We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises

Features Animals
Daintree, Australia
More
About Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
Crocodile Express operate from 2 locations on the beautiful Daintree River. The "Upper Daintree Cruise" departs from Daintree Village. Our office and check-in are located in Daintree Tourist Information Centre in the Village centre. "Lower Daintree Cruise" departs from Daintree Gateway, 300 meters before the Daintree Ferry Crossing, look for the big croc head to check-in. Both cruises are different in landscape and environment, upper Daintree cruise starts from Daintree Village going through rainforest and country farming pastures with the lower Daintree cruise goes past rainforest and mangroves. Crocodiles, abundant birdlife and reptile can be seen on both cruises. Take one cruise and take the second free ! You are welcome to come back as many times as you like. Go to our website for conditions. There is no better value wildlife cruise in tropical Queensland.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
517Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 337
  • 132
  • 20
  • 14
  • 14
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Xoe01 wrote a review Today
Brisbane, Australia45 contributions2 helpful votes
Good trip down the river searching for wildlife. Nice little trip, very informative guide, Rick, who pointed out all he could see. Lucky to see a few crocs, lovely birds & thr beautiful Daintree.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Sunshine_Seahorse wrote a review Oct 8
Cairns, Australia46 contributions15 helpful votes
This was great, I choose this cruise as a local because it offers a cruise on two different parts of the river and allows you to come back over a month (perfect in case you don't get to see any crocs on the day you first go). Our guide was really friendly and knowledgeable, he apologised to us in advance as soon as we got on the boat and said the cruise he did just before we got on (they run hourly) only got to see a baby croc and no big ones. I was happy just to have a river cruise anyway even if we didn't spot any that day...but...we were in luck. We saw a big 4m male, two big 3m females and then the baby croc too, which was a real highlight, he or she looked so cool sitting up out of the water on a tree branch. One of the big females was swimming in the river adjacent to the boat for a while so that was really cool to watch was well. Just goes to show you don't know what you'll see. All the crocs might be out and then half an hour later they're all nowhere to be seen or vice versa. That's nature though :) Overall excellent value for money and highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean_Clapp, Rena Scott General Manager at Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sunshine_Seahorse, We appreciate your detailed review. Its great to read that your cruise was as you expected and, that the wildlife decided they would put on a show for you. It is certainly up to nature as to whether or not, they feel like being super stars! On your occasion, they did! We offer two cruise experiences, as you pointed out. The Daintree Village experience is in brackish water, estuarine Crocodile inhabit the length of the River. Daintree Gateway is closer to the sea / salt water. The flora differs as well given, the change in environment. Take Care. Thank you and stay safe, from the Crocodile Express team.
Read more
Keysoutnabout wrote a review Oct 1
39 contributions38 helpful votes
So angry and disappointed with the service provided by this company today. Booked and paid online yesterday. 4 tickets to cruise today. Received not one, but two emails confirming booking (one was actually received at 8am this morning). Emails confirmed pick up location at The Daintree Gateway. When we arrived at the exact location and in plenty of time there was no one there! We called company and was advised that they do not operate from chosen departure point on weekends!!! Requested a refund…. Awaiting reimbursement. Thankfully an alternative Croc Cruise “Solar Eclipse” at the same location with staff in attendance were extremely accommodating and saved the day. Save yourself the disappointment and bad customer experience and give your hard earned holiday money to Solar Eclipse instead! We heard that Crocodile Express apparently do this to their customers on a regular basis 👎🏻. Nowhere in their leaflet or on website do they inform you that they do not operate from this location at weekends! 😡
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean_Clapp, General Manager at Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Keysoutnabout, Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience with your booking but very happy you were still able to enjoy a Daintree River Cruise Experience with a fellow operator. As discussed on the phone with you, your refund was processed as requested. I also understand the team were apologetic and provided a solution of our second location at the Daintree Village for a Daintree River Cruise, of which you declined by not arriving. We have reviewed the website booking form to ensure it has the days of operation for the Daintree Gateway, which it does Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Given the current unstable tourism climate we are not able to update all of the flyers that are currently out there in circulation. It is upsetting to read that heard we do this to our customers on a regular basis, as that is incorrect, this incident is the first of its kind. I have emailed you as well to ensure the communication is consistent. Thank you Keysoutandabout, Rena Scott General Manager
Read more
G n J Northern tour wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our guide, Graham, was very knowledgeable and funny to boot. Not just about crocs, but birds and wildlife in general. Saw the resident alpha male who is 4 plus metres long. No, I am not posting pics. Take the drive and come and see for yourself. They do a really good deal on croc cruises all up and down the river. The crew were all very accommodating and even gave another couple we spent time with, a bonus cruise when they failed to see a croc on their first one. That is service!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean_Clapp, General Manager Rena Scott at Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jefroe, Thank you for not only experiencing our Croc Xpresso Cafe but also our Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruise! We are happy you got the opportunity to see our Alpha, sure a sight to see. The river is just amazing as you have said, with so much to offer while you cruise in comfort. Take care again, From the Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises Team
Read more
Sandra R wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Great experience travelling down the river. We saw 4 crocodiles it was great. Tour guide was amazing with a great sense of humour. Had lunch at Croc Xpresso Cafe. Beautiful food and great service
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean_Clapp, General Manager Rena Scott at Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SandraR8801YK, We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience travelling down the beautiful Daintree River with our crew and then dining in our Croc Xpresso Cafe. All of the team strive to provide the best possible service to our customers and appreciate your support in providing feedback. We will certainly share your feedback with the hardworking teams. Stay safe. Take care from the Crocodile Express Daintree River Cruises and Croc Xpresso Cafe teams!
Read more
Previous
123456