We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Wildlife Oasis

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
An enjoyable small zoo

We visited this small zoo whilst on holiday and were not disappointed. There was a good variety of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mike D
,
Worksop, United Kingdom
Killed Couple of hours

Went this morning... Nice little zoo with plenty to see ... Not massive so it's not a full day out... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
suescottLiverpool
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 382 reviews
All photos (341)
All photos (341)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“snow leopard”(51 reviews)
“fruit bats”(14 reviews)
About
Established for over 25 years, the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis hosts an incredible collection of insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Perfect for families, the zoo is an all-weather attraction combining lush tropical halls and outdoor...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Hale, Milnthorpe LA7 7FE, England
Website
+44 15395 63027
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
194
107
42
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
194
107
42
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow leopard fruit bats beautiful snow unusual animals couple of hours outdoor exhibits gift shop few hours lemur enclosure indoor area big zoo keeper experience lovely afternoon great little place leaf cutter ants cafe on site animal interaction
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited this small zoo whilst on holiday and were not disappointed. There was a good variety of indoor exhibits ranging from fossils, ants, to fish and birds and much more! The outside area is being actively developed and there is a good range of...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Mike D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend bought us a "Meet The Animals" experience. We fed the Snow Leopards, Meerkats, Fossa, Potaroos and Lemurs. It was thoroughly enjoyable. Our keeper (Dan) was very knowledgeable and helpful. What a variety! Ants to Big Cats - amazing. All the staff including the...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank FlossyPreston
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my son for a 27th birthday treat to feed the snow leopards experience as these are his favourite animal and we weren't disappointed 😁 we had a fantastic day and also got to feed the Potaroos,Marmosets,Meerkats and Fossas. Dan the keeper was a great...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank PaulK4403
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went this morning... Nice little zoo with plenty to see ... Not massive so it's not a full day out it will kill a couple of hours ..snow leopards are so lovely.. had coffee and cake in cafe ..can't knock staff all lovely and friendly

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank suescottLiverpool
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review us - your positive comments have been passed onto the team. LWO

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a spare couple of hours in the locality and decided to drop in on this small zoo. The external appearance is very deceptive as the zoo is larger than it appears from the roadside. On the day of our visit works were being...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Ann H
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

We had a walk round the animals and decided to get something to eat from the cafe. Ordered 2 pulled pork toasties and we decided to sit in the conservatory area which they decided to close the door at 2:45 so they could start cleaning....More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Natalie G
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Hi Natalie, First and foremost we're happy to see that you enjoyed the animal section. As for your experience in the cafe, we're sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience! Your feedback is important to us and it has been taken on board...More

Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

Hidden little gem. Family friendly, staff are welcoming and knowledgable. We enjoyed the snow leopard and the MeerCats. Lovely place for young children. We will be back!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Buddy1303
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review the zoo - we're so happy to hear you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

My daughter loved it, especially the lemurs and the mice but the snow leopard was her favourite. The new reptile section is great. Cafe was good but quite a long wait for food. Gift shop was really niceMore

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Schnurrbs
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we're particularly happy to hear you enjoyed our new reptile exhibits! Admittedly we have been under staffed in our cafe this half term (we did not predict the visitor numbers we've had) - we will...More

Reviewed February 20, 2019

Very interesting and educational day with grandchildren as they are interested in reptiles being able to hold them the snow leopards were beautiful animals.leaf eating ants are fascinating along with the meerkats and monkeys a reasonable prices for a family day out

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank winder123413
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we're happy to see you enjoyed your day with us!

Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

I read the words ‘cheap and cheerful’ in a review about the zoo and that’s the only way I can describe it. I’m not going to lie, when we first pulled up into the carpark I wondered where in the world we had ended up....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Katiegem
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Hi Katie, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are glad to see you had a positive experience at the park! We are currently undergoing substantial development across the park to rid our site of garden sheds and any other apparel...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
19 reviews
1.39 miles away
The Cross Keys Hotel
155 reviews
2.48 miles away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
532 reviews
2.58 miles away
Heversham Hotel
207 reviews
3.64 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 21 nearby restaurants
The Old Beetham Post Office
103 reviews
1.41 miles away
Kings Arms
97 reviews
1.52 miles away
Burger King
18 reviews
1.25 miles away
Beetham Garden Cafe
276 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7 nearby attractions
Fairy Steps
60 reviews
1.44 miles away
Greenlands Farm Village
332 reviews
2.48 miles away
RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve
420 reviews
2.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
crissy
March 10, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from livvvb | Reviewed this property |
There are reptiles, insects and other animals indoors but the main animals such as the snow leopards, lemurs and birds are outside.
0
Votes
Jackie312243
September 9, 2018|
Answer
Response from Stephanie M | Reviewed this property |
No dogs allowed as some of the oasis the animals roam free.
2
Votes
Susie B
August 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from elainesteedman | Reviewed this property |
It is all on level ground with paths leading all around the site, so I would say it was accessible for wheelchair users. The staff were very kind and friendly
1
Vote