We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Museum of Army Flying

| Middle Wallop, Stockbridge SO20 8DY, England
+44 1264 784421
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Dated and very little interaction

We visited with 3 young children. Cost was £35 and then over half of the interactive activities... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
WendyKizz
,
Brisvegas
via mobile
Great cafe

Reading the previous review I am amazed that it is so negative I visited for the first time last... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
devtron1980
via mobile
Read all 360 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are one of the UK's leading museums for British military aviation history. Boasting 40 fixed wing and rotary aircraft on site, we have fascinating exhibits and a wonderful 'Apache Cafe' looking out over the busy Middle Wallop Army Air Corps airfield.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
| Middle Wallop, Stockbridge SO20 8DY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1264 784421
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"planes and helicopters"
in 13 reviews
"all day breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"gift aided"
in 5 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 11 reviews
"outdoor play area"
in 5 reviews
"cafe upstairs"
in 5 reviews
"armed forces"
in 4 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"hot food"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"great for kids"
in 4 reviews
"annual pass"
in 5 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with 3 young children. Cost was £35 and then over half of the interactive activities were extra (£1 each and we have 3 children). We only lasted less than 2 hours and had to leave as our young children were bored. I would...More

Thank WendyKizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry you didn't have the desired experience with the Museum. As you may know we are due to undergo a £2.5million redevelopment later this year, which includes plans for more interactives and an enhanced indoor play area, hopefully this will mean a lot...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reading the previous review I am amazed that it is so negative I visited for the first time last August and thought it was excellent and have been numerous times ever since, the last being wartime wallop this Monday the 28th The staff have always...More

Thank devtron1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Devtron you're welcome at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Apache Cafe have started advertising on the main road "Open 7days a week" "No need for a ticket". We thought we'd give it a go...It was 3:45 and the cafe closes at 4 - we shouldn't have bothered! The girl who served us looked...More

Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very sorry that you had a disappointing visit. Our staff always try to respond to complaints in real time and I would hope would have done so if you made your points to them at the time. If you would like to get in touch...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive to get in but you only pay once and then can enter for free for a year. We live locally so have been there a number of times. My boys (4 and 2) enjoy it but I think it is very outdated and the...More

Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry you feel this way about the Museum. As you may know we are due to undergo a £2.5million redevelopment later this year, which includes plans for more interactives and an enhanced indoor play area. We hope you will return and like what...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this museum for my husband's 60th birthday and we weren't disappointed! We weren't quite sure what to expect but went on the recommendation of a friend. There are stories and exhibits to appeal to everyone, great planes, helicopters, gliders, models, and sections detailing...More

Thank ZhooZhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here , had coffee overlooking the airfield next door. Visited museum - very good and helpful staff. Well worth a visit. Plenty of free parking

Thank polven2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor value for money also the cafe was overpriced would not recommend. The exhibits were not displayed well.

1  Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the Museum. You may be aware that we are about to invest £2.5million in updating the Museum. I hope you will return when the project is complete next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018

When travelling along the A343 it is hard to miss the Museum of Army Flying with three exhibits parked outside (Russian anti-aircraft gun: ZSU-23-4 "Shilka", a de Havilland Canada DHC2 Beaver and a Scout helicopter) – all free to see. As I was only passing...More

Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your write up. Aircraft movements tend to take place during the week, and we regularly put a timings list of the movements up by the till in the cafe, so if ever you're back in the neighbourhood please feel free to pop...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

Very interesting aircraft lots of different planes, lot bigger than what we thought, well worth a visit, there a little cafe there.

Thank cindyhoneywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

There is a lot to see and learn here, with lots of fun for the children seeing the old aeroplanes and sitting in some of them. Both my 11 year old son and 5 year old daughter enjoyed the visit. It is not about the...More

Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Stockbridge Hotels
Travelodge Andover hotel
198 reviews
4.22 miles away
The Grosvenor
497 reviews
4.24 miles away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
654 reviews
4.40 miles away
White Hart
219 reviews
5.05 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hawk Inn
256 reviews
3.01 miles away
White Horse Inn and Restaurant
269 reviews
3.73 miles away
The Royal Oak
109 reviews
3.85 miles away
The Tally Ho!
160 reviews
4.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hawk Conservancy Trust
2,115 reviews
3.61 miles away
Western Air Thruxton
6 reviews
3.99 miles away
Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort
37 reviews
4.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CazzaLmartin
March 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from Terence K | Reviewed this property |
No idea I am afraid - didn't take the flight.
0
Votes
srichards9999
April 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DAVIDMS20050 | Reviewed this property |
Only guide dogs I am sorry to say. There is a picnic area where if one of you is not interested you could possibly take a dog on a lead. There is not much shade so a big NO to leaving a dog in your car. Museums and dogs... More
1
Vote
Alida T
March 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DAVIDMS20050 | Reviewed this property |
No, no rides at Museum, all displays are static. You will see a few helicopters flying from the next door Army Air Corp base. Helicopters are expensive to fly - I think some flying schools give experience flights but at a... More
0
Votes
;