. Dog kennels provided free of charge for racers
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See what travelers are saying
  • AeroMinx
    41 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great treat for grand daughters birthday
    Grand daughters 12 th birthday treat, she was a bit nervous but the staff handled it well. After a couple of laps she was having a great time. Some of the drivers were regulars and more skilled than her, but staff/marshals made sure everyone had an enjoyable time. She had three sessions with a break between to get advice on driving etc, you could see by the final lap positioning and hence lap times improved. We thought well run and good value.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 8, 2023
  • Ben S
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Go karting
    Great course, well organised, options for various ages, my sons 1st time at go karting, also went as a group. Kids and adults. All worked well. Highly recommend
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 10, 2023
  • Adrian W
    114 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Absolutely Excellent fun
    It surpassed my expectation overall. Very organised, had a great range of helmets and overalls to fit almost any size, well organised and marshalled, better than the 2 I have visited in East Anglia as well so has to be 5 stars. Only bits to improve would be perhaps offer sandwiches / rolls on site as well as the great coffee etc. and registering is a faff, could be done on an app before you come or when you arrive on iPads as the PCs are a clunky way to do it and then upload the results of each driver on the app to improve next time they come, would incentivise another visit and see where you improve etc. But we thoroughly enjoyed our morning and will recommend and come again.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 15, 2023
  • kay
    Feilding, New Zealand8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great entertainment
    Took 2 children 9 years old. First time visit. The safety talk was done and clothing supplied by them. Helmets and go cart suits. Was a full 2 hours. Lots of fun, children loved it.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 2, 2023
  • Kate F
    Portsmouth, United Kingdom5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Friendly well run karting experience
    We participated in Junior track sessions for 2 boys. Both boys had a great time and observing them it was clear to see the sessions were well run and they were safe at all times. The staff are always really helpful and friendly and there are facilities for hot and cold drinks .
    Visited December 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written December 21, 2023
  • DARDOW40
    Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom102 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Well worth it!
    A fantastic morning for our two girls (8 & 10). A great staff team and for complete beginners, they never felt out of place and were made to feel so welcome. We paid for the ‘intro’ cadet session which was an initial briefing, a 15 minute race, followed be proper debrief and how to improve, then two more race and feedback sessions. Our girls, although slightly intimidated to start with, came away raving about the whole day and pleading to do it again. A fantastic experience and it was great to see them progress and improve over the morning. Definitely do it.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written March 29, 2024
  • jubr75
    London, United Kingdom209 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Absolutely awesome!
    Absolutely awesome. Came here on one of the few days it wasn't raining with my boys as a treat and what a treat! It's not a cheap place to visit but what an experience. A proper track with proper karts and knowledgeable and helpful staff. For the price you are provided with the use of all safety equipment and your own head mask to take home, plus your timings print outs. You are debriefed at the start with all and any questions answered and then shown to your karts and let loose!! You get 2 "goes" which have a 5 / 10 minute break between where you see others take their turns. My boys had the best time and took advantage of a discounted second go! Would definitely visit again and would definitely recommend.
    Visited April 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written May 20, 2024
  • Charlie A
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great group outing
    A college day trip to the Isle of Wight and this was definitely the highlight. The students, all 16-19s loved the experience, many had never karted before. The staff were friendly and we were clearly in safe hands. Overjoyed when the staff got our own teaser session at the end! Thankyou Wight Karting, you exceeded expectations.
    Visited July 2024
    Traveled on business
    Written July 1, 2024
  • Nicole G
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Such a good experience!!
    was such a fun experience! great addition to my trip away. track was lovely and felt so safe on it. the wet conditions made it even more fun and didnt ruin experience so great thing to do when weather is terrible and want to do something
    Visited July 2024
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 9, 2024
  • GoPlaces66836362572
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A must visit!
    Had such a lovely time!! Great experience, the track was so fun and interesting also felt so safe. Wonderful time spent there staff were so welcoming aswell! Definitely recommend you go if in the area!!
    Visited July 2024
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 9, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,342 reviews
Excellent
1,071
Very good
208
Average
40
Poor
10
Terrible
13

Dean S
Shefford, UK802 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
We booked online for the 30 minute session . Upon arrival checked in and details taken price includes all waterproofs gloves balaclava helmet . Your race over to 15 minute slots with a break in between .

Good karts fun track with good straight and lots off good bends ten of us raced in total and it was good fun . Even when you crashed staff helpful and got you going again quickly .

At the break lap times given and places so you can see how you did . Second race was wet but good fun still waterproofs worked well .

If you like go Karting I would give it a go .
Written October 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you
Written May 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rowena B
Isle of Wight, UK10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
My other half and eldest who is 9 did three races. Think he paid around £90 for the two of them but this seems reasonable and similar to other places we have been. Asked about kinder karting for our 6 year old but staff were vague as to if they would run this even if we came back in the afternoon. Unfortunately chose to do it on a junior track day so it was pretty busy!
Race time is about 10 minutes a go but a long wait between races. There is a football table and pool table to keep the kids entertained and live updates on race times so you know when you are next on. You can also watch the racing on the decking outside
Small cafe that serves decent priced drinks and snacks to keep the kids going.
Great upside to the karting here is they let you choose your own size overalls in the changing room instead of guessing your size behind the counter which is a pain at other places we have been to!
Definitely worth a visit even on a wet day as they have waterproof overalls!
Written February 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Rowenab874, Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed the karting. As you mentioned, we get very busy on our Junior Track Day mornings, but would have been more than happy to put a Kinder session out in the afternoon, if you had come back.
Written February 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robert D
London, UK14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
Really enjoyed our visit. Children aged 10 and 9 and 46 enjoyed it enormously. Not suitable for our six year old. Well organised and pleasant staff. Expensive but you get 2x15 minutes of karting and the whole visit took a couple of hours so feels better value as a result.
Written August 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

henry j
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Friends
We arrived at the karting at the time we were asked to and were immediately made to wait 45 minutes, when we finally got onto the tracks we were disappointed to find that the track was small and bumpy and not made for karts and it was very disappointing for the price. While we were karting the Owner began to slow down the karts at certain times when we were driving causing us to hurt our necks. He was doing this because if we got too close it was meant to be safe but it was just more dangerous. When we talked to him after the race he was rude and talked over us and blatantly lied to our faces even though the man taking care of the race told us he had been stopping the karts before. I don’t recommend this karting destination as the customer service is awful and the track is dangerous. !
Written May 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear288henryj, If we start with the understanding that karting is a NON CONTACT SPORT, we may get some way to realizing your disappointment. Had we known that what you really wanted was BUMPER CARS, we could have directed you to PETER PANS PLAY GROUND on the seafront, where they specialize in such activities. I do not need to defend our track, as we have had many compliments on it from competent karter's. Our De-Harrdt remote, safety controller is state of the art, and was only used once in your first session to gain the attention of a driver that had repeatedly ignored the black flag. Being firm and clear in what you are and are not allowed to do on our track is not RUDE, its just not what you wanted to hear. Owner
Written May 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Li S
Ely, UK922 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
Positives first: Top quality karts, really well run track. It was wet when I visited so there were a lot of spins, but marshalls were quick and spot on. Race suits, helmets and safety briefing all provided 10/10. Great live screens showing times to spectators, clean toilets / changing. fresh coffee (with free refills), amazing. Cracking day karting.

Negatives: We followed the covid stickers on the floor and stood 2m back from the couple in front of us booking in. A family barged in like they owned the place walked past us and just checked in in front of us. They took 30 minutes. We missed our booked time slot, and the next time slot too. Government ruling at the time of review was that face coverings are to be worn indoors. This was not followed by staff or patrons.

It’s not my first time here, and will be 50/50 if I visit again. Great karting, but appalling service.
Written January 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Service is usually what we excel upon- maybe it was just a random bad day. What can I say except im sorry you weren't happy we try very hard to please. We aren't obsessed with masks now as we keep all the doors open and we are an outdoor track. The family barging in front I cannot explain.
Written June 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Li S
Ely, UK922 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
Arrived here on new years day with wife and sprog, I was the only one interested in having a go; so it is testament to the track that they kept two people with not the slightest interest in karting entertained for two hours!

I’ve only been karting once or twice before and the staff have always been very macho, alpha acting. But here, all the staff were amazing, heats were well organised, as were the briefings. The karts were fantastic (each kart felt different, but this added to the challenge). The tech was awesome giving updates on times, and positions etc. So wannabe racers got proper stats, and those watching anonymous karts could make some sense of it.

To summarise, an amazing morning out for essentially a novice turning up on their own. I would recommend, and would definitely visit again.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brilliant review LiS, many thanks for visiting and being our first of many fab reviews of a New Decade! Thank you (-:
Written January 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Expedition794528
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
My son ( just turned 8) loved this! He is inexperienced in karting and was with some older boys in his group. The team made sure his needs were excellently accommodated which made it a safe yet exhilarating experience for my son and ensured I wasn't worried about him getting hit by other drivers.
My son is asking to go again, brilliant fun!
Written August 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Expedition- great to please you and come back soon (-:
Written August 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023
We booked this for my sons 10th birthday present. The kids had such a fun morning. We did the arrive and drive and then paid for an extra race (£20 each). Their times and strategy improved with each race and they were given their own balaclavas to take home as well as a print out of their lap times.
Helpful and friendly staff. Well organised and easy to find (I called and paid on the phone and it saved me the booking fee). Highly recommend!
Written April 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the lovely review Rebecca, great to here theyre hooked (-: We advise now to join the Driver Club (check out our Locals and regulars page on the website) to revisit us regularly for much more affordable pricing when they want to keep visiting.
Written April 13, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew S
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
This is a great,professional set up with switched on staff.
My 2 daughters,my son -in-law and myself had a completely awesome half an hour session and enjoyed the complete karting experience on an excellent track.
Really livened up our trip and would recommend kids and adults to pay a visit and see if they have got what it takes to be a champion!Cheers for the thrill,Andy,S
Written October 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andy P
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
Had a great afternoon racing. Felt totally COVID safe. Friendly team made us feel welcome. Marshals were really good, letting the odd “accidental” bump go without spoiling the race. Track does make us older buggers shake a bit, but to enjoy it you have to go with the flow. Great fun so thanks to Andy and the team
Written August 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,339
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Wight Karting - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Ryde
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars