We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Explorer Tours

Ryde, United Kingdom
More
About Island Explorer Tours
Isle of Wight guided mini-coach tours. Our mini-coach is fully PCV spec with coach seat belted coach seats, panoramic windows and air conditioning. Our tours include complimentary hot drinks and begin from Ryde Esplanade and Sandown Pier. Our mini-coach is also available for private charter. We also offer a tour guide and itinerary service for visiting coach operators/group organisers/educational groups tailored to the client's requirements. We also have guides who can speak the main European languages.
Read more

Island Explorer Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
33Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
CRWPJH wrote a review Sep 2019
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
Incredibly disappointing, the trip was cancelled and we only found this out while sitting at the pickup point waiting for the van. It was explained to us that they had left messages on the mobile number I supplied when making the booking (4 months ago) but unfortunately we were using a UK sim card that we purchased on arrival. l received an email the day before, saying my credit card had been charged on that day and a refund was being processed. We took this to be a reversal of a double charge made in error (as the trip had been paid for when it was booked). Another email was sent at 9.30 this morning (trip was due to start at 10 am and we were already on the island). Once again it was a copy of the original booking form but showing "refund" in the small print. A simple email to me personally saying that the trip was cancelled would have been appreciated. As a company, they might point out their right to cancel (small print) however this does not help someone who has come halfway across the world, spent 2 nights accommodation and return ferry ride, to be left sitting on the side of the road (£300 poorer).
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil H, Owner at Island Explorer Tours
Responded Sep 22, 2019
Hello, Obviously we are extremely disappointed that you wasn't aware that the tour had been cancelled due to a lack of bookings. An email was sent to you on Thursday informing you at that stage that it was likely the tour would be cancelled due to the lack of bookings but a final decision would be made at 7pm the following day (Friday). A SMS message was also sent to the mobile phone number that you provided when you made the booking, informing you about the email. We had no indication at our end that either of these messages were received. As there still had been no additional bookings by 7pm on Friday, we attempted to call you on the number you had provided at around 8.30pm and left a voicemail to inform you that the tour had in fact been cancelled. This information was also conveyed by email. We recognised that the phone number was not a UK number and as we couldn't actually get through to you, we were unsure that you were aware the tour was not going ahead. So we decided to divert one of our drivers who was picking up on a private hire from Ryde to drive past the tour pick up point to check whether there was anyone waiting or not. Obviously he found you and sadly gave you the unfortunate news the tour had been cancelled which you stated you were unaware of. I hope you will appreciate that we made every effort to contact you to inform you the tour was off which is in accordance with our terms and conditions. We ultimately sent someone to make sure you weren't waiting unnecessarily without being aware of the situation . A refund was also processed and you appear to have received that particular email so I'm a tad surprised that you apparently didn't get the previous emails we sent on Thursday and Friday. However I will contact our booking site hosting company to check if there is problem our end. In conclusion I express my disappointment in knowing how upset and disappointed you were with our services. As you will hopefully see from almost all of our other reviews, this is not a typical occurrence and customer satisfaction is an very high priority to us. I also dislike quoting our terms and conditions in regards to cancellations but they are specific in the methods we use to contact our customers in these circumstances. Unfortunately we can only use the contact information provided by the customer during the booking process. We cannot be responsible for not being able to contact a customer due to mobile network issues or any other reason beyond our control which is why we don't rely on just one method of contact. Plus we always make at least 3 attempts to call. Again I will double check our online booking system server as you appear to have received both the refund notification and the "thankyou for attending" feed back email (which seems to have been sent prematurely, so obviously something strange there) but not the previous emails. If there is indeed a technical issue then I can only apologise that you didn't get those emails. Again I am extremely concerned about your unfortunate experience in using our service but can only reiterate the relevant section (if a tour is cancelled) of our terms and conditions.
Read more
Gary H wrote a review Jun 2019
10 contributions3 helpful votes
We joined this tour at Shanklin, where we were staying. The driver was very knowledgeable and made the tour . He was friendly and professional. Our stops were not rushed and the full day tour was a highlight of our trip. He even dropped us off at Sandown, which is closer to Shanklin, for the four of us, thankyou Neil.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil H, Owner at Island Explorer Tours
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Hello there! Your'e very welcome! Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review. Really pleased to hear that you found the tour enjoyable. Regards, Neil
Read more
Jo and Tegan wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
My Daughter and I loved every minute it was good for my Daughter as we learnt the history of the island, we had great jokes along the way from the driver who not only drove us he also did the talk which I was impressed with, we had a super time and we were able to stay in each place a good amount of time.We got to see great things as we are from Cornwall and it was our first trip together.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil H, Owner at Island Explorer Tours
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Hi Thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased that both you and your daughter found the tour enjoyable and entertaining. Always good to know that our passengers are getting a good experience of the Island via Island Explorer! Regards, Neil.
Read more
Michael H wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
Neil the owner was first class from the time we made contact to the end of journey, excellent driver in comfortable vehicle,had to wait for extra time and penalty shoot out but he fully understood the situation and didn't make us feel awkward as well. Would certainly use him again. Many thanks Neil .
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil H, Owner at Island Explorer Tours
Responded Apr 2, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Always good to know when our clients have experienced a great time and we have helped by delivering a good service. Look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Neil
Read more
Effervescentphysi wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
Excellent tour + sets feel for island on which to get best during rest of IofW hols. Driver/owner Brummie Neil enthusiastic and helpful + good driver around tight roads + commentary enjoyable with light jokes. Allum Bay attraction = impressive multysite, e.g. top glass factory. Use web to find other treasures to cycle to, like small monkey sanctuary zoo and butterfly world near Newport (=lots of facilities and hub for buses which are frequent throughout day!).
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil H, Owner at Island Explorer Tours
Responded Dec 10, 2018
Hello and thank you for a positive review. We strive to give a good customer experience of the Isle of Wight so it's always good to get this kind of feedback that tells us that we are getting it right. It also helps us plan next year's programme of tours where we may make a few changes where necessary. We hope to see you again on a future tour of the Island! Kind Regards, Neil Hartland (From Wolverhampton!)
Read more
Previous