Moors Valley Country Park and Forest

Moors Valley Country Park and Forest, Ringwood: Hours, Address, Moors Valley Country Park and Forest Reviews: 4.5/5

Moors Valley Country Park and Forest

Moors Valley Country Park and Forest
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
We are a large Country Park & Forest offering approximately 1000 acres of managed woodland and Country Park to explore. We have miles of mapped walking and cycle routes, two large adventure play areas, over a mile and a half walking route with numerous large woodland play stations to stop at, cycle and mobility scooter hire, model steam railway, golf and pitch & put, restaurant, staffed information point & Visitor Centre, disabled and baby change facilities at two large toilet blocks, Go-Ape and Segway hire, Ice-cream sales and visitor gift shop. If that is not enough to keep you busy, we have an array of activities throughout the year including, pond dipping, Ranger Den, Nordic walking. Admission is per car, and you need to know your number plate to pay at the paystations - at the end of your visit. See you soon.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
1,328 reviews
Excellent
853
Very good
344
Average
69
Poor
37
Terrible
26

Random Jenny
Gourock, UK178 contributions
Jan 2022 • Couples
Moors Valley Country Park is simply stunning.
Miles of Forrest trails, visitor centre, Children’s play areas, go ape facility, bike hire, a lake and miniature railway.
The trails are very well maintained for mountain biking and dog walking.
The tall trees are beautiful.
The cafe was lovely nicest bacon rolls we have ever tasted.
How anyone can complain that they have to pay to park here is shocking given the wonderful facilities on offer.
We had a fantastic day and clearly saw how a parking charge maintains the park.
Shame on anyone who resents paying to park here you should stay at home being miserable!
Written January 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J'Marie Dewdrop
Herne Bay, UK45 contributions
Nov 2021 • Family
We travel up to the newforest every autumn for a mini break. The last three times we have come here. It is wonderful. The variety there is for the children, the craftsman ship in all the areas. We walked over 5 miles and the kids had no idea, they just loved it.

Really loved the photo exhibition in the woods, I have never seen one done like that.

The gift shop always has the loveliest of staff working in there.

I honestly cannot fault this place, and look forward to returning next year.
Written November 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Jessica, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to read about your experience and we're over the moon that you enjoy it so much here that you've returned 3 times now on your visits to the New Forest. We've shared your feedback with the Moors Valley team and it really made everyone smile knowing that you had such a good experience. We can't wait to welcome you all back again in the future.
Written November 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ellenmg97
Spalding, UK19 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
Myself and my fiancée visited here whilst on holiday as our cottage was only a short drive away. We have several of these ‘parks’ around where we live in Lincolnshire and always have a good time.

It’s definitely a place for all ages to enjoy, with plenty of parking, places to eat and long, dog-friendly walks.

We took our two labradors and they loved every moment, you can stick to the trail or head into the trees, plenty of space for on-lead enjoyment. We managed to walk for around 2 hours on a sort of loop back to the car but you could definitely stay longer if you wanted.

Do be warned that the parking charges are quite high, but it makes a good day out.
Written November 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28ShazR
Sandhurst, UK22 contributions
Oct 2021
Beautiful country park, dog friendly although not many dog poo bins. The parking was expensive.
We enjoyed the park.
Written November 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Safari25040
london, uk13 contributions
Sep 2021 • Family
The park is enjoyable, but let down by excessively high parking charges and poor cafe facilities.

We live 20 minutes away but have only been twice in 8 years; the New Forest is close by with great pubs and free parking!
Written October 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Safari25040, thank you for your feedback I'm glad that you enjoyed the park. Although we're local to the New Forest, the facilities that we have at Moors Valley are very different in comparison. We have many different facilities that are not on offer in the New Forest such as our Play Trail with 10 wooden play structures, bespoke Fitness Trail, Music Trail, 2 play parks and Visitor Centre staffed by a team of Rangers. Money raised from parking is re-invested in the maintenance of park and forest and also gives us the ability to provide new facilities. I'm sorry that you were not happy with your experience in the restaurant, please email dan@seasonscoffeebarn.co.uk if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.
Written November 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Guernseyto
Marlow, UK130 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
What a great place to spend a day with a five and two and half year old. Train, Gruffalo trail, play parks. Only downside was nowhere to buy sandwich lunch - bring your own!
Written October 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166lgr166
Sway, UK22 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
We have visited Moors Valley for about 30 years. Having taken our children we now take our grandchildren. Everyone loves it and we will return again and again.
One ongoing issue is the catering facilities. The facilities need to be upgraded to cope with the number of visitors. Today the only place to get a take away coffee was the main restaurant in the centre. The staff and facilities could not cope with the volume of visitors. Thankfully I could fill up my water bottle allowing me to get a drink as I could not wait in the slow queue for a hot drink.
Please upgrade the catering facilities Moors Valley.
Written October 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello 166gr166, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to read that generations of your family have enjoyed visiting Moors Valley over the past 30 years. Halloween has been extremely popular this year and we didn't anticipate that it would be so busy prior to the Dorset school holidays so the takeaway kiosk and the street food van were not scheduled to open. We'll certainly take your feedback on board to help us to consistently provide a high level of service.
Written October 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kevin H
Zurich, Switzerland1,094 contributions
Oct 2021
What could be better than spending the day in the Autumn sunshine in a country park? We were a party of five including one under two years old, plus two dogs. We focused on the Play Trail but also enjoyed walking the Gruffalo walk and the children's play area, with a spot of lunch at the Seasons eaterie.
Written October 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Donna H
8 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
This is a lovely park and I have visited often over the years. My only issue is I find it difficult to follow the coloured routes. Is there a way of signposting them so they are easier to follow? Maybe coloured arrows. Thanks.
Written September 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Donna, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to read that you find it difficult to follow the coloured routes. We've been carrying out a review of our current signage and are in the early stages of looking at our waymarking in more detail. We want to make sure that our visitors can spend more time exploring the forest and enjoying being in nature, so it's important to us that we get our waymarking right. We're looking at the possibility of different options that don't rely solely on colour. We will take your feedback into consideration when making changes.
Written September 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Leigh B
Surrey, UK98 contributions
Sep 2021 • Family
This place is simply amazing but the car parking prices are criminal. The miniature train line is amazing and is lovely to just walk around. If you get a chance, take the little ones for a ride on it, they’ll love it.
Written September 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Leigh, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed your ride on the Moors Valley Railway. I'm sorry that you felt that the car parking was expensive. Although it's called a parking charge, it's there in place of an entrance fee. Money generated from parking is re-invested in the park through maintaining and managing the forest, maintaining trails and tracks, updating play equipment and the day to day running of the 1000 acre site. As well as the Railway we have a music trail, 2 play parks, Gruffalo Sculptures, an interactive Gruffalo Trail, 1 mile forest play trail, mindfulness audio trail, 4 waymarked walking trails, 3 waymarked running trails, 5 waymarked cycling trails including a singletrack, bike park, Visitor Centre, bespoke fitness trail, the Tree Top Trail, forest Lookout, Ranger Den, Cycle Hire, Seasons Restaurant, Ice Cream Kiosk and Go Ape.
Written September 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,328
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing