We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Longlooms Road | Cheshire Oaks, Ellesmere Port CH65 9LF, England
Phone Number: 0151 357 880
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description:

Britain's Best Aquarium! Come and see Europe's largest collections of...

Britain's Best Aquarium! Come and see Europe's largest collections of sharks through our amazing 71 metre underwater tunnel. You can even swim with them! (Pre-booking necessary - call for details. With over 100 exhibits and 1000's of animals from around the world, there's something for the whole family at Blue Planet Aquarium.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,586 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 254
    Excellent
  • 332
    Very good
  • 393
    Average
  • 336
    Poor
  • 264
    Terrible
The fish were great but overall disapponting

The aquaria are well laid out and full of wonderful creatures but the setting is poor and aimed at very young children - like a cheap and nasty theme park. I wouldn't have been so... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Simon041
,
London
Add Photo Write a Review

1,586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,579: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We decided to take our 2 year old daughter for her birthday and were really disappointed. The aquarium appears tired, outdated and in need of modernisation. There were very few staff around and no engagement with visitors. The large shark/fish tank with walkway was lovely and the only highlight. The outside area looks tired and in need of tlc. Paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire3382
Lowton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Blue Planet Aquarium 20/7/16 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. From the minute we walked in it was so interesting. Everything looked clean and well maintained and the staff were very helpful and informative. It is well laid out and has lots of information about each display. I must say that the "glass" tunnel gives you a fantastic close up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rugaroo2013
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi Rugaroo2013 and thank you so much for posting your positive review. I am delighted that you really enjoyed your visit to us. Our team here really do a fantastic job in engaging with our visitors and i,m delighted that you enjoyed he feeds and shows. We look forward to welcoming you again here soon. Thank you so much also... More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've been to the blue planet a number of times in the past, but after our last visit I won't be returning. The entry fee is quite expensive which I wouldn't mind if the place was being maintained, however on the day we visited the outdoor play area was closed, the conveyor that runs through the tunnel wasn't working, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire_Greenhalgh
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi Claire Grrenhalgh and thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that we failed to meet with your expectations on his visit. Can you please email me at info@blueplanetaquarium.co.uk to discuss his please. It was unfortunate that on the day of your visit the travel actor and the pirate playground was unavailable, is was due to health and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I arrived there this morning (17th July) full of expectation and excitement with our two yr old son. We have been to the SeaLife Centre in Trafford so thought this would be bigger and better... How wrong we were. We entered Blue Planet Aquarium and to our surprise we were asked to stand our son next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winni P
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for posting a review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to us. We have responded to you via email detailing several points on here, and we look forward to your reply. We'd like you to visit us again now that the playground is fully open, we have replied to you regarding the... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited just yesterday for a shark dive for my 15 year old son . I couldn't fault the customer service we felt like VIP's . The staff was amazing . I can highly recommend the shark swim it was a unique experience .

Helpful?
Thank tomsam
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi tomsam and thank you so much for your positive review. I am delighted that your son enjoyed the thrilling shark dive experience. Truly a day to remember I will r comments on to the whole of the dive team. Phil Jones Marketing Manager Blue Planet Aquarium More 

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The aquaria are well laid out and full of wonderful creatures but the setting is poor and aimed at very young children - like a cheap and nasty theme park. I wouldn't have been so bad if it wasn't horribly overpriced at over £50 for a family of four. We spent under an hour there which was disappointing for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon041
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi Simom041 and thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that you did not get a full experience here on your visit, Imust point out hat we encourage our visitors to see as many shows and feeds as possible during heir visit. we have fourteen feeds and shows throughout the day. Plus get your hands stamped at reception... More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived equipped for a full day out, we paid what we thought was a little expensive however it was to be a day out. Unfortunately half the attractions were shut for one reason or another, we were in around the place three times and out within three hours. We expected a little more.

Helpful?
1 Thank CLK22Merseyside
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi CLK22Merseyside thank you for posting a review. we have never had half of our attractions shut indeed at present reef magic is the only closed area. this is awaiting redevelopment. You can see all of the shows and Feds if you stay until after 4pm so there is something different to see throughout the day Phil Jones Marketing Manager... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some the the reviews. Took the granddaughter (3 year old) for a trip and it turned out to be a really good day. Going round at her pace as well as having refreshments in the cafe the visit lasted 2 1/2 hours, would have been longer but the play park section was closed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank carnall92
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi carnall92 and thank you for your positive review. delighted that you enjoyed your visit, remember you can come in and out as many times as you wish to see all of the feeds and shows we present throughout the day. Phil Jones MarketingManaget Blue Planet Aquarium More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having a rare day off, I planned on spending the day at the blue planet as I hadn't been for a number of years. To begin, in the day week it's great as it's nice and quiet! But the prices are pretty steep for entry... The aquarium itself isn't too big, but you can easily spend 2 hours just walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlashJordan1
PJBPA, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Thanks FlashJordan1 and thank you for your positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and as I have said elsewhere there really is so much to see if you take time. We hope to see you over the summer at our Blue Tang Story event plus we have our dogfish nursery now in the rock pools area. Phil Jones... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A brilliant attraction but it is over far too quickly, for an hours entertainment it is great but don't go there expecting it to last for hours like a zoo, we can stay at a zoo for over 6 hours but here you will just get over an hour.

Helpful?
Thank Leyly1
blueplanetaquarium, Manager at Blue Planet Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi Leyly1 and thank you for your positive review, I am delighted that you really enjoyed your visit with us. The stay with us can be as long as you wish as we have fourteen feeds and shows throughout each day, and you can get your hand stamped at reception for re-entry later in the day if you wish. We... More 

Travelers who viewed Blue Planet Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Blue Planet Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blue Planet Aquarium and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Planet Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?