Alximia Vinicola

Alximia Vinicola, Valle de Guadalupe: Address, Phone Number, Alximia Vinicola Reviews: 4/5

Alximia Vinicola
4
About
AlXimia Winery is a very unique and completely different winery than what you will find anywhere else in the world. Started by a mathematician turned winemaker, this amazing winery was built by an innovative architect, the mathematician-winemaker and his astronomer father. It’s a 3 story round building that has been called “the flying saucer that landed in the Valle de Guadalupe”, the “Cathedral of Wine”, or “a sculpture disguised as a winery”. From the 2nd floor tasting room you can see the whole winemaking process, as the grapes come to the top floor and travel by gravity to the 2 floors below for fermentation, aging in French oak barrels and bottling. The barrel room is underground and can be viewed from above. You will be able to taste and buy their delicious wines – mostly non-traditional blends that make the best of the Italian & Spanish varietals that grow so well in these hot wine valleys. Alvaro (the winemaker) is considered one of the best up & coming winemakers in Mexico, and his wines have received multiple accolades – being rated 91 to 95 by Mexico’s top sommeliers.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.0
112 reviews
Excellent
48
Very good
34
Average
24
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Luis M
Tijuana, Mexico9 contributions
More than wine, you get a view and lots of flavors
Aug 2020
First time at Alximia, however fan of their wines for long time. They keep high standards in service, food and health (due to CoViD). Our day was perfect, as celebrating a big day in our life. Had some lovely cooked lamb chops, at the right point slightly smoked with fresh produced veggies and a lovely mashed cauliflower. Having lunch with a view of Zinfandel grapes is more than relaxing. Time to drink some of their premium wines without disappointment. The place can not be missed on the next visit to Valle de Gudadalupe.
Written August 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eridani Reyes
Ensenada, Mexico55 contributions
A hidden gem in Valle de Guadalupe
Feb 2020
Upon arriving at Alximia Vinicola, we were warmly greeted by Nicole, who gave us a enthusiastic and knowledgeable explanation about their wines. Her descriptions of flavors, textures and curios facts of each bottle she showed us were amazing!

I was instantly intrigued and eager to try them all, so we opted for the second choice of tasting, which included two Elemental Line wines + two Premium Line wines tasting (~20 dlls per person). Nicole gave us the option to choose which wines we were most interested in tasting, and then guided us to the terrace where we could enjoy a beautiful view of the grapevine along with our drinks.

We were given to taste ALMA, which I found to be light and sweet despite it being a gorgeously colored red wine; GAIA, salt and with deep flavors; PIRA, which had a very interesting texture and quickly became my favorite; and MAGMA, with a spicy undertone that we found truly amusing!

The best part of visiting Alximia Vinicola was, without a doubt, the service. Nicole was an excellent host who made our tasting experience one of a kind. We can't wait to go back this summer to enjoy their perfect blend of great wine and beautiful scenery!
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alain Preisser Beltrán
Ensenada, Mexico6 contributions
Had a wonderful experience
Feb 2020 • Couples
Yesterday I visited Alximia for the first time with my wife it is a very nice place to relax and enjoy the valley.

We arrived at around 11:30 there was no one else around so we had the place for ourselves, we immediately got greeted by Nicole which guided us trough the services, she was very cheerful, enthusiastic and patient with us and gave us a great set of recommendations for the wine tasting.

We ended up taking the second package of tasting with 2 of their esential wines and 2 of their reserve.

She talked us through the flavors of the wine and answered any questions we had regarding its process.

Our favorites were the Alma and Pira which were both reds and full of flavor.

Overrall we want to comeback next month and tried more wines here.

Kudos to Alximia and Nicole for being awesome!
Written February 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Agata K
Zwartemeer, The Netherlands102 contributions
Just left...
Jul 2019 • Couples
Instead of eating Mexican mix of sea food I haveM&Ms... ridiculous:/ 1h waiting for appetizer which normally should appear in 20min(was not busy!) We took our wine tasting , second option 4 different wines 2xbasic 2xpremium, serving time 45min , not even changing glasses after wine .. I'm not a specialist but if I drink beer and than orange juice I like to have new glass right ? So during our tasting, people around us got a food , like plenty of something on boards and we got this (check pict) . It was alive maybe months ago , spending some time in freezer and definitely last 1h in microwave running on "defrost " program .. yes water all around.. We took a bill and left :/ New experience.
Place is quiet nice , near by road so you can't miss it, wine is fine , 250pesos for this 2and2taste, but waiting time is terrible.. So up to you. Enjoy ! Or not ;)
Written July 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, sorry to hear about your bad experience. We are unsure as to why you had such a long wait and also on the appetizer you ordered (no picture), in any case we will investigate to fix the issue. As for changing the glasses: when doing a tasting the glassware is not changed after each wine. The wines are served in a particular order so that the flavors and aromas do not interfere/overpower the next wine to be served. This is part of the tasting protocol in wine. Cheers!
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

anaville17
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Don't eat here
May 2019 • Friends
We paid $18 USD for four little stripes of meat ant they were supposed to come with mashed potato which it didn't when we asked about the missing mashed potato they said it was more "visual" not real, not sure what that's supposer to mean. It was rip off,
Written May 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
This was a “special menu” for after the cocktail of a wedding party, where tapas, cheese, fruit and cold meats were served. This is NOT part of our regular menu. As for the mashed potato, the plate had “roasted garlic purée and grilled vegetables” this was the garnish and in particular the garlic purée was meant to be a decoration for the plate, not a full serving of purée. We are sorry You feel ripped off.
Written May 27, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cnaddy
50 contributions
Lovely spot
Nov 2018 • Couples
Nice views and ambiance. The design of the building is really neat, meant to catch rain during rainstorms to be used for the vineyard. There is nice seating and swings to enjoy a glass of wine on the grounds. We had a nice tasting and the wines are very earthy and umami and unique. I picked up hints of tomato and herbs in several of the wines. The “aqua” was bold/dark and our favorite of the bunch.
Written November 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raquel B
Vancouver, Canada161 contributions
Get your hours right
Sep 2018
They say the open at 10, but we went at 10 and an employee blew us off and said that that day they were opening at 11... get your hours right people, as it’s a pain for us (potential) visitors.
Written September 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I am very sorry for the confusion regarding the hours and the fact that you were not welcomed when you arrived. If you send me a personal message at malvarez @ alximia.com I will arrange to schedule a complimentary tasting for you at your earliest convenience. We will make sure that the correct hours are published. Once again - my most sincere apologies. Manuel Alvarez
Written September 15, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sean D
San Diego, CA40 contributions
Beautiful building, wonderful service, horrible wine.
Aug 2018 • Friends
The title should say it all. The scenery is gorgeous, the staff extremely friendly, however the wine is just awful. Sad to say, i really wanted to like it. I tried. Fail.
Written August 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Krisbyman
London, UK156 contributions
Nice place.
Feb 2018 • Friends
The building is nice & has lovely views of the surrounding area, however, the service was quite slow & the American lady behind the counter was not engaging much with people asking questions. Worth a visit to see the interesting building that is also beautifully lit up at night.
Written February 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

onlyhearts
New York City, NY36 contributions
Cool place, small patio with good vibe
Oct 2017
Cute little winery with nice wines. The building is truly unique. Small but a good vibe and worth a quick stop on a wine tour
Written January 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 60
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing