We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricketers Bar and Food

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Sunday lunch £7.95

Visited 16/12/2018. For Sunday lunch. Really busy. 3 course roast dinner brilliant. Staff very... read more

Reviewed December 16, 2018
via mobile
Probably the best pub/restaurant I have been to

I have been to this establishment a countless amount of times, never had a bad experience, the... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2019
Basildon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
All photos (12)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“sunday lunch”(9 reviews)
“the pub”(11 reviews)
“italian night”(4 reviews)
Traditional English Pub and restaurant. Come and join us at The Cricketers for delicious traditional pub food together with a wide selection of wines, ales and beers. Please visit our website for menus and more information. We look forward to seeing...more
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
228 London Road, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7JG, England
+44 7709 264880
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southend-on-Sea
from $32.79
More Info
from $17.71
More Info
from $114.77
More Info
from $13.38
More Info
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 9
  • 2
  • 6
  • 9
Traveler type
Time of year
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diluted sour tasteless ale. Manager said, nothing wrong with beer when I asked her if the ale was okay. I Asked for a fresh pint but was told that was not an option. Very rude juvenile attitude, she'll learn.
Read more
Response from Cristina C, Owner at The Cricketers Bar and Food
Responded Sep 1, 2019
Finbarrok, Thank you for your review. On Saturday afternoon you had approached the bar with your pint of Abbot that had been served to you approximately 15 minutes prior. You raised a concern to me that your beer 'had no life' and you asked me if the cask was 'OK'. I asked you if it tasted as it should to which you replied that it did. I then proceeded to taste the beer myself and noted that it did indeed taste fine. I also advised you that the cask was brand new on that morning, ahead of the SUFC home match that afternoon, and that we had been selling pints of the same to other customers without complaint. I offered to top up the rest of your pint to add some 'head' to the beer as this would most probably 'liven it up' in response to which you declined and demanded a fresh pint. I explained to you that I would not be able to replace your pint because, as you had agreed, there was in fact nothing wrong with it - your complaint was how you thought it 'looked'. I offered to top up your pint for the second time and this time you accepted. Now, your pint had around a quarter of 'foam' on the top and you commented that it looked better and you returned to your table. I am surprised to receive your comment here that the ale was 'diluted, sour and tasteless...' and I would respond as follows. Firstly, you did not raise any of theses issues with me at the time. If your complaint was a genuine one then perhaps you would have raised this with me in person as opposed to on the internet some time later. Secondly, I strongly refute any suggestion that our ales are 'diluted'. This would imply that we add liquid, such as water, to the cask to 'make it go further' - which we most certainly do not. Secondly, I am bewildered as to how a pint could have been both sour AND tasteless at the same time, however, if that was your perception you did not raise this as a concern with me on Saturday afternoon. Finally, we have been in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide consecutively for the last four years and are subject to random taste tests. We take the quality and care of our ales very seriously and are proud to stand by the high standard of the same; hence your pint was not replaced. If the ale had indeed been 'sour and diluted' then we would have replaced this for you without question. Finally, I was not rude to you nor did I display a 'juvenile' attitude. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 01702 345053.
Read more
I have been to this establishment a countless amount of times, never had a bad experience, the staff are great to talk too and the management when I have caught them on the odd occasion have been a laugh speak too. The food is the best a pub can offer, they may favourite Steak
Read more
Had yet another lovely meal here. Had the choice of the steak menu which is 3 courses with a free bottle of wine between two for £14.95 very good value, although it’s changed a little not as many options as there was for a few fussy people and one veggie it is still very very
Read more
Having been here many times our group were refused food just before 9pm. We had already had a couple of rounds of drinks and were waiting for the band, who were excellent. As a hungry bunch we grabbed a few chips from the local chippy and brought them to our table. The manager
Read more
Went here on a Saturday night, had steak menu, it was good, great value for money. Really nice and helpful staff. And they have live music, ska band, brilliant. Not full of teenagers. An older crowd. Good fun. And really good value.
Read more
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
Southend Central Hotel
18 reviews
.21 miles away
Tower Hotel Apartments
16 reviews
.32 miles away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
874 reviews
.33 miles away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
361 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 820 nearby restaurants
SoPa Thai
257 reviews
.19 miles away
Alvaro's Portuguese Restaurant
329 reviews
.24 miles away
Syrtaki Restaurant
177 reviews
.02 miles away
Il Mondo Southend
44 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 179 nearby attractions
Palace Theatre
202 reviews
.47 miles away
Room Escape Southend
80 reviews
.24 miles away
Westcliff Beach
111 reviews
.43 miles away
Genting Casino
177 reviews
.45 miles away