Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
4.5
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
About
The largest butterfly flight aviary and exhibit in Australia - an all weather experience in the heart of the Kuranda village. Home to over 1500 magnificent butterflies, youll be enchanted by the arial dynamics of these elusive wonders of nature as you wonder through the aviary's rainforest gardens.
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
See what travelers are saying
  • Sally P
    Brisbane, Australia24 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Delightful, informative, fascinating.
    So interesting to learn about butterflies and moths and discover the incredible collection across the world. Ricky provided an informative guided tour and shared lots of fascinating insights. Well worth the visit.
    Hi Sally, we are delighted that you had an amazing experience at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and had the opportunity to learn some new butterfly facts. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope that you can come back and visit soon.
    Written June 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 17, 2023
  • Pam Q
    Adelaide, Australia180 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Butterfly beauty
    We stayed overnight in Kuranda before having to catch a 3pm flight out of Cairns Airport. Decided after breakfast to visit the Butterfly Sanctuary as we'd seen the sights of Cairns. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the butterflies delightful. Viewing the science involved in breeding the butterflies was interesting. Seniors discount was appreciated. As this was in the school holidays I recommend arriving early (opens 9.30am), certainly before the first tour buses and trains/cable cars bring their passengers.
    Hi, we are delighted that you had a fantastic visit to the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and that you appreciated the passionate and friendly team as well as the beautiful butterflies. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope that you can come back and visit sometime soon.
    Written July 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written June 30, 2023
  • Family Adventures
    Geelong, Australia200 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Small but interesting
    Although quick, we enjoyed our visit to the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary. The lab was interesting to see, although not operational at our time of visit. The main area to view butterflies was beautifully presented with plants and water features. The fairy garden was small but cute. Worth a visit, combined with the other parks
    Hi, we are delighted that you had an amazing time at the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope that you can come back and visit soon.
    Written July 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 4, 2023
  • Natalie S
    7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A must do when in Cairns!
    We loved our trip to the butterfly sanctuary today. A must do when in Cairns. At the end of the visit, you enter a room with preserved species organised in groupings. A really impressive array to look at. I took lots of photos here as well. Tip: wear some light coloured clothing- the butterflies kept going back to land on my husbands pale green hat and a couple of visitors with light colours, but none landed on me at all (I was wearing bright red). Tip: Be aware that if you want to go into other places in Kuranda, such as the bird sanctuary, it's cheaper to buy a special ticket for both. We didn't realise in time (since the person selling the tickets did not inform us) and we payed double what we needed to, which was disappointing.
    Hi, we are delighted that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the opportunity to see lots of beautiful butterflies at the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary. We appreciate all your feedback as we always strive to better ourselves. We hope you can come back and visit again soon.
    Written August 20, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written August 15, 2023
  • Mike P
    Sydney, Australia275 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oh so many butterflies
    Awesome, fantastic place so full of all types of butterflies from the large to the very small. There is even a breeding nursery. Highly recommend someone in your group wear bright colourful clothes. The butterflies can and will land on you ensuring perfect photo opportunities. A must do when your in Kuranda.
    Hi, we are delighted that your visit to the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary was so enjoyable and that you got the opportunity to take lots of amazing photos. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
    Written August 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 28, 2023
  • veggev
    Sydney, Australia30 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful colourful butterflies
    We were trying to kill time whilst waiting for the scenic train and decided to go the Butterfly Sanctuary. It's beautiful. Such a beautiful place. I took some slow motion videos that I will watch often. Highly recommend. It's not big but there are seats inside where you can just watch the butterflies. Loved it.
    Hi Veggev, we are delighted that your visit to the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary was so enjoyable and that you got the opportunity to take lots of amazing videos and photos. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
    Written October 15, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 29, 2023
  • Alix V
    Sydney, Australia163 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful butterflies
    A beautiful place to visit while in Kuranda. Butterflies are in abundance as well as educational resources through to breeding programs. Staff were friendly & knowledgeable and the sanctuary was well looked after. You can tell how passionate all the people who work there are. Several benches to just perch on while you relax and enjoy.
    Hi 558alixv, we are delighted that you had an amazing experience at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and that you appreciated the passionate and friendly team. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope that you can come back and visit sometime soon.
    Written January 7, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled with friends
    Written January 6, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,398 reviews
Excellent
789
Very good
428
Average
129
Poor
32
Terrible
20

MinnaUurainen
Jyväskylä, Finland65 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Family
Visited with two adults and a 9-year old child. Conveniently located standing next to two other sites in much advertised Kuranda area.
We had hired a car and drove there by ourselves, but you can get there by a bus of a travelling agency. Many agensies offer trips to Kuranda and you can get more info from every hotels reception.
A ticket for adult costs A$ 20 and for child A$ 10.
Written February 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and taking the time to leave a review. Glad that you enjoyed your time at our attraction. Our central location makes us easily accessible. You can also visit the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary on Tropic Wings Tours, which combines the best attractions in Kuranda.
Written March 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cat J A
Melbourne, Australia393 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021
Got there at opening time so arguably less crowded but had to wait around 15 minutes while staff organised tours to other tourist venues for visitors. Once inside, yes it is lovely to see butterflies flying around but the whole site was done in 20 minutes and unfortunately no Ulysses butterflies on display. Disappointing given the unique association with the area. Solid attempt to be covid compliant but many ignored the one way instructions. Pleased the $20 entry fee supports the work of the centre. Done it once, that is enough.
Written January 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Catherine, Thanks so much for visiting us and for supporting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary during this tough time. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed seeing our beautiful butterflies. We hope that you were able to go on a complimentary guided aviary and laboratory tour to enhance your experience. Unfortunately, we have had hits and misses with our Ulysses breeding program over the years, but were lucky enough to have them in our sanctuary for a lot of 2020. Thanks again, Amanda
Written January 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jT4289JV
Brisbane, Australia124 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
Where does one begin. SO, we decided to visit and went on line to find info on tickets. It is very clearly stated that to maintain social distancing places are limited and one should - book on line. Then up popped a chat screen. I said I could not find a seniors discounted price. I was advised - oh that is only available at the "entry gate" ??!! I explained that the web site stated we should "book" to ensure we got in , and a long 2 hour drive on the change of getting in may not be worth it. Sorry was the response . So we bought tickets at the "full price"
On arrival we saw everyone being let in with no issues . ( not happy) I showed our booking only to be - refused entry ! We were advised that even though I booked a joint entry for both the bird house and the butterflys because we booked via the "bird" web site we now had to go through the Kuranda markets , to the back to find the bird house first to get our tickets. Surely either should be able to provide a ticket.??? So we left and went to the bird house first, then returned to see the butter flys.
There was no one checking on social distancing at all and people were mixing and standing together. We saw very few butterflies, the laboratory had no one working in it, and saw no tour guides or times a tour might happen. Over all for $20 each it was very disappointing and we will ensure our many friends are warned about the difficulty of purchasing a seniors discount.
Written June 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. The Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and Birdworld Kuranda are two separate businesses, and as such have two separate websites. The experience you have described above is unfortunately not from our (Australian Butterfly Sanctuary) website, so we can not make comment on the Birdworld Kuranda website terms or usability. The combination package of the two parks that you purchased from Birworld Kuranda must be collected from them, as stated on their website. We are only able to accept guests who have collected their ticket, and the ticket can only be collected from the business it has been purchased from. In this instance the ticket needs to be collected from Birworld Kuranda before visiting us at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary. We do encourage social distancing at all times on our premises, and follow all COVID Safe practices. Due to COVID restrictions it is difficult to provide tours, and as such it is currently the safest option to allow people to experience the sanctuary themselves whilst practicing social distancing.
Written June 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ElDee1986
Melbourne, Australia192 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
We spent two days in Kuranda and sadly felt like this was one of the more mediocre experiences we had in our time there. We spent about 25 minutes there and that was because we really wanted to try and get the most out of it that we could. Was disappointed at the lack of Ulysses butterflies, as this is the symbolic butterfly of the Daintree. It was a nice touch having access to see behind the scenes. It was also very crowded when we went, maybe they need to consider having limits on how many can come in.
Written April 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank for you for leaving your review. We regret to hear that you found the experience mediocre. We try to provide a unique and valuable experiences for our customers allowing them access to the aviary, museum and laboratory. However we greatly appreciate your feedback as we strive to better ourselves.
Written June 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Travelbee1990
Hamburg, Germany35 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Couples
We came to this sanctuary to especially see the beautiful Ulysses and Cairns Birdwings, which are very special for this particular area of Australia but there were none, despite they were advertised eveywhere.

We paid 20 AUD to see tons of very random small butterflies , maybe 4 or 5 species, beautiful, but not the special ones. I asked the staff and learned they have no Ulysses at the moment as many have recently died. That is bad, but visitors should be told about this, as these are the butterflies on every postcard and item sold in the shop but you don't see them there!

The sanctuary inside is beautiful and well maintained. We felt like half the price, 10 AUD would be reasonable and fair for the 40 Min we spent there. Just before leaving we saw a single Cairns Birdwing, probably the only one in the whole Sanctuary.

You need to better align the expectations you create with the reality inside, then we would not have felt so disappointed.
Written July 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are saddened to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. There are around 1500 free flying butterflies in our aviary, however the weather and time of day can impact how active our butterflies are. Our butterflies are attracted to white, hot pink and red, so we recommend that our customers wear these colours to increase the possibility of butterflies landing on them.
Written July 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Narelle W
Menai, Australia92 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
Loved this place . The butterflies were so pretty and the Avery allows you to get close ups of these interesting creatures . The extraordinary colours of the male Cairns Birdwing were my favourite. Unfortunately no Ulysses in the Avery . Don’t miss this place
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thanks so much for visiting us and for leaving your wonderful review. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed getting up close to our stunning colourful butterflies. The bright green male Cairns Birdwing certainly is striking.
Written January 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

marley2701
Perth, Australia30 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
I saw more butterflies here than I think I've seen in my entire life! It's nothing short of magical stepping in and being surrounded by so many different species of graceful butterflies.
The gardens are so pretty and it's nice to sit down on one of the benches and just enjoy the surroundings. I also really liked the laboratory where you can learn more about breeding and raising butterflies and watch the scientists at work.
I was the most impressed by the Cairns birdwing butterfly and the Atlas moths, which I have read about but never seen in person. They are spectacular!
I would recommend this to anyone in Kuranda. There's plenty to see in here and lots to learn, and being surrounded by hundreds of butterflies is such a lovely experience.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for taking the time to leave your review. We are the largest butterfly aviary in the Southern Hemisphere- so it's fantastic to hear that you had a magical experience being surrounded by hundreds of free flying colourful butterflies! Visiting our laboratory is very educational and interesting- it's always great to see what goes on behind the scenes and special to see the butterflies in their various life stages. Thanks so much for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!
Written February 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anastasia C
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
We visited Australian Butterfly Sanctuary this morning and have to say we were left disappointed. Firstly, A family pass (2 adults and 2 children) is offered at the sanctuary, however we were charged as three adults and two children. We thought we would be charged as a family and plus one adult. This was also not rectified when brought to the staff members attention. The butterfly was large and had many interesting ferns and plants, however few butterflies. We spotted only two whilst we wandered through, we saw more at Barron falls later that day. It was interesting to view the moth nursery, that housed three caterpillars on display. The education material was readily available with quizzes as you walk through the park. Ultimately though, we had come to the park to observe butterflies and with so few in such a large space this was hard to do.

We were later told by the Bird Sanctuary close by that they have a dual pass with the Butterfly Sanctuary which we had not be informed about when buying our butterfly tickets. It amazing it is the largest sanctuary in the Australian and has been running a long time so hopefully feedback is received as constructive and future customers have a better experience.
Written January 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bonnie
Daintree, Australia60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Friends
I was recently given the wonderful opportunity to come visit the Butterfly Sanctuary on business and had an amazing experience! The staff that work there are incredibly kind and helpful, tickets are very affordable and the aviary is beautifully laid out. It’s wheelchair friendly and easy to navigate. As you walk through the gardens they have fun facts displayed around along with information about the species they have on display. They also have a breeding laboratory on site and a museum full of amazing specimens as you exit. I would definitely recommend visiting while in Kuranda, the Sanctuary has something for all ages!
Written October 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our visit and that our team made it even better for you. We hope to see you again soon :)
Written October 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kate
Gawler, Australia29 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
I forced my husband to go here on a friends recommendation. When we walked in I had a butterfly land on my shoulder and stay for a little sit, unfortunately it wasn't long enough to get a photo or anything but it was very nice (got to remember these are not trained animals). The main 'sanctuary' part was quite nice and had lot of beautiful butterfly to watch and look at. There was a lot of information along the walk to take in and I found it very educational, however...... (& I understand there would be a lot of dependence on funding and donations) this was very over priced for what it was at $20 per head. Apart for the laboratory and main aviary the rest of the place seemed cheap and run down. In need of a good referb and some TLC. I felt bad dragging my husband there for what it was.
Written June 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Kate, Lovely to hear you had butterflies land on you, how very lucky! Glad to hear you enjoyed watching the butterflies and found the experience educational. We do not receive funding or donations at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, we rely solely on visitor entry to fund the operation of the sanctuary. We focus our funds at all times in the best interest of our wildlife, including sustainable breeding and conservation. Sorry to hear that the premises did not meet your expectations, we make sure at all times that the sanctuary is kept clean, tidy, and follows all COVID Safe practices.
Written June 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,306
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Australian Butterfly Sanctuary - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Australian Butterfly Sanctuary



Restaurants near Australian Butterfly Sanctuary: View all restaurants near Australian Butterfly Sanctuary on Tripadvisor

All things to do in Kuranda
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars