We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
came for the whisky.. back for the pub

We tried 3 whisky at the pub.. 10 years.. 14 years prize winner and the 25 years.. they were ok but... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
DocBurN
,
Montreal, Canada
via mobile
Excellent stop on the trail

Stopped in as I was with a whiskey drinker and so glad I did. Beautiful grounds, excellent staff... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
KR983
,
North Bay, Canada
Read all 232 reviews
189
All photos (189)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good41%
  • Average20%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“single malt”(32 reviews)
“the pub”(36 reviews)
“gift shop”(26 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
13727 Route 19 | Glenville, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Website
+1 902-258-2662
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
78
87
42
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
78
87
42
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews single malt the pub gift shop interesting tour dining room beautiful grounds cape breton local entertainment scotch whisky nova scotia music was great great stop fish cakes the wait staff celtic music worth a stop salmon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 219 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner on Thanksgiving weekend, I had the roast beef,with all the trimmings and our friend had the traditional turkey dinner! Great service and ambience! However, no horseradish! The distillery is a solid must see and is run quite well, we have enjoyed...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AngMacleod
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The Glenora Inn is lovely and the grounds are beautiful. We had a whiskey before dinner which was delicious! It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we hoped to have a nice meal at your restaurant. However, we were sorely disappointed. There were only a...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Cindy B
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

We tried 3 whisky at the pub.. 10 years.. 14 years prize winner and the 25 years.. they were ok but not enough to buy a bottle.. but the MVP was the food.. congratulation to the chef there!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DocBurN
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stopped by on our trip through Cape Breton and found this to be a little slice of Scotland in the hills of Nova Scotia! Our son is a distiller so we like to stop at local distilleries to compare....Glenora was extremely nice! The setting...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank LynnAndRick
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Stopped in as I was with a whiskey drinker and so glad I did. Beautiful grounds, excellent staff. Had a delicious fish lunch in the beautiful gardens and picked up a few little gifts. Beautiful little motel and chalets in the hills that looked amazing....More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank KR983
Reviewed September 9, 2018

First of all: it's a very charming, well-appointed, and attractively landscaped place that makes a scotch well wroth going out of your way to sample. There are two places to dine here: the restaurant and the pub. We had dinner at the restaurant, which I...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jeffy4
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

I am so sorry to hear that your time with us was not thoroughly enjoyed. We feel very fortunate to have a wonderful group of servers who are always full of Cape Breton hospitality and I assure you it is not in our serving staff's...More

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

I visited for a few hours and wished I had time for dinner. I arrived during the last 20 minutes of the afternoon ceilidh. Good music. I was able to enjoy the music and a glass of whiskey. The tour is short but, informative. I...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Morgan K
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

That sounds like a good reason to come back and stay a night with us for the full experience. Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. Bertha.

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Doing Nova Scotia via motorcycle, thought we would head to Margaree Harbor from Moncton. Read a snippet on Glenora, but didn’t set it as the destination. But there it was, right on our route. Couldn’t pass it up, had to pull in, so glad we...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bruce W
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback with us! We are pleased to announce we have added some impressive items to our whisky warehouse dinning menu this past week. Perhaps if you are down this way again you'll stop in to see...More

Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

We had a tour of the place 6 years ago and found the tour guide excellent and enthusiastic. Unfortunately we went on this tour again this year and the tour was HORRIBLE. The tour guide mumbled alot, made it so quick, barely mentioned much of...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Crystal M
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour of our distillery. We have two options for our tours, one being a very short (20 minute) run through and tasting of our 10 year old whisky these tours go on the hour (9-5)....More

Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We made the trip to Glenora Distillery with our 10 month old for a bite to eat and a tour. We arrived at lunch time where there was a very nice two piece band playing local folk music. We both ordered the famous fish and...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Tobors
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn and Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to visit us and for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We truly appreciate both! Thank you. Bertha

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 nearby hotels
Cabot Links Resort
374 reviews
5.87 miles away
Hebridean Motel
49 reviews
13.78 miles away
Fair Isle Motel
102 reviews
15.85 miles away
Margaree Riverview Inn
186 reviews
16.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 458 nearby restaurants
Panorama Restaurant
131 reviews
5.88 miles away
The Red Shoe Pub
982 reviews
6.44 miles away
Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro
194 reviews
14.01 miles away
Charlene's Bayside Cafe
285 reviews
16.21 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 361 nearby attractions
Gillis Mountain Trail Rides
10 reviews
10.04 miles away
Gillis Lobster Tours & Charter
25 reviews
13.79 miles away
Cabot Cliffs Golf Course
68 reviews
5.81 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrew M
January 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bertha M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we are closed from October to May.
0
Votes
Pat D
June 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bertha M | Property representative |
The tours of the distillery are every hour from 9-5/ 7 days a week, and they are $7 per person ($5 for large groups and Inn guests). They last roughly 1/2 hour and include a sample of our single malt. Thanks for asking... More
1
Vote