We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Space Place

163 Howard Rd | Julimar, Toodyay, Western Australia 6567, Australia
+61 8 9574 2295
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.07*
and up
Full-Day Nature Tour from Perth
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
We're an observatory that is totally "dome free" outside under the natural canopy of the night sky , situated in the scenic town of Julimar in Toodyay, Western Australia. We provide a specialized night sky observing , Astronomy Experience for all visitors. We like to think and look "outside of the dome" and we are here to teach, inspire & help people grow in their knowledge of space and the canopy of the natural night sky is our classroom. Visitors get to experience the wonders of space, outdoors under the clear dark night skies of Julimar where you will see the highlights of the Universe and be guided by our knowledgeable Astronomers and night sky enthusiasts. Viewing the depths of space through our telescopes, we will reveal and unlock at least some of the secrets of our Universe! Our astronomers and night sky enthusiasts, who are on hand to answer your questions will reveal fascinating facts and explain what you are seeing through our telescopes! Just one hours drive from Perth.
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good38%
  • Average6%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible25%
Travelers talk about
“two hours” (2 reviews)
“planets” (7 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
163 Howard Rd | Julimar, Toodyay, Western Australia 6567, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 8 9574 2295
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2017

While looking through a telescope allows you to see things up close, we would have been happier laying on the ground and looking up with someone pointing out the constellations with their laser pointers. Some kind of grounds illumination would have been helpful as we...More

Thank Solo1959
Space Place O, Guest Relations Manager at The Space Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Thankyou for your review of the Space Place Observatory and the ideas are great, we apreciate them. In regards to Illumination - darker the better as your eyes adjust more quickly to be able to observe the brilliant beauty of the night sky. It is...More

Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I travelled out to The Space Place for something a little bit different. It was a good night. The staff are very knowledgeable and are happy to answer any questions. The introduction at the start of the night set the mood for...More

Thank Spicewok
Reviewed January 20, 2017

The evening spent at the Space Place was amazing. So many cool things learnt, beautiful stars seen, moon's picture taken. Guides though recommend coming on a "dark" night, that is a night with no moonrise. You can see more starts with no telescope and the...More

Thank Maria K
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

I didn't read the reviews before going so I had a real open mind. We travelled two hours to get there and the signage is very poor to find the venue. On arrival we were greeted but other than being told where the toilets were...More

Thank cherrydroplet
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We traveled up to Toodyay after work on Friday 23 Dec 2016 with an open mind and a thirst to learn about the wonders of the sky above us. After reading the previous reviews, I feel like they are a little unfair to 'The Space...More

1  Thank Alza164
Space Place O, Owner at The Space Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Thankyou for your positive comments and our Galaxy Team of astronomers and enthusiasts would also like to say thankyou for your encouraging support of The Space Place Observatory. We look forward to seeing you again at the Space Place .

Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We had read the previous reviews so tried to keep an open mind & not build the "event" up in our mind so not to be disappointed . Unfortunately everything people write is fair point . The main problem is the lack of structure to...More

2  Thank Chezza323
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

As per the other reviews, it's a patch of dirt with some telescopes set up. Very poorly organised. I expected an instructional class and an informative session but what I got was "That speck is Mars". This was a gift for my dad but he...More

4  Thank Brashes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Hi there, my friend and I purchased tickets months ago and have been looking forward to it ever since. Upon arrival, there was no where to register, we had to walk around in the dark and finally found a lady ticking names off, she did...More

3  Thank e_arnold93
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

My family are currently over from Scotland and we stay in wongan hills so as we have been sitting out looking at stars most nights we decided it would be a great thing to come along and learn about what we have been looking at...More

5  Thank followitabbie
Space Place O, CEO at The Space Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Thankyou for your comments we will take them into consideration hope you had a safe trip home .... would you like to have your money refunded ?

Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival to the car park our names were checked off the attendance list and we were told to head on round to the "room where we will introduce you to the space place".  This room however turned out to be an old shed in...More

4  Thank jamieking89
Space Place O, CEO at The Space Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Did you come on the same night as the previous person "shocking "who commented ? its sad to to see you had a bad time ... and were not happy with what you had seen would you like to have your money refunded also?

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Toodyay Bakery
100 reviews
7.97 miles away
Stringybark Cottage Winery & Restaurant
122 reviews
14.42 miles away
Wild Goose Cafe
92 reviews
16.66 miles away
Bindoon Bakehaus & Cafe
128 reviews
17.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Toodyay Visitor Centre
72 reviews
7.94 miles away
Blackboy Ridge
12 reviews
13.20 miles away
Briery Estate Wines
5 reviews
18.12 miles away
El Caballo Golf Course
6 reviews
21.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Space Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit